What Lurks Between - A SciFi Horror Novella - Part Seven

in #story7 years ago

More of the adventures of Barry and the space vampire bunny…or whatever it is.

Things are looking pretty grim for our hero right now. Let’s see what happens next, shall we? I'm combining the next two sections into one post, because they're both short.

Again, am I not kind? ;)

Artwork copyright Revensis and Mikhail Matsonashvili, licensed through Dreamstine

What Lurks Between - Part Seven

By the time we returned to my apartment, self-loathing consumed me.

What had I done? I let this…thing…kill that poor man. I did not even try to stop it. Worse, part of me had enjoyed it, or at least was not completely repulsed by it.

I slammed the door shut and flung my wallet and keycard onto the small table standing next to the door, then made quick work of removing my trench coat and hurling it into the corner. Then I stumbled over to the couch and collapsed. I pressed my palms against my forehead and felt myself on the edge of tears.

The bunny-monster, whatever it was, hopped slowly across the small room toward the couch from where it had landed when I took off the trench coat
.
Rest. More tomorrow.

I found myself sobbing as I shook my head in denial. “No,” I whispered. “I can’t.”

The pressure came crashing down on my mind again, and I felt its weight upon me as it hopped up onto my abdomen. Pain lanced through me as it landed and dug in.

Were its claws longer? It felt like it.

You will. You cannot stop me.

The pain grew greater, and I heard myself scream. Thankfully, I lost consciousness soon after that. But the monster’s final words echoed through my mind as dreams took me.

*

It continued that way for the next week.

When I was not asleep, or engaged in biological necessities, the bunny monster rode me out onto the streets. And every time we went out, it took another victim. I lost track of the number of nameless schlubs the bunny monster killed, but it was a lot. And a slideshow of faces, all dead now, were emblazoned on my memory.

I saw them when I slept. I saw them in the bathroom mirror when I brushed my teeth and shaved. When the monster let me do those mundane things, anyway, which was not often. I could not escape the memory of those poor people.

At some point during the week, it struck me that I needed to go into work. Clark had not actually fired me, after all. He might not care, but presumably the company would care that I was alright, not dead on Ketcham Station.

And how exactly had that worked out, anyway?

I had no idea. I still could not remember what happened up there, though it was improving. Instead of essentially a big black blur of no memory at all, I slowly began to get flashes. Just individual images, an occasional face, a spoken word. Not enough to make any sense of. But it was something.

The point was moot, though. No sooner had I voiced the thought about returning to work than the bunny monster put the kibosh on it. I was not to go anywhere without it, and it was not going to my place of employment.

For a moment, before the pain began, I had the impression it was actually afraid of where I worked, for some reason.

Then I learned never to think on such things again.

*****

Previous Posts:

  1. Part One
  2. Part Two
  3. Part Three
  4. Part Four
  5. Part Five
  6. Part Six

If you like what you've read so far please go to where it's sold and leave a good review on it, and then buy a copy (I am a professional and like to be paid).

Visit My Website - http://michaelkingswood.com
Say Hi on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/michael.kingswood
Or on Twitter - http://twitter.com/michaelkingswd

Sign up for my newsletter to receive notifications of new releases (guaranteed spam-free) - http://www.michaelkingswood.com/newsletter-signup/

Support Me On Patreon - https://www.patreon.com/michaelkingswood

Finally, here are my various wallets if you just want to give me a tip.

BTC - 1JbEz6gXM2jQSqMNkECfnA18XN31Q2t8h2
ETH - 0xcbf16a75f0de8d089011de5ca4d3e08e5527684e
LTC - LZzcqyw8h5TQ5JPyuSs3kZc9aRC7ojz51v
DSH - Xdf1jpwR5nj95MEMvAye7f4T9RPehwS3Ww
ZEC - t1f4SsfdpeC43mSYfrLSfEamoFqK4odW2KQ

Sort:  

Hahahaha! So sinister. I like the thing.

Going to have to question your taste in friends if you keep this up. I mean, would you like a thing that....

But I judge unfairly. You have not seen what this thing is truly about.

Yet.

;)

Good point. I see what you did there!

I enjoy good antagonists, which may be distorting my view on the thing.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @michaelkingswood to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57567.29
ETH 2568.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50