#Fiftywords: Backyard (Tiny Story)

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

He guided his fellow soldiers through the flower field. Another story in fifty words.

Solider.jpg

Another #fiftywords entry, I tired to use the full extent of the theme/prompt and I'm proud of the result. Here's the story below:

Backyard

"They're here."
He guided his fellow soldiers through the flower field.

"This was your old backyard wasn't it?"
One solider stepped on the roses he had always cherished.

"Does it matter?"
His grip on the shotgun tightened.
"It's their backyard now."

He never thought his home would become a battlefield.

END...?


What do you think?

It's not easy to write a story in only 50 words, but trying to shorten a sentence or coming with a better word is fun. I'm glad I got the idea of mashing up "flower field" with "battlefield" as soon as I saw the prompt. Wouldn't have tried otherwise.

If you enjoyed this you might like: "Dead Lands Never Bloom " another fiftywords about war. "Mother's Last Chocolate" about motherly love. And "Broken by Avalanche" about unforeseen mountain accident.
Or you can check my longer stories "Your Heart Would Remember" and "A Fascinating Legacy."

Thanks @creatr for telling me about my mistake.

Photo by Kony Xyzx on Unsplash
Sort:  

Nice work @ahmadmanga! This feels like a video game scene, but it could easily be real life, in anyone's backyard, in anyone's country.

Yeah, your imagination is the limit for this story... Even the soldiers might not be real soldiers.

Awesome short story sir!!Deep meaning..I will definately read the other stories..

Thanks for reading and commenting :)

you are most welcome sir

When I was a kid I'd imagine ways to defend my house, strategic points at the roof to shoot and arrow and stuff. I really liked your story, and hope to see how that battle goes

Wow, this comment made me interpret my story in another interesting way, thanks!!

Wow, this is powerful. It puts us right there in that dramatic situation. Well done.

I tried to put as much action as I could because I read you said in your post:

I chose “Power of Life” by @marie-jay.
This story achieves the very thing that is so difficult to do in 50 words: It puts us readers in a setting, with a cast of characters, a critical point in time when a drama is playing out, and a resolution.

I'm not sure I succeeded (I don't have any resolution here,) but your comment now made me feel really happy.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ahmadmanga from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You have really imagined this story excellently.

What a distressing setting! Your own back yard, now grudgingly acknowledged as having been taken by an enemy.

Only one word grated on me - I would suggest a revision of your final sentence to make this story perfect:

"He never thought his home would become a battlefield."

Thanks for a great read!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Sorry I really suck at English tenses... I should use services like Grammerly but I always forget to do that.

"He never thought his home would become a battlefield."

Fixing now~

Hey, no apology necessary!

Do I understand correctly that English is not your native language? Then I must say that you have done an outstanding job overall, and I can only help that my small suggestion helps you a little bit. :D

I'm not sure if even Grammerly would have helped with this...

Thank you again for a great story. Really excellent!

Yeah (Arabic Native,) but I use English regularly for at least 8 years now, so I don't think that's an excuse. Thanks again~

My friend, you need no excuse... You're just plain good!

Please continue the great work. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45