Cyborg Time Traveller

in #fivehundredcontest6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians! Here's my entry for @byn Creative Writing CONTEST

The prompt I used was "You wake up and find yourself in an entirely different time period or universe" together with @abyni art post.


Image credits to @abyni

Cyborg Time Traveller

Under the bright starry night, from the wide opening of my window, I can see the twinkling stars smiling back at me. I checked my phone and realize that it was already 11 pm, March 1, 2018, and I already feel sleepy. With the cool wind passing through the window, I gently close my eyes and getting ready to sleep.

Few moments later, I found myself standing in a different place. A calendar hanging on the wall is showing the current date as April 12, 1958. In front of me was a man sitting on the table with a birthday cake in front of him. He looks so sad and alone. I walk towards him to ask the time, “It’s 9:45 pm” he answered. I was startled, it feels so weird. I looked around and saw a group of people on the other table having a happy conversation.

“Do you want to join me?” the voice asked me. I glance at him with full of confusions, yet I sat down and joined him. “Is it your birthday?” I asked him. He nodded and smiled, I lightened up the candle and sing him a Happy Birthday song. I was still in a great confusion yet I tried to hide it. I don’t want to tell him as he might think that I’m crazy. We had a short conversation as we get to know each other. His name is Jio and both of his parents passed away from their village tragedy and he was left alone. The night gets deeper and I thought of saying goodbye and wake up from this dream. Once again I greeted him a happy birthday before I walked away. He smiled back at me as he waves his hand.

My phone rings, I got a message from my friend Mimi. I opened my eyes and unlocked my phone to see her message. I was in a great shock when I saw the time. It’s 7:30 in the evening, March 7, 2018.

“Wait! Did I just woke up from a long dream?”, I asked myself.
But everything seems so real; the place, his face, his voice and the people around.

Days had passed and everything is still on my mind. I have a lot of questions that can’t find the answer. I grabbed a book to read to divert my attention. At the middle of the book story, my eyes started sticking to each other, I feel so sleepy. So I closed the book and put it on my chest.

With my own two eyes once again I found myself staring at the calendar on the wall, standing in the same place but this time the calendar is showing the current date of April 12, 1959. It seems to be a year ago since I’ve been in this place. I looked around and saw Jio with a birthday cake on his table. As soon as I saw him, my heart started to beat faster. I walked toward him and sat down. He seems so happy while looking at me when suddenly a drunk man on the table pointed his gun at Jio and shoot him. As fast as lightning I was able to cover Jio and pull him down the floor. I myself was so shocked by my action as if I knew that It’s going to happen. I also decided to accompany Jio home. It was indeed a traumatic experience for both of us. We both sat down on the couch when my eyes suddenly blow a range of lights into the wall and a video of an old man appeared.

He is sitting in a robotic chair. He’s seems paralyzed as he couldn’t move his body.

“I am Jio from the future. I was celebrating my birthday in a restaurant when suddenly a gunman shoot my head. I was able to survive but half of my body got paralyzed. My ability to build robots made difference to my life, yet I want to change the past through my inventions.” the old man said.

Jio and I looked each other. We were both speechless.

“A great disaster is about to come” he added while the video gradually disappears from the light. As well as my visions started to dim and became a total darkness.

I moved my body and I found myself on the floor. I immediately get up and unlocked my phone.

“It’s 3:30 pm, March 2018. Did I just had a dream again?” I asked myself.

Everything that the old man said is still fresh on my mind and I came out with a conclusion.
The old man was Jio in the future. He was celebrating his birthday in the past when a gunman shoots him that causes him to become paralyzed. But we were able to change the past, Jio was saved from the gunman, that means he won’t become paralyzed in the future. But wait, what about the upcoming disaster?

Nights had passed and I thought I will no longer be able to return in the past when suddenly my surrounding gradually change into a different place.

I see people running around and crying. Debris are falling from the building and the ground is shaking.. It’s an earthquake..

“Jio!”

I rushed to him and found him trapped. With my full strength, I removed all the debris and rescued him. We run as I to covers him. People are crying for help and I tried to save them too, but when I glance to Jio I saw a huge debris falling to where he’s standing. I rushed toward him and pushed him away! I suddenly heavy things fell on top of my body and my vision started to dim.

I'm back to the present. But wait, what happened to me and Jio?
A lot of questions are running through my mind. Several months had passed and fate seems making tricks on me. I’ve been waiting for the chance to be able to return in the past but I couldn’t find the way. Few months later my friend Mimi asked me to accompany her to an exhibit in the museum. Several artifacts were displayed together with its history. As we looked around, one thing caught my attention. A preserved body of an old man sitting in a wheelchair with a young lady beside him. I felt something familiar, so I stared at her and got so shocked when I realize that she looks exactly like me. The history stated that the old man was named Jio and the lady beside him is his robot invention. It also said that the robot lives with Jio for a long time and her memory can be seen once it connects to a live human brain. I run to one of the heads of the museum to request for the robot’s memory to connect it to my brain. Gladly they agree, I sat down and the apparatus was placed on my head.

As the memory transmits to my brain the picture started to become clearer. Jio’s first birthday memory with me was there. I then realized that I was not dreaming when I met Jio, I was time traveling and everything that happened are real. And the disaster? Wait! What happened during the disaster?????

Few moments later, I found myself standing in a devastated place. The earthquake just ended. I saw Jio crying. He was so shocked and happy to see me. He runs and hugs me as he continuously crying.

With all the memories from the robot, I found out that Jio and I first met on April 12, 1958. He then again celebrated his birthday in 1959 on the same place, hoping that I would come to see him again. Unfortunately, a drunk gunman shoots him. He became paralyzed, and with his remaining life, he decided to build a robot that looks exactly her first love - me. He discovered time travel and he sent his robot to year 1959 to change the past. Year 1959 was the second time I meet Jio, but way back then I was no longer a human, but already a robot that he sent from the future. The robot me saved him from the gunman. I rescued him during the disaster, yet saving him from the falling debris destroyed my robotic body. He’s been longing for me since then so he decided to build a robot and transfer my memory. He grew old with his robot and they were preserved and later placed in the museum. That was their remains that we saw in the exhibit.

Jio hug me so tight with so much happiness.I then realized how much I love Jio and how much I mean to him. I decided to stay and live in the past with Jio where we can share more memories together, rather than staying in the future where he no longer exist.

The End



I hope you enjoyed reading!

Kindly continue supporting @surpassinggoogle who has been very helpful. Vote him as witness by going to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
Thank you for dropping by!

Sort:  

Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

You were lucky! Your post was selected for an upvote!
Read about that initiative
logo

You got a 12.86% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @wondersofnature!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

wow such a great talent

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.25$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Awesome story! Thank you for your entry! I will be posting a winners post later this evening.

@byn

Thanks for using my artwork as a prompt! Awesome time travel story <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68216.84
ETH 3827.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63