The Night Gods III- The Triumph Of Evil XXIX: Gwendolyn's Choice

in #fiction6 years ago

11b.jpg
Artwork by @marty-art on Steemit... With many thanks!

It was with a heavy heart that Arturo Salazar called Gwendolyn Penrose on his way back from Montreux. He has served Oliveira for over two decades- ever since the president had begun his political career in Brazil. On the return trip from dropping Mrs. Oliveira and Alexa he heard the announcement interrupting the music program he was listening to. He couldn't drive on... he stopped the night at an inn in Lausanne, too upset to go on. He sat on the bed, phone in hand.

"Miss Penrose?" He asked calling the secure number she had provided.

"Yes, Arturo," she replied. "I'm sorry about your boss... I know how bad you must feel."

"He wasn't a bad man, Miss Penrose," Arturo told her, "just ambitious. I often didn't agree with the things he did, but in the end he did the right thing for his wife and child."

"Yes, he did," Gwendolyn said. "I have nothing against him, Arturo. He was what he was- a politician. Did Mr. Przybysz give you something for me?"

"Yes, he did," Arturo replied fingering the envelope on the bed beside him. "I'll call again as soon as I get back."

"No," Gwendolyn told him. "It isn't safe for you to come back right now. Give me your location and I'll come to you," Gwen said.

"But the funeral..." Arturo began, "I'm the only one left to make the arrangements."

"If you come back now, you'll be in danger and not able to make any kind of arrangements- even for yourself," Gwendolyn said firmly. "Tell em where you are and I'll come to you."

"I'm at an inn in Lausanne," he said sadly, wanting desperately to return and see to his boss's final arrangements. With a heavy sigh, he gave her the directions.

"I'm on my way," she told him. "My father has his heart set on Alexa... she's what's important now, her safety. Do you understand? Just stay where you are."

"Ok," Arturo agreed reluctantly. She was right. He ordered room service although he wasn't feeling much like eating... He had to keep his strength up.

Thomas Beck, former American President was summoned to the Penrose estate. When he arrived he found His Lordship in a very agitated state.

"I need you to use all of the resources at your disposal, Beck- I want that girl... I need her, I need her energy. I want her flesh," Penrose hissed.

"Both she and her mother have disappeared," Beck replied. He had never seen Penrose in such a state, "along with the assistant Salazar."

"Find them... Whatever it takes. I want that girl," Penrose's voice rose almost to a shout.

"And the mother?" Beck asked.

Penrose shrugged and walked away. "I don't care... I want the girl."

Beck left, calling Chancellor Behrmann from his limo. "Behrmann," he began, "have you seen Oliveira's assistant today?"

"No Sir, not since yesterday morning," Behrmann replied. "Why?"

"I want him," Beck said. "He knows where Oliveira's wife and daughter are... Lord Penrose wants to see them."

"Let me see what I can find out," Behrmann told him. "Give me a couple of hours and I'll call you back at this number."

After Arturo met with Gwendolyn Penrose, he drove back from Lausanne to Geneva. When he got to his apartment he found a welcoming committee- Behrmann's secret police. Because of Gwendolyn's warning he was prepared for what he was certain would come next.

"Are you going to handcuff me?" He inquired of the lead officer.

"Of course not, you're not under arrest," the officer sneered. "Why, should we?"

No," Salazar replied dourly, "I just knew something like this would happen."

When they arrived at Behrmann's office, Arturo was brought in by the officer that had come for him... a large German in plain clothes. Inside was Behrmann and Thomas Beck.

"Where did you take Mrs. Oliveira and her daughter?" Behrmann asked.

"I don't know what you're talking about," Arturo replied trying to sound casual. "What's this all about?"

"C'mon Salazar," Behrmann said. "I'd hoped you'd be reasonable. We know you left yesterday morning in the Presidential limo with President Oliveira's wife and daughter and now he's dead. What did you have to do with the accident?"

Arturo was confused. Were they blaming him for his boss's death?"

"I didn't... He began.

"We only need to find Mrs. Oliveira and her daughter to make sure they're safe," Beck lied. "What did you do with them? Dis you kidnap them?"

"No, of course not," Arturo syammered. "I would never..."

"Well, I tried to be reasonable," Behrmann said nodding to the large German who stepped forward and held Arturo while Behrmann began punching him, stopping only to ask an occasional question. Arturo held fast and revealed nothing.

"I'm sorry, Mr. Salazar," Behrmann intoned, "I had hoped we could settle this amicably and this violence could have been avoided."

The questioning went on for over an hour, but Arturo was resolute. When it became apparent that he wouldn't relent, the officer that brought him in led Arturo half carrying him to a dank cell with only a blanket on the floor and a bare bulb in a ceiling fixture high above. This would be his new home until he "came to his senses," as Behrmann put it.

Gwendolyn returned home to find her father waiting... "Gwen dear," he smiled, "I need to speak with you for a minute. I won't keep you."

"Just one moment father," she demurred. "I've been out driving and am about to burst."

"I'll be in my study," he said walking out of the room in that direction.

In the restroom Gwendolyn opened the envelope and withdrew the odd looking ring inside, placing it on her finger. She read the instructions Przybysz has placed in the envelope and returned it putting it all back in her purse. She walked calmly into her father's study.

"Gwen dear," Lord Penrose began, "do you know the whereabouts of Mrs. Oliveira and her daughter Alexa?"

"This must be important Father," she said walking toward him. "I don't even get a hug before you begin interrogating me?"

"I'm sorry darling," Penrose smiled opening his arms. "Where are my manners?"

Gwendolyn stepped into his open arms gently touching the back of his neck... he never felt the prick of the tiny needle. His Lordship's eyes opened wide with surprise as did his mouth. The look on his face was almost comical, thought Gwendolyn. He clutched at his chest with both hands and slumped to the floor. Alexa Oliveira would never know the danger she had been in.

For links to previous chapters go to Chapter XV)

https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xv-the-loveboat
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xvi-a-platform-of-peace
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xvii-the-man-of-peace
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xviii-hassan-s-prophesy
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xix-the-whirlwind-begins
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xx-damon
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xxi-damon-s-confession
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xxii-a-new-age
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xxiii-i-have-a-dream
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xxiv-the-son-of-eddie-phillips
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xxv-dreams-of-my-fathers
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xxvi-the-voice-of-truth
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xxvii-alexa-s-honor
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xxviii-alexa

GIF by @papa-pepper

U5dsRT1UAnwwU1RVKAb43TK21U3xTen.gif

Sort:  

You possess a wonderful gift for writing @richq11. I am jealous LOL

Thank you my friend! I'm not that good- I did a radio interview last night and told the guy I'm just a hack writer. I like this story, the series is a study of evil. Wait until the next chapter, the antichrist reveals himself!

This is intriguing. Just my kind of thriller.

Thank you, the first two parts are available in book form at www.Lulu.com/thenightgods

Hi, I gave you a mention on the Fiction Trail Curation update. Hope it helps.
https://steemit.com/fiction-trail/@fiction-trail/fiction-trail-update-january-24th-2018

Thanks

Another great chapter, dear Rich! As always, you gave me something great to read before to go to sleep ^_^

Thank you my dear friend. I probably won't do any more chapters... I can't come up with $3000 for my grandaughter $2.50 at a time.

I can understand you, Rich. In these last days every post seems to have less payout than usual, I hope the value of Steem come up soon again.

Me too! I had to borrow $3000 to pay off my daughter and junkie husband so my ex and I can get custody of our granddaughter- this couldn't have come at a worse time. I'm probably going to have to power way down.

Wow great article also fiction..

Thanks for share @richq11

I like fiction. Outstanding writing skill. Great job. Thanks a lot.....

nice your writing post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65717.99
ETH 3412.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20