A day in the future: “buying emotions as Christmas gifts”

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

"A day in the future” is a series of posts about fictional and "mundane" conversations people will have in the future. The goal for me here is to present futurists day to day interactions from a human point of view.

emotion1.jpg

capture.png

On Christmas Day of 2099, a visit between 2 remotes and totally virtual entities occurs.

One of them, “Jennifer” is having a difficult time this Christmas and is looking for ways to re-experience her favorite moment.


-Gaby (virtual store assistant): hello, my name is Gaby and welcome to Gabytion, the #1 store to find the best Emotions and Feelings! How can I help you today?

-Jennifer (a customer): hello Gabby, today I woke up remembering my first kiss when I was a teenager, long before I transhumanized me, I was still a virgin and I had an experience I never hag again.

2 teenagers in love

-Gaby: I assume you want to experience a similar feeling like the one you had that time?

-Jennifer: Yes! The closest experience possible! I always wanted to relive that feeling of innocence, that moment when I thought my heart would come out of my chest.

-Gaby: may I recommend you something? Or would you prefer to choose yourself from our menu?

-Jennifer: Yes! Do you have something in mind?

-Gaby: as a matter of fact I do! I have something new, extracted from a woman’s consciousness a few days ago, an experience that let me tell you, not only will your heart go out, but even your tears, virtually or not.

-Jennifer: tell me more about it!

capture.png

A family on the beach

-Gaby: it’s the experience of a young gal that went to the beach with her family when she was around 16 years old and there she met a young fellow of about the same age. They liked each other’s and they were both really nervous, there was a moment in which they were alone on the beach, both listening to the waves of the sea and looking at the sky. Eventually he touches her hand and she went red as a tomato since she was really shy, but he was also kind of nervous.

In this same moment they looked at each other eyes while the seagulls went flying ahead, and just as one of the waves kindly touched their feet, he gently placed his hand on her neck and laid her on the sand...

I won’t tell you more, because the kiss was even better than any romantic movie you have ever watch.

capture.png

-Jennifer: woooow, that certainly sounds very good. And how much does this experience costs?

Memorable moment

-Gaby: well, according to your shopping history with us, this experience will cost you 50% more than the last time. But I promised you, it’s worth it. What you will feel is priceless.

-Jennifer: what about secondary effects? I don’t want to spend the rest of my life suffering for a love that wasn’t even mine nor real.

-Gaby: well that’s the best part! This experience has a happy ending. And if you wish, you can buy the whole series. This woman has had a great life, full of incredible and enriching experiences. And worst case scenario, you can but the antidote.

-Jennifer: antidote?!

-Gaby: of course! If after a few days you think this feeling is too much for you. For a little bit more credit you can buy the antidote which consists on a software that replaces this experiences for a more generic and easy to forget one.

-Jennifer: all right then! Send me this experience right now because I want to implant it as soon as possible! This is going to be the perfect Christmas gift for myself!


Today we can see a lot of vloggers monetizing their experiences using videos. Do you think in the future monetizing experiences this way will be possible?


Images sources:
1 2 3 4

capture.png


Does money make us happy?


A day in the future: “2 places at the same time”


dtube video about Managing notifications on iOS using Steemify


Facing our fears


Why I am grateful for steemit


Which came first between the chicken or the egg? I say, the chicken!


“Shrinkflation”: selling less product for the same price


My typical Christmas food: The “Hallaca”


Announcement: Hellywood.com just launched. A voice for Hollywood victims

final banner.JPG

Sort:  

Great work @dedicatedguy ! Have you watched the Black Mirror Series?

Of course! One of my favorites series! What’s your favorite episode? Mine is San Junipero, although it has an ugly name hahahah

Mine's the Social Media one... I always hated the hypocrisy behind all those so-called 'social apps' we have... Pretentious people everywhere being nice for the sake of being nice... Hollow emotions inside but good looking manufactured expressions on the outside... Fake compliments, obsession over meaningless likes and the ever-increasing disconnection with the real world... It's a serious issue. That's why I rarely use those apps. I'm currently writing a blog post about it and I'll post here soon. I find Quora and Steemit to be my home because I'll be constantly increasing my knowledge base and participating in meaningful discussions with intellectuals when I'm here. The level of fakeness and hypocrisy is a bit low here on Steemit and Quora.

And I asked you the question because I believe your story can easily find the way to the Black Mirror series :D Connect with the show creators... Who knows they might hire you for the next episode?

You know what that sounds very ambitious. I will research about how can I send them this post and see what happens. Thanks!

Good luck brother! :)A wise man oce said, "The probability of Success is determined by the amount of uncomfortable conversations you're willing to have" :)

Woah... that's a freaky thought. I'm still trying to decide if it'll be a good or bad thing!

Anyway, great conversation. Might be sci-fi, but it still reeks of real (maybe because of the Virtual Assistant's marketing methods!).
One last thing... you aren't really a time traveller from the future presenting your experiences as fiction are you? 'Cause that would be dope. :D

Nice Post!

Thanks! I am glad you like it!

About your last question, well... what do you think?

The possibility of returning in time in order to get on the steemit train because the first time I missed it might be quite real! Or not?...

Hmm. You know, that sounds like a great prompt for a new series! :D

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

very well narrating

Thanks I am glad you like it

Very creative. At the rate we are going I am not surprised that we will be able to do something like this in the future, maybe not in our lifetime but I am sure it's really possible and not far fetched.

Exactly, since technology increases at an exponential rate, I believe we will achieve something similar to this

Well crafted. I dont think it will be possible anytime soon. I enjoyed the story

Who knows, perhaps it will be possible by the end of the century.

That ugly taste of a dystopian future...
I never like the idea that the human specie will lose emotional dimension by simply advancing in every other aspect.
I believe in other kind of a scenario.

I don’t think we will lose any emotional dimension, in fact, I believe in the future we will expand our range of emotions and be able to appreciate new ways of art that haven’t been created yet.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dedicatedguy to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66