Delicious Mung Bean Curry

in #food7 years ago

This is a savory blend of Indian, Vietnamese and Italian influences, refined by me over two years. My boys beg for this dish! They would eat it every other day if I let them :)

Living in the 98118 zip code of Seattle's Columibia City- named America's most 'Dynamic Neighborhood' by the Census Bureau, has given me the most diverse culinary talents. Largely in part due to it being the most racially and culturally varied area in the US.

I was smack in the middle of the Vietnamese, African, Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Korean, and Italian districts and I picked up flavor combinations from everyone, as the neighborhood was extremely sharing and community minded.

This curry is a tasty unique creation of mine, culled from a bit of every culture I lived amongst :)

Fun Fact: Buddhist Monks used to live on split mung bean curry and rice.

Mung beans have almost every nutrient your body needs.

Yellow Mung Bean Curry

4 garlic cloves

1 med onion

7 oz yellow split mung beans (Also known as Moong Dal)

4 carrots, sliced

4 celery stalks, sliced

2 cans (or cups) coconut milk

½ tsp garlic powder

½ tsp salt

½ tsp pepper

¼ tsp coriander

¼ tsp turmeric

¼ tsp cumin

5 slices roasted seaweed

1 cup water

½ tbsp. yellow curry paste

½ tsp fish sauce

½ tbsp. oyster sauce

5 tbsp chicken bullion

1 tbsp mushroom seasoning

Directions

Rinse the Yellow Split Mung Beans well, then let them sit in a bowl of water for half an hour. Drain water.

Saute the onion and garlic until onion is transparent.

Place in cook pot with all ingredients. Squeeze the juice of half a lime into the mix. Bring to boil. Reduce heat to simmer and cover for one hour, or until beans are tender. Check back and add small amounts of water if needed, mixing well.

For a creamier curry, put half of the curry into blender and smooth. Not necessary but I do this about half the times I make this.

Serve with chopped cilantro, shredded cheddar, sour cream and warm tortilla and lime wedge, over a bed of white rice.

You can fold in cooked chicken or tofu for extra protein, but try it first without :)

This feeds about 8

DISCLAIMER: This dish is terribly addicting!

Enjoy this tasty tongue treat! Please let me know if you try it!

shaded line.jpeg

I appreciate your support :)

With Love and Light and Good Mojo to my Tribe!

ufr.gif

line1 2

In case you missed these stellar posts by @ArbitraryKitten :)

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314Steemit Musicians! Get Your Original Music Heard on the Radio!
~
Please Give a Warm Steemit Welcome my Handsome Son John, aka @juggernaught !
~
Likes Don't Help People! But STEEMIT Does!
~
From Hedonist Addict to Inspired Family Man- a Conversation with @Papa-Pepper part 2
~
This Company will send you on vacation just for talking with students!
~
The Secret to Eternal Youth
~
Inspiration Weekend- Do it for YOU!
~
An Inside Look at the Life of a Writer
~
UTRUST crypto payment processor
~
5 Sneaky Tips to Stay in Shape this Winter and Holiday Season
~
I'm Moving to Theory!
~
How to care for orphaned kittens
~
Ravenous. A Horror. Part 1 of 2
~
How to Split Your Steemit Earnings Between Two Authors Automatically

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

So it's fitting that in anticipation for "Ravenous" Part 2, I find that THIS is what you're serving up! Looks incredible and yes, so is your neighborhood. Ask me how I know Ms. SeaWA 98118 - I've been commenting from 98121 - 8.2 miles away. LOL!! We're literally freaking neighbors!! Hola!- from Queene Anne/Belltown

Oh my goodness Doug! That is so cool! What a small world...

It IS fitting, especially considering what we now know about each other!!!

We are going to have to get coffee or lunch sometime!

Ok ... I do plan to try this. (If I can find roasted slices of seaweed ... Amazon, maybe? And what is "mushroom seasoning?" Is that something you'll find in the spices section of the store? Don't recall seeing it specifically. But then, I've never looked.)

I've had very little Indian food in my time. But someone was raving about his take-out butter chicken the other day. So ... given as I dearly love to cook, I Googled up some recipes and made my own mash-up from several choices. IT WAS WONDERFUL. (And, as I told my husband at the time, we'll never have it again, because I have no idea what all I did during my "improvisation.")

I was licking the stirring spoon like a lollipop as it simmered -- something I NEVER do. (Well, not until now, anyway.)

I have made several other Indian meals since then ... and something about the spices is so therapeutic. I simply feel better when I eat this stuff, and I've done it enough times now that I know it's no accident, it's not "just my imagination," and it's not something else whose benefits I'm mistaking for the "food boost."

I am seriously considering building my menus around Indian food for a while. (Until we get sick of it.) There is something in the spices that make a world of difference. Seriously, there is. So this definitely goes on the list of things to try.

msauce

"Mushroom" sauce.

Indian food has turmeric- which is super good for you and has numerous health benefits :)

The other spices are healthy and beneficial as well. India bases most of their cooking around the Ayurvedic philosophy. If you look into it, it makes complete sense!

@enchantedspirit has noticed she often feels much better when we have curry. We have realised, as have you, that many of the spices are very healing or preventative. She often says "I love to cook," to which I reply "and I love to eat. It's a match made in heaven." I'll look for the mushroom sauce in my travels. I know it will be worth my while.

Oh yes, Indian spices are so nourishing to both the body and spirit :)

It looks absolutely Delicious and in India, we call it Moong Curry.

In my family, it's a must-have Dish on Tuesday's.

In my latest post you can see I made something similar but instead of Drying it out Fully I left some stock on it to use it as a Dal.

Cooking for my Mom

I just checked yours and upvoted :) And you have a new follower!

Thanks, @arbitrarykitten I rarely get a chance to cook as my Mom is old Fashioned and doesn't want Guys to cook food.

But once in a while, I do get a chance.

I have already been following you.

Awe, that is sweet :) You gotta respect the Mama <3

(but glad you can sneak in some cooking from time to time!) ;)

LOL, same experience as @arunava, but I live alone now.
I lived in England for four years, and tried everything from the internet - my big cookbook! ;)

The Internet, one big cookbook ;)

LOVE it!

It has a few other uses too, but that's its main one.

I love dahl (how we spell it in England, where I developed a taste for it.) Need to get my wife into it. She's from Texas, but she's a terrific cook so I forgive her.

Dahl that's a nice way to say it.

nice post.

it's look delicious

Oh it is! You must try!

I wanna try this so bad too!!

DO IT! You will not be disappointed!

Woww, you make me hungry when I see this dish.
Good work @arbitrarykitten
Nice to meet you, dont forget follback me and upvote to okey???

Lol, good :) You must try my recipe!

I left you advice for your images :)

Yes, I will try .. I have seen your advice, thank you.
Glad to be friends with you

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This looks amazing!! I may have to adapt it to cook in my crock pot. You know, after I figure out where to buy seaweed in Minnesota, haha.

LOL!

If you can't find one of those tiny little Asian stores, Amazon has them :) I have even found it in the Asian section of Walmart- they come in little rectangles packages half the size of a paperback. They are good to snack on , too! I am fortunate to have a grocer just two doors down that will order pretty much anything I want. They are very neighborhood oriented.

I love Oyster sauce, not readily available in India. :(

How about Amazon.com?

It has to clear customs: tricky again!

Ok. I see your point.

Lol

These look really delicious! Yummy!

Hey you!

Yes, SO good, and a total comfort food :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05