🍲 EASY VEGAN LUNCH | PUMPKIN AND BELL PEPPER SOUP WITH GARLIC RYE CROUTONS 🍲

in #food6 years ago

Pumpkin-soup-8.jpg

Though pumpkins might remind you of Halloween and the Holiday Season, in Cambodia pumpkins are pretty much a year-round vegetable. While pumpkin might remind you of a warm pumpkin spiced latte or pumpkin bread on a cold winter day, I could eat pumpkin every day.

Unfortunately, the hubby isn't with me on that... an of course in any diet variation is key. Nonetheless, I enjoyed this lovely lunch soup....

Regardless the temperatures outside - Cambodia doesn't get really cold anyway, 20C (68F) to 25C (77F) is about the coldest we get during the "winter months" - I love a good bowl of pumpkin soup. next, to carrot soup, pumpkin is my favorite.

It tastes great and is packed with so many goods for you nutrients such as vitamin E, thiamin, niacin, vitamin B6, folate, iron, magnesium, phosphorus, dietary fiber, vitamin A, vitamin C, riboflavin, potassium, copper, and manganese.

Ready for this bowl of plant goodness?

PUMPKIN AND BELL PEPPER SOUP WITH GARLIC RYE CROUTONS 🍲


Pumpkin-soup-7.jpg

Ingredients (serves 4)


For the soup


  • 2 cups bell pepper, chopped (we use a mix of red and green bell pepper)
  • 6 cups pumpkin, chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 liter or 4 cups vegetable stock
  • Sea salt and black pepper to taste
  • Spring onions, finely chopped (garnish)

Pumpkin-soup-1.jpg

For the croutons


  • 2-3 thick slices of rye bread
  • Olive oil
  • Garlic powder
  • Black pepper

Pumpkin-soup-3.jpg

DIRECTIONS


For the soup

  1. Sauté onion for 2 to 3 minutes over medium heat, stirring regularly. Then add garlic and bell pepper. Cook 1 to 2 minutes more.
  2. Stir in pumpkin pieces and vegetable stock. Season with sea salt and black pepper to taste. Cook for 30 minutes or until pumpkin is soft.
  3. Transfer to a blender (or use an immersion blender) to blend the soup.

Pumpkin-soup-2.jpg

For the garlic croutons


  1. Brush the slices of bread with olive oil on both sides. Sprinkle with garlic powder and black pepper.
  2. Cut into small cubes and fry in coconut oil until browned and crisp.

Pumpkin-soup-4.jpg

Pumpkin-soup-5.jpg

Pumpkin-soup-6.jpg

Pumpkin-soup-9.jpg

Pumpkin-soup-11.jpg

ENJOY THE REST OF THIS BEAUTIFUL DAY ღ ღ ღ


signature-new.png


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


LET'S CONNECT!


Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


FYI: For green smoothie tips, tricks, and recipes, download my FREE GREEN SMOOTHIE EBOOK HERE!


🥑🍓🍆 FIND MORE YUMMY PLANT-BASED CREATIONS BELOW 🥑🍓🍆

BANANA PEANUT BUTTER MOUSSE & OATMEAL CHOCOLATE COOKIE CRUMBLE PARFAITS FOR #FRUITSANDVEGGIESMONDAY (VEGAN & GF)SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY | SUPER BERRY MORNING LOVE ღ ღ ღ
BREAKFAST BOWL | PINEAPPLE BANANA SMOOTHIE BOWL
PINK SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY | PINK MORNING GLOW (+ WHY YOU SHOULD SOAK UP SOME SUN EVERY DAY)
30-MIN DINNER | MEDITERRANEAN WATERCRESS PESTO PIZZA WITH CHICKPEA CRUST
GREEN SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY | HYDRATING ACAI WATERMELON MORNING BLISS
EASY VEGAN SUMMER DISH | BUDDHA BOWL AKA HIPPIE OR MACRO BOWL


DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-27T22:43:00
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1309.41/1600.00
Total Photos: 155
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

AJ picked your post @amy-goodrich for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

I'm also a fan of pumpkin, especially the ones in Asia. I wish I could have a bowl of this soup and the rye croutons are perfect! Slurp!

One bowl on its way. Pumpkins are so good and super cheap here. Thanks for stopping by my dear friend.

Congratulations @amy-goodrich! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Beautiful, i love anything rye and pumpkin!

Thanks. Love pumpkin too and bread from our very own bakery. Yum!

Thanks. Love pumpkin too
And bread from our very
Own bakery. Yum!

                 - amy-goodrich


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Hmmm.... think you need a little tweaking my digital friend hehe.

Hi dear! How are you? I like the pumpkin in soup! It give a good flavor and good color, me always i use it and I add the cheese to it, and I put some spring onion and coriander on the top.
Bon appetit!

Thanks! Ohh I love coriander but my hubby hates it. He says it tastes like soap. All good. Though a bit busy with the bakery and life. You know how it goes. How are you guys? Is @progressivechef liking his new job? Do you still have the bistro too? Really need to catch up on everybody. Need more hours in a day hehe.

Hi dear Amy! My husband likes so much his new job, and the bistro still working, my sister in law with his nephew working on it! But it so hard for them , me because of my little daughter I couldn’t work outside, I take just the orders in my home to can balance between the home and work, especially I m doing all the homework alone.
Have a nice day.

I hear you. Good luck in everything you guys do. And don't forget to make some time for each other too. Now with our bakery we often forget to take it easy too. Have a great day xxx

This looks delicious! I ate pumpkin soup a while ago and have been wanting to make it at home but forgot about it😄 thanks for reminding me @amy-goodrich, lol! Your recipe seems Simple healthy and delicious, resteeming it:)
By the way, beautiful bowl!!🤗

Thanks. Sakura (Japanese recycle shop) is where I get most of my bowls, plates, etc. Just love that shop. Enjoy the pumpkin soup ;)

@amy-goodrich thank you. I want a shop like that near my home too ;))😀

It's amazing. I love recycled things. Maybe you'll have to start your own. Not sure how to get the things there though.

Looks wonderfully delicious as always! Will need to browse your blog for some more inspiration :D

Aww thanks. You could also jump on a plane, come back to SE-Asia and I'll cook for you ;)

I wish! Maybe if SBD goes to $5 <3

Who knows what the future will bring ;) let's hope we've hit the bottom now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13