My typical Christmas food: The “Hallaca”

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemians!

Today since it’s Christmas Eve I wanted to show you what is the typical Christmas food in my country!

cena vnzl.jpg

capture.png

Jam Bread
Here we have several meals around this date, which usually consists on jam bread stuffed with olive and raisins when baked, chicken salad, turkey slides or baked ham, and the most important one, called the “Hallaca” which is the one I would like to talk about because I am sure not many of you know about this meal.

This days the Hallaca is always the protagonist in Venezuela’s family dinner and it has a lot of influence from the original indigenous people on this land.

Chicken Salad with potatoes, carrots and mayonnaise

Arturo Uslar Pietri said:

it’s like a compendium of the miscegenation process that occurred in this land. Some ingredients are raisins and olive from the Romans and Greeks, caper from the Arabs, meat from the Spanish, and finally corn and banana leaf from the indigenous people.

The Hallaca is basically prepared cornmeal filled with what’s is colloquially called “Hallaca’s broth” which consists on mostly meat and sometimes chicken, along with the ingredients already mentioned before. Every family usually have their own touch and twists, adding secret family sauces for example or making an unique combination of condiments , but essentially an “Hallaca” is always the same.

Hallaca’s broth

The meal itself is presented at the table wrapped with banana leaf tightly tied.

So sometimes eating an Hallaca feels like opening up a present because you have to unwrapped it!

The actual process from start to finish is very slow because the banana leaf need to be cut and prepared with olive oil, the same goes to the cornmeal, and the Hallaca broth needs to be cooked which takes a lot of time because it’s always a lot of food in order to fill out all the Hallacas. Apart from this, once the Hallaca is finished and it’s all tied inside the banana leaf, it need to spend about 1 hour in boiling water. And only then The Hallaca is finished. This is why a lot of families tend to get together when making this meal in order to work as a team covering all the part of the process and be more efficient when doing it.

Wrapped and unwrapped Hallaca

The final results are always worth the effort with its unique mixture of flavors, and since this meal is only common on Christmas, people start to link together eating Hallacas with enjoying a good mood and having a nice time with our loved ones.

capture.png


This last 2 pics are my family dinner table with our typical food



What do you think of the Hallaca? Have you ever taste one? Would you like to? And what’s the typical Christmas food in your home?

Cheers and Merry Christmas for all Steemians!!

Image sources
1 2 3 4 5

capture.png

Laziness helps innovation to thrive


My entry to Santagroed- Christmas Scavenger Hunt


Does money make us happy?


A day in the future: “2 places at the same time”


dtube video about Managing notifications on iOS using Steemify


Facing our fears


Why I am grateful for steemit


Which came first between the chicken or the egg? I say, the chicken!


“Shrinkflation”: selling less product for the same price

final banner.JPG

Sort:  

That is pretty impressive. I would like an idiot-proof or foolproof recipe. Not that I am not very intelligent but we have this dumbing agent called eggnog around here.....

Sure thing! Would you like me to post the Hallaca recipe?

Yeahs! I cook a lot of different stuff. Next big dish after today, Sauerbraten with beerbread dumplings...

I will always keep saying , Steemit feed me daily with knowledge. I'm so delighted of know about the recipe common during this festive period at Venezuela ..... I just have a feeling i should pay a visit to Venezuela and have a taste of this amazing recipe you have just shared

Thanks! Since right now there are a lot of Venezuelans living abroad I am sure you could find some of us in your city! A lot of Venezuelans end up opening restaurants about our typical food.

Woah, I can't wait to visit everyone I meet from steemit eventually...my motivation is half to meet everyone and half for the food!

Hahahaha well bro make sure to meet a Venezuelan so you can enjoy yourself a good Hallaca!

I have a a few more here! 😛

What’s your typical Christmas food?

I'll tell you in discord once I get back in there. I wasn't kicked out, I need to find a password haha

Wow - it looks like a lot of work and I'm sure worth the effort! Happy holidays from Boston Massachusetts.

It is, but the taste is incredible! Happy holidays from Venezuela!

I’ve decided that next year I’m coming to eat at your place. That bread stuffed with cheese looks Devine!

I am glad you liked the pics! And you are more than welcome to come! Cheers

I have never tasted any of those foods! I would love to try them all. Merry Christmas to you! #steemitbloggers

I am glad you like them! Merry Christmas to you too! 🎆 🎄

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 02:58:39
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 6.10/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Merry Christmas - have an upvote!

Heyy! Thank you man! 🙏

Hi @dedicatedguy, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Heyy! Thank you so much!! I am happy you liked the food pics!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dedicatedguy to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.33
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66