Shortest Horror Stories 4 - @merej99

in #flashfiction8 years ago

Driving on the long stretch of I-90 heading toward Montana with little to no sleep for three days, I had my eyes set on the Rocky Mountains far off in the distance, yet they never seemed to get any closer no matter how fast I drove.

I'd already passed the Black Hills of South Dakota and the Devil's Tower in Wyoming when I felt the beginnings of out of body experiences, which I attributed to sleep deprivation more than anything.

The locals at some rundown diner I'd stopped at for gas and coffee a few hundred miles back spoke about an old Arapaho ghost they called hisei bo'oo nih-eyoo - The lady of the long road.

Laughing off their talismans, I hit the road without a second thought.

But as I looked in the rear-view mirror, dead, hollow eyes were looking back - and the slumped, lifeless body of someone looking strangely like me was in the back seat.

The End


  • I found an online Arapaho dictionary, but I'm sure I slaughtered the language, so please excuse the loose translation. Lady of the Long Road, to my knowledge is a figment of my imagination and not of any folklore.

Check out some of my other flash fiction!

Crime & Horror

Shortest Horror Stories
Shortest Horror Stories 2
Shortest Horror Stories 3
Come Out & Play With Me
The Dream

NSFW

A Short Erotic Tease
Belisama - The Lady of the Inlet
The Roommate


image source


Your comments, upvotes and shares are always appreciated.

Thank you.

For older content, visit my Steemit blog page

witchy merej99
Meredith Loughran is protected by Copyscape
merej99 is verified by Steem-verify
Sort:  

Beautiful work as always, thanks for sharing other shiny material, aprecioso your words and your time to visit my post. Congratulations

@jlufer, you are my most ardent fan & commenter.
Te aprecio

Not bad. Especially when it's pitch black and under the covers. Spooky.

I do love a good spooky story. And they're great year round because once Halloween season is over, we just call them Campfire stories...or... at least I do. :D

This is a very fun and creative project. Plus it's the exact amount of scary that I can handle... Which is not a lot because I'm a total scaredy cat.

You are so funny @hanshotfirst!
How ever did you survive childhood with scary campfire stories? LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50