The Night Gods III- The Triumph Of Evil XXVII: Alexa's Honor

in #fiction6 years ago

11b.jpg
Artwork by @marty-art on Steemit... With many thanks!

Oliveira was stuck between the proverbial rock and a hard place- this was the opportunity he had waited for all his life, an introduction into Lord Penrose's inner circle... the cost of admission- his beloved Alexa. He sat glumly in his office staring at the floor. Oliveira was ambitious but this was a very heavy price to pay. Alexa was his only child and he doted on her, they both did. She had come late, after he and his wife had given up on children. His presidency was likely lost so if he refused his political career was over... on the other hand what could he gain by going along- the chancellorship at best. He shook his head- he couldn't bring himself to go through with it. But what would the ramifications be? Penrose wasn't a man who took rejection well... Would he just give up on Alexa? Not likely.

His mind was made up... He would send them away. His wife had a wealthy elderly aunt who lived in Portugal- he'd join them there later, after the election. He called his assistant:

"I have to go out for awhile," he said. "When I get back, I have something very important for you to do."

"Of course, Mr. President," the assistant replied. "May I ask what it is?"

"My wife and daughter are going to visit her aunt in Portugal- she isn't well," Oliveira lied. He trusted Arturo to a point... but he was afraid to trust anyone too much right now.

"Yes, Sir," Arturo said. "Whatever you need."

"How much can I trust you Arturo?" Oliveira asked looking deep into the assistant's eyes. He needed a friend someone he could confide in. Arturo was a good man- he had been with Oliveira since before his presidency.

Anything, Mr. President," Arturo told him sincerely, "anything at all. You can trust me Sir. Why, what is this about?"

Oliveira explained the situation to his assistant who listened intently. He could tell by his face that he was as sickened by Penrose's suggestion as Oliveira himself.

"Just tell me what to do, Sir- anything," was the response.

After a good deal of agonizing, Father Tony decided that he was more use to the resistance network in America doing the Voice of Truth broadcasts. He had only done two but the response was overwhelming... between his efforts and Bret's nightly newscasts there was a wave of support and hope spreading around the world. He had but one reservation- Alessandra... he was afraid that without his steadying influence that Gerolamo wouldn't be able to keep her from doing something rash jeopardizing the operation in Italy. Przybysz and Ann had agreed to fly to Sicily on short notice and pick her up and bring her to America... only after a long heated conversation did she finally agree.

Oliveira drove himself to his home to instruct his wife to pack for her and Alexa. He didn't to alarm her by disclosing how much danger their daughter was in so he told her as little as possible. He feared that if she knew the whole truth she would be unable to complete the task at hand. She was a good woman, his wife- but a little high-strung. After preparing her for the journey, he left for the bank to get money for them to live on until he could join them- Arturo would come for them and take them to the train.

At the bank the manager raised an eyebrow over the amount he wanted to withdraw. To allay any suspicions he leaned over whispering: "It's for opposition research on my opponent- I'm not going down without a fight." He winked at the man who thought he understood and nodded back knowingly... he was the president after all.

On his way leaving the bank he ran into Gwendolyn Penrose coming up the steps.

"Good morning Miss Penrose," he said nervously.

"Mr. President," she said calmly, "do you have a minute, I need to speak with you."

"I'm in a bit of a rush, if you don't mind," he stammered.

She caught his arm. "I think it would be in your best interest to come with me for a moment... as well as in the interest of your wife and daughter... I'm on your side."

He was caught. She knew and if she knew, her father must also know... but how? He had only told Arturo... Arturo, damn him. He had been betrayed.

"Mr. President, please. I can help you. Your wife and daughter will be much safer in America than wherever you're sending them," she said evenly looking him in the eye. "I can help. Come with me for, their sake."

They walked casually to her car and got in. "Look Mr. President," Gwendolyn told the nervous man. "I'm taking a big risk coming to you like this. Your assistant Arturo is the best friend you have- he's also a part of the resistance. You're the president, you could have us both arrested if you wanted."

"What do you want in return?" Oliveira asked suspiciously.

"We'll get your wife and daughter to safety, in America- you can join them later." Gwendolyn went on. "For the rest of your presidency, you back off of the resistance. Behrmann is an asshole, he'll keep the heat on, but no more hardball from you."

"And if I agree?" Oliveira had already resigned himself. He was already in shock that Gwendolyn Penrose was a part of the resistance.

"All right," he agreed. "What do I do?"

Gwendolyn reached into her purse and withdrew a satellite phone and dialed a number. "Prz, where are you?"

"Just touched down in Catania," he replied. "What's up?"

"What time can you be here?" Gwendolyn asked.

"In Geneva? About 3:00 your time, I guess," he said.

"No, you better make it Montreux," Gwendolyn told him. "I need you to pick up a couple of packages and take them to safety."

"Packages?" Przybysz inquired.

"Alexa Oliveira and her mother," Gwendolyn replied looking at Oliveira.

"Wha..." Przybysz was surprised.

"My father wants to make her the guest of honor at one of his soirees," she told him. "The President wants to switch sides."

"I'll be there with bells on," Przybysz laughed.

Gwendolyn instructed Oliveira about what to do next. He was to remain in Geneva while Arturo drove his wife and daughter to Montreux airport.

"Thank you, Miss Penrose," Oliveira blurted out grabbing her hand kissing it. "I don't know what to say."

"Just remember your end of the bargain. No harassment," she said.

"Yes, of course," he assured her exiting the car.

Oliveira went home and delivered the money telling his wife of the change in plans. He lied telling her that he didn't trust U'Bamah and wanted them safe until after the election- she agreed. He kissed them both good bye and returned to his office. Arturo gave him a nod when he entered letting him know that Gwendolyn Penrose had already briefed him.

After Arturo called to inform him that Alexa and her mother were safely on the plane, he finished up and decided to go home. on the way to his car, he contemplated the prospects of returning to an empty house. Arturo had taken the Presidential limo to Montreux so Oliveira got into his Audi and sadly pulled out of the executive parking garage onto the street. He looked up just in time to see a large moving van coming straight at his driver's door. It was the last thing he saw... he felt a jarring crash and his world went black.

For links to previous chapters go to Chapter XV)

https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xv-the-loveboat
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xvi-a-platform-of-peace
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xvii-the-man-of-peace
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xviii-hassan-s-prophesy
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xix-the-whirlwind-begins
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xx-damon
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xxi-damon-s-confession
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xxii-a-new-age
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xxiii-i-have-a-dream
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xxiv-the-son-of-eddie-phillips
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xxv-dreams-of-my-fathers
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-xxvi-the-voice-of-truth

GIF by @papa-pepper

U5dsRT1UAnwwU1RVKAb43TK21U3xTen.gif

Sort:  

Wow a great story! I will definitely go back and read more of this! Cool artwork as well. Some talented people working on this!👍🏼🍺🥓

Please see my reply to @richq11 below.

Thank you! I took a 2 month break and now it's hard to get back into it. The first two parts are available in book (paperback or ebook) form at Lulu.com. Or from me with SBD

I reviewed it here.

The book itself is at
http://www.lulu.com/shop/http://www.lulu.com/shop/rich-quitliano/the-night-gods/ebook/product-23461841.html

and at @richq11 if you want to buy it for SBD. :)

Great chaper as usual! (Ps: everytime I read the name "Przybysz" my tongue become crazy :D )

Just to make it easy... It's pronounced Sibits or Cibiz. We have some people by that name here where I live.

I remeber you wrote that there are some people there wo have this name, I think it's a perfect name for a character because even if it has a strange pronunciation (for me italian) it's a name that I remeber very well ^_^

I think it's Polish. They are customers at the cemetery I managed and they have a CPA office near my doctor. They're accountants. Nice people too, I thought it would add a nice change in the story (they liked the book too- I told them that their namesake is one of the heroes in the new story)

Glad you got back to the series. Can't wait for the next one.

Thank you my friend. I almost didn't get it out. I can't believe how bad I feel!!! I thought by now I'd be getting better not worse. Now I'm sick to my stomach!

Ouch... Is it still the flu?

I don't know what it is... the Massive Crud lol!!! It's in my stomach and I can't hold any food down. When I lay down to sleep I can't breathe. Monday I'm going to the doc if I'm not any better!

That would be wise. Stay well. :)

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

wow great writing.
it is valuable and everybody likes it..
thanks for sharing....

Horror idea is great, nice article, I like post, thank you for share

so sweet...i like it.....👌👌👌👍👍👍👍

very scary ... when my eyes will fall asleep ... this story will haunt? 😨😱

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58661.64
ETH 2723.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32