What Lurks Between - A SciFi Horror Novella - Part Four

in #fiction7 years ago

Part Four of the story!

We rejoin Barry as he's lounging on his couch with the bunny that jumped out of his lunchbox, and he's just learned that the space station he had been working on has been destroyed. So how did he get home?

Then the bunny started acting weird...

Artwork copyright Revensis and Mikhail Matsonashvili, licensed through Dreamstine

What Lurks Between - Part Four

This was no ordinary rabbit.

It crouched there on the sofa cushions, staring right back at me. Its irises, which before were albino pink, were now blood red, and its pupils were slits. Its ears were stiffer, their tips more pointed and also tinged with red. I became aware of something digging into my thigh through my pants and slid away. The thing’s right front paw dropped down onto the cushion, leaving three little puncture wounds in my leg from long, sharp claws.

Run! Get up and run, jackass!

I felt like I was screaming that at myself, but I could not make my muscles respond. The best I could do was push as far away from it as I could, right up to the edge of the couch.

The thing just stared at me for a second. Then its lips drew back into a vicious little grin.

It had big, sharp, pointy teeth.

My muscles finally obeyed my mind’s frantic pleas, and I bolted. I was off the couch in a heartbeat and heading toward the door. But the thing was faster. It snarled - a much louder snarl than I would have thought it capable of - and a second later it landed on my upper back, between my shoulder blades.

Pain flared from a dozen locations as the claws at the ends of its paws dug in. I thrashed around to try to get it off. Then a new, more intense pain came from the side of my neck.

I passed out.

*****

Previous Posts:

  1. Part One
  2. Part Two
  3. Part Three

If you like what you've read so far please go to where it's sold and leave a good review on it, and then buy a copy (I am a professional and like to be paid).

Visit My Website - http://michaelkingswood.com
Say Hi on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/michael.kingswood
Or on Twitter - http://twitter.com/michaelkingswd

Sign up for my newsletter to receive notifications of new releases (guaranteed spam-free) - http://www.michaelkingswood.com/newsletter-signup/

Support Me On Patreon - https://www.patreon.com/michaelkingswood

Finally, here are my various wallets if you just want to give me a tip.

BTC - 1JbEz6gXM2jQSqMNkECfnA18XN31Q2t8h2
ETH - 0xcbf16a75f0de8d089011de5ca4d3e08e5527684e
LTC - LZzcqyw8h5TQ5JPyuSs3kZc9aRC7ojz51v
DSH - Xdf1jpwR5nj95MEMvAye7f4T9RPehwS3Ww
ZEC - t1f4SsfdpeC43mSYfrLSfEamoFqK4odW2KQ

Sort:  

Noooo! Don't leave me hanging like this!

Muhahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @michaelkingswood to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61409.80
ETH 3378.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51