What Lurks Between - A SciFi Horror Novella - Part Five

in #fiction7 years ago

It appears Barry is in trouble. That cute bunny with the big sharp pointy teeth just but him in the neck, and he passed out.

Wonder what happens next...

Artwork copyright Revensis and Mikhail Matsonashvili, licensed through Dreamstine

What Lurks Between - Part Five

I awoke to an awful pressure on my chest, as though a couple of burly guys were laying atop me. It was hard to draw breath. Very hard. As I slowly came around, I found myself wondering if my ribs would give way.

And then I opened my eyes.

I found myself staring straight into the bunny-thing’s blood red gaze. I was lying on my back and it was sitting on my chest, staring at me. That’s it. No big burly guys, just that little bunny-thing. It was a hell of a lot heavier than it looked. It noticed me waking up and grinned again. Its fangs were still there. More disturbing still, the fur around its mouth was stained red.

The ache in the side of my neck registered, and I flinched away as the source of the stains around the bunny’s mouth became clear to me. Well, I tried to flinch, but the thing’s weight prevented me from moving very far at all.

The thing’s grin grew wider.

There’s no point in trying to flee, Barry.

I heard the words in my head, but knew that the thought was not mine. Oh dear Lord it could read my…

Your blood is mine. I own you.

Its tongue caressed its fangs slowly, seductively. I had seen women use their tongues similarly, licking their lips while flirting. The display was quite a bit less arousing on this thing.

“What…” I cleared my throat, the tried again. “What are you?”

I am your master.

There was more than a hint of annoyance in the thought’s tone. As though to accentuate its point, the thing dugs its fore-paws into my chest, sending lances of pain radiating from the area. I gritted my teeth, but groaned at the renewed discomfort.

“Stop.”

Stop please, master.

It dug its claws in a bit deeper. It was as though someone was dripping molten metal onto my chest. For an instant, I had the notion of swiping it off of me. I was a strong guy; I should be able to do that. But the pain just escalated when I thought it. Worse, I found I could not move my limbs.

I had no choice. My ego rebelled against it, but I could not stand the pain any longer.

“Stop. Please.” I had to draw a breath to get the last word out. “Master.”

All at once, the pain ceased.

Good. The voice in my head sounded satisfied, pleased. You learn quickly.

I could not suppress a snort. That was something I had never been accused of before.

“What…” I cut off as the claws began digging in again, and the pain returned. I found myself groaning, and forced it down. Through gritted teeth I managed to mumble, “What do you want?”

The pain faded again, as quickly as it came. The bunny-thing looked at me for a long moment, its cat-like pupils narrowing in consideration. Another impulse to just shove it away came through me, but again it was as though my thoughts were disconnected from my body; I could not move a muscle.

Finally, it “spoke” again.

What I want… The creature’s fangs seemed to lengthen, and I noticed little red stains on their tips. I want food.

I got a hollow feeling in my belly. Oh Lord, it was going to eat me.

It made a little coughing sound. Laughter?

You are not enough. Not for what I have to do. You will help me find more.

I somehow managed to swallow, despite having no saliva in my mouth. It could not mean what I thought it meant.

But it did.

*****

Previous Posts:

  1. Part One
  2. Part Two
  3. Part Three
  4. Part Four

If you like what you've read so far please go to where it's sold and leave a good review on it, and then buy a copy (I am a professional and like to be paid).

Visit My Website - http://michaelkingswood.com
Say Hi on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/michael.kingswood
Or on Twitter - http://twitter.com/michaelkingswd

Sign up for my newsletter to receive notifications of new releases (guaranteed spam-free) - http://www.michaelkingswood.com/newsletter-signup/

Support Me On Patreon - https://www.patreon.com/michaelkingswood

Finally, here are my various wallets if you just want to give me a tip.

BTC - 1JbEz6gXM2jQSqMNkECfnA18XN31Q2t8h2
ETH - 0xcbf16a75f0de8d089011de5ca4d3e08e5527684e
LTC - LZzcqyw8h5TQ5JPyuSs3kZc9aRC7ojz51v
DSH - Xdf1jpwR5nj95MEMvAye7f4T9RPehwS3Ww
ZEC - t1f4SsfdpeC43mSYfrLSfEamoFqK4odW2KQ

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @michaelkingswood to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57396.91
ETH 2446.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41