What Lurks Between - A SciFi Horror Novella - Part Eleven

in #fiction7 years ago

Barry is starting to remember what happened to him on Ketcham Station, but the's still a long way off from getting a true answer.

And he still has to deal with the fact he’s under the monster’s claws.

Not a good situation. Let’s see what happens next!

Artwork copyright Revensis and Mikhail Matsonashvili, licensed through Dreamstine

What Lurks Between - Part Eleven

I blinked and came back to the present. Glancing out of the bathroom toward where the bunny monster lay waiting, I felt a surge of adrenalin flow. The image of the researchers manhandling those rabbits - they were so similar to the bunny monster - would not go away.

I shook myself to ward off the chill that was traveling up my spine. Whatever it was that was going on aboard Ketcham Station had no bearing on my problem: how to take down the bunny monster and free myself, while at the same time saving the Earth from an infestation of the buggers.

I pushed myself away from the bathroom sink and stepped back into the main room of my apartment. Again I looked over at the kitchenette, to the small block where I kept my cooking knives. Maybe it would work.

A rustling from the couch drew my gaze away, back to the bunny monster as it slowly stirred. It would be awake soon. Once it woke, I would have to put such thoughts out of my mind. I did not know how far the monster could go, whether it could just implant its own thoughts or read all of mine. But if it detected any hint of a plan to do it harm…

Things would get ugly, very quickly.

I hurried over to my corner of the couch and sat down, slumping back against the cushions as though I were still asleep. It would not do to have it wonder how long I had been awake, and what I had been doing. A small voice in the back of my mind whispered that it likely did not care, that it knew it had me cowed and was satisfied in its superiority. I forced that voice down, irritation mixed with disgust - at its sentiment as well as the fact that the sentiment was true - lending me extra strength to get my thoughts under control.

I waited.

At some point, I drifted back off to sleep. I did not realize it had happened until the bunny monster woke me with a pair of rough scratches along my forearm. That was how it always went in the morning; if I was not awake soon after it rose, I got a scratch. Never enough to draw blood, but enough to sting for a while and get me up.

It had never before had to scratch me twice.

I bolted awake, clutching at my arm and cursing softly, but the words died on my lips as I saw the bunny monster staring at me, its blood-red eyes narrowed into dangerous slits. If it were human, I would have said it wore accusation on its face.

Too much sleep.

I blinked; it also bore accusation in its thoughts. Had I given myself away somehow?

“Sorry. I…” I shook my head and rubbed at my eyes for a moment, then glanced at the clock. An hour had passed since I sat back down on the couch. It felt like five minutes. “I had an intense dream.”

The bunny monster stared at me for another long moment, the turned and hopped off the couch, apparently satisfied.

Come. We hunt.

Obediently, I stood from the couch and went to my coat rack to retrieve my jacket. As I prepared to go on another ghastly journey, I shifted my thoughts back to the short nap I had taken. Intense dream. That was an understatement.

*****

Previous Posts:

  1. Part One
  2. Part Two
  3. Part Three
  4. Part Four
  5. Part Five
  6. Part Six
  7. Part Seven
  8. Part Eight
  9. Part Nine
  10. Part Ten

If you like what you've read so far please go to where it's sold and leave a good review on it, and then buy a copy (I am a professional and like to be paid).

Visit My Website - http://michaelkingswood.com
Say Hi on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/michael.kingswood
Or on Twitter - http://twitter.com/michaelkingswd

Sign up for my newsletter to receive notifications of new releases (guaranteed spam-free) - http://www.michaelkingswood.com/newsletter-signup/

Support Me On Patreon - https://www.patreon.com/michaelkingswood

Finally, here are my various wallets if you just want to give me a tip.

BTC - 1JbEz6gXM2jQSqMNkECfnA18XN31Q2t8h2
ETH - 0xcbf16a75f0de8d089011de5ca4d3e08e5527684e
LTC - LZzcqyw8h5TQ5JPyuSs3kZc9aRC7ojz51v
DSH - Xdf1jpwR5nj95MEMvAye7f4T9RPehwS3Ww
ZEC - t1f4SsfdpeC43mSYfrLSfEamoFqK4odW2KQ

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @michaelkingswood to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61409.80
ETH 3378.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51