What Lurks Between - A SciFi Horror Novella - Part Eight

in #story7 years ago

Because I love you and want you to be happy, I’m posting another portion of Barry’s story today instead of waiting until tomorrow. That’s because this section is very short also, while the next is more substantial in length.

(That’s what she said, right? :P )

LOL

Anyway, here’s the next installment of the story.

Artwork copyright Revensis and Mikhail Matsonashvili, licensed through Dreamstine

What Lurks Between - Part Eight

By the end of the week, I began to notice a change. The bunny monster was larger.

But not all over.

Its claws had definitely grown - I had felt them too many times to not notice that. As had its fangs. The rest of its body, however, remained the same size it always had been.

Except for its belly.

At first I thought I was imagining things. It moved more slowly around my apartment, and when we went out and it pounced on a victim. But it was always a small enough difference that I could not be sure.

Then, one night, a week and a half after we first met, the bunny monster almost missed a meal. The poor schlub it picked out ducked its initial attack and ran away, screaming. For a moment, I thought he would actually get away, as difficult as the chase appeared to be for the monster. But finally, get him it did.

When it forced me back home, I looked at it - really looked - for a long time. There could be no doubt, now that I concentrated enough to really note the differences.

Its belly was most definitely larger. At one point, I swore I saw part of its belly move, even. I shrank back, swallowing hard. I thought I was past terror after the last week being held prisoner by that thing, but I felt a new, icy feeling of dread in my gut as I considered what I saw.

The bunny monster turned its head toward me right then. Its catlike eyes narrowed, seemed to grow more brightly red for a moment. Then it ran its little tongue over its lips and sniffed the air.

Soon.

The intruding thought echoed in my mind, its intensity making me rock back for a moment. The thought contained a deep, grim satisfaction, coupled with a primal eagerness that was barely contained. Were I that eager for something, I would be bouncing off the walls, but the bunny monster simply sat there, gazing at me with its unsettling eyes for a moment.

Then it smiled.

They will come soon.

That dread became sheer horror as I suddenly understood.

The creature was female.

*****

Previous Posts:

  1. Part One
  2. Part Two
  3. Part Three
  4. Part Four
  5. Part Five
  6. Part Six
  7. Part Seven

If you like what you've read so far please go to where it's sold and leave a good review on it, and then buy a copy (I am a professional and like to be paid).

Visit My Website - http://michaelkingswood.com
Say Hi on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/michael.kingswood
Or on Twitter - http://twitter.com/michaelkingswd

Sign up for my newsletter to receive notifications of new releases (guaranteed spam-free) - http://www.michaelkingswood.com/newsletter-signup/

Support Me On Patreon - https://www.patreon.com/michaelkingswood

Finally, here are my various wallets if you just want to give me a tip.

BTC - 1JbEz6gXM2jQSqMNkECfnA18XN31Q2t8h2
ETH - 0xcbf16a75f0de8d089011de5ca4d3e08e5527684e
LTC - LZzcqyw8h5TQ5JPyuSs3kZc9aRC7ojz51v
DSH - Xdf1jpwR5nj95MEMvAye7f4T9RPehwS3Ww
ZEC - t1f4SsfdpeC43mSYfrLSfEamoFqK4odW2KQ

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @michaelkingswood to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Oh, shit! I got shivers. Takes the phrase "breed like rabbits" to a whole new level.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49