A day in the future: “2 places at the same time”

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

”A day in the future” will be a series of posts about fictional and "mundane" conversations people will have in the future. The goal for me here is to present futurists day to day interactions from a human point of view.

Cloning.jpg

Source

capture.png

In a not so distant future

2 friends are chatting about what they are going to do that night


-Charles Jones: ... and don’t worry Melanie, I will be in the concert even if I have to split myself in 2

-Melanie: I hope so! Talk to you later xoxo

-Charles Jones (minutes later): hey what’s up Tom! I didn’t expect you!

-Tom: you didn’t expect me? You know I am working a lot in my TomFest and I really need you dude, a lot of fans are asking for you to show up in the concert

-Charles Jones: sure thing bro when do you need me?

-Tom (smiling): I need you tonight!

-Charles Jones: tonight! I have another compromise tonight and you know I am not the biggest fan of that weird multitasking thing

-Tom: brother you know I love you like a brother right? And today is my birthday, it would make me sooo happy if you could just go and spend some with us.

-Charles Jones: man you really know how to convince people... wait for me there I will go. You owe me!

capture.png

Charles Jones (at night): all right, well I have no way out of this... HAL initiate neuro-synthetic cloning process. I want just 1 copy.

HAL (an artificial intelligence): initiating process, please confirm conscience deactivation code

Charles Jones: confirmed code, see you in a bit

HAL (a little while later): hello, cloning process finished.

Charles: excellent

Jones: excellent

Charles (looking at Jones and excited): holy sht! I do this 100 times and 100 times I got excited!

Jones (looking at Charles): WTF! I was gonna say the same thing

Charles: well brother we know what we need to do, I go and spend the night with Melanie and you go with Tom

Jones: take care! Remember you are me!

capture.png

Charles (next morning): heyy how was your night? I had a great time! We played music until dawn!

Jones: I also had a great time bro! As you know, Tom is quite a character we played until there mas no one else at the party hahaha

Charles: AWESOME! I want to feel that experience now!

Jones: and I want to feel yours! Let’s start the fusion process right now! HAL initiate fusion process of 2 neuro-synthetic instances into one

HAL: initiated process, please confirm conscience deactivation code

Charles: confirmed code

Jones: confirmed code

HAL (a while later): hello, fusion process finished

Charles Jones (talking to himself): I am sure if I could travel back to the 2000s and tell people this will be possible in the future, they would call me crazy and put me inside of a mental hospital!!


Do you think in the future an interaction like this would be possible?

Would you like it?

Second image source
Third image source
Last image source

capture.png

Cultural myths and taboos of modern society. Part 1


Cultural myths and taboos of modern society. Part 2


My 2017: Achievements and Failures on a crumbling Venezuela


Cultural myths and taboos of modern society. Part 3


Laziness helps innovation to thrive


My entry to Santagroed- Christmas Scavenger Hunt


A day in the future: “getting that pizza from the TV”


Does money make us happy?


dtube video about Managing notifications on iOS using Steemify


Facing our fears


EFCDB1A3-8C25-489C-B28F-EF9BC8C3CFF0.jpeg

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Delegate/donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: Bye bye 25+ and 50+! Welcome 20+ 40+ and 60+!

Quality review from the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 90%.

Congratulations for your excellent work!


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Organization and coherence
- Personal sense of the text (Logic, complexity, understanding, what makes it interesting for the reader)

Very interesting write! If it was possible, there is no counting how many times I would split myself to be more productive and to be able to experience so many different things I am now not able to try in a single bent on sustaining oneself lifetime!

The future has a lot of surprises for us!

And of course being more productive would be another good reason to “split” ourselfs.

Although things like the one I describe here could have psychological implications I am planning to discuss on another post.

mentally, perhaps...
the biological part would be messy.

When we reach technological singularity things will improve even faster than today’s. Much faster.

In order for this story to be possible, Charles Jones would need to be a synthetic human, not a biological one like us.

I hear what you are saying
BUT
the definition of technological singularity (or any kind of singularity)
is that it's impossible to predict what happens after that point.

It’s true, it’s just speculation because we cannot know for sure. I see this as entertainment and food for thoughts

Speculative Fiction is the vaccine against Future Shock.

Interesting point of view you have there

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dedicatedguy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dedicatedguy to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

haha the clones conversation was funny

I am glad you like it I have made more posts like this btw!

Maybe it would be funny. Good story.

interesting, you're a good narrator :)) I want something more like that ;P

Sure thing buddy! I will be posting more stories like that!

This is a cool idea.

Yes the possibilities of this technology are incredible... for now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62261.29
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56