🤒The Flu🤒

in #flu6 years ago (edited)

Da flu.png

Greetings, all!

It's true. I got the flu.

Whatcha gonna do?

I suppose write a poem or two...


Before I get into that I would like to take a few moments to kinda brag about how pleasant our doctor visit was this weekend.

Let's begin...

After about a week of @chrisroberts being sick, Friday morning, I too, was hit by a ton of bricks. On top of that, something had changed in Chris and instead of feeling better his symptoms changed and he was feeling a bit worse. By 6pm or so Friday evening neither of us were doing particularly great and being an hour away from the nearest city started to plan our next steps.

Insurance?

It may or may not be a surprise, but because of our past income bracket (pre-cryptocurrency) we were one of the too poor, but not quite poor enough that would have had to choose to pay for insurance over shelter and food because of Obamacare. That guy is so awesome. 🙄 In any case, we've been sans insurance for... ever.

We had been planning to get insurance, but honestly just hadn't been sick with anything in SO LONG it wasn't in the forefront of our minds.... until this last week.

Weekend Clinics

With no regular doctor to make an appointment with and the fear that Chris was getting worse, we needed to find a place that would see us. We had heard VERY good things about a clinic that would take walk-ins, but upon investigation, we found it only takes walk-ins from existing patients and it was almost 2 hours away . There was no way we, both being weak and sick, should/could drive that far, through mountain passes safely.

The search continued

I found a Vally Wide Health Clinic only an hour away that was open to LITERALLY anyone 7 days a week. What?! That's exactly what we needed. Not only that, but the website explained that AFTER your appointment you would be assisted in finding insurance or signing up for Medicare/Medicaid. We needed that too!

It was settled, we'd go to 'Mosa in the morning first thing and hope for some answers and maybe some meds.

The journey

We made it to the Clinic by 9 am and only had one person in front of us. Angel helped us sign in. No joke. A dude named Angel who was just about the sweetest, most caring person ever.😍

The nurse was also SUPER nice and very informative, yet laid back. We even laughed about Total Recall with Arnold Schwarzenegger, which we had watched the night before. Side note: That movie is WEIRD. 😳

The doctor was just about the most helpful person so far.

It was like each new person we came into contact with was MORE friendly than the last. The doc was generally impressed with how good our vitals were, aside from both having the flu (and Chris having a bacterial infection). We were also able to get Chris a new albuterol inhaler and nebulizer refill. Those things are really good to have around in case of emergency.

He even gave Chris a note to prove to the INSANE people he works with that he was/is really sick. Jerks. 😒 Oh! And the doc got him out of jury duty ... this time. To be fair, I'm pretty sure he was kinda excited about serving, it's just bad timing.

Last stop, the pharmacy

Again! Super nice folks! Just as we were suggested to do, we ask about any possible discounts for any of the meds we were getting, as we currently do not have insurance. Winner! We were able to save a good chunk off everything.

Equipped with antibiotics, extra strong cough and sleeping meds and asthma assistance we were on our way back home.

Of course, we stopped at Arby's. Of course. 😎

Now, we are both home Steeming. Luckily, no matter how gross we are YOU can't catch it. Just one of the perks of Steemit. 😍

Now... about that poem.

It's a limerick. You will love it.

My diagnosis is flu
It makes me feel sad and blue
Both nostrils a clog
I breathe like a hog
But that's not the worst of-
"Ah-CHOO!"


Hey! I've also started two new video series. Check 'em out below:

Latest Episodes:



New here? Wanna know a Steemit Secret? Check out The Secret to Earning Followers by @chrisroberts. He just may be on to something... 😎


Need help formatting your posts? Check out this great (if I do say so myself) tutorial:

Are you stealing Google images?! Learn how to do it LEGALLY:


If you find yourself needing help or just have a question or two, find me on Discord.😀


All images were created/taken by me, or from Bitmoji.com. Make your own today!


As always, thanks for stopping by!

Hugs & Kisses 💋carrie signature.gif

carrieallen signature 3.png


steemusa carrie long.png

Sort:  

We hope you are feeling better!

Thanks to @ecoinstant, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

So you got the flu
I guess ald unfollow you
I can't bare to take that risk
Getting a flu from steemit

I hope eventually you'd get better
And then our steemit journey would be merrier
I think I've said my mind, I finally spoke
Don't be scared, this was all a joke..

Get well soon

YEEEEES!!

This was awesome. I so enjoy poems as responses.

Thanks for the love!

Top notch article ;p If what you say is true:

each new person we came into contact with was MORE friendly than the last

then the Arby's person must have been the most helpful of all!

Blessings and Healing to you both!

They were!

Though, to be fair, the employees at Arby's are always nice and helpful. Plus, they give us the BEST vittles!

Wow. I wish I had a medical experience that helpful (we are also without insurance since for... ever!)! I hope you get better quickly. My daughter and her family were down with the flu about two weeks ago and it sounds like no fun at all. Get plenty of rest and fluids (with electrolytes) and get better soon!

Yes! Electrolytes! It's what plants crave!

For real though, the doc was really pushing those. We keep powdered Gatorade on hand. Living at about 8000 feet above sea level, we need to drink a bit more water to stay properly hydrated anyway.

The doc even suggested Sprite.... we got one that day, but it tasted WEIRD. Prolly cause we are just feeling icky though.

😍

I keep electrolyte tablets on hand all the time for when I'm doing low carb... or just because I like a touch of flavor in my water! :)

I hope you get better quickly!

That was a cute limerick. :-)
I know how you feel, I wrote a poem about being sick a few months ago. At that point, it was about the only thing I could actually do, between the sneezes...

Thanks! For real, even forming sentences for comments is tough. But rhymes? Those come naturally.

Dude feel better!
Get some rest

Any excuse to lay around and watch Youtube all day.... 🤩

Thanks!

Feel better ❤️

Like a hog, huh, not good, are you coughing too?

I am coughing. It's very shallow though. And the doc gave us some hardcore sleep/cough aide, so at least at night I'm comfortable/passed out.

My face is all... weird during the day, with congestion and such. I'm simply not used to being sick anymore. Luckily, it's not as bad as some get, just icky and annoying.

LOL -

luckily no matter how sick we are you won't catch it!

Fun limerick also :)
Thanks for your 'pimp my post' 18 days ago... Useful!

I got the flu
now feeling great
unfortunately i passed it
to my best mate

there's nothing to worry
because I am ok
my mate sleeps with other boys
because he is gay.... meh I guess it rhymes

Bwhahaha! Ha ha... snort... giggle.

That was totally good.

Totally. 😎

Glad you got Chris all patched up! Hope you get off easy with it and start feeling better soon.

So far so good. It's mostly in my face... and a bonus??

I've lost some more weight because I've not eaten any processed foods lately.

It's like I have been FORCED to be healthier. Perhaps I wished for this. 🤣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68362.52
ETH 3747.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66