Guest house: Not Ready to Compete - Part 12

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)


Image by Pixabay



I asked Yusuf for help in finding a new lodging in a tourist area. My wishes is truly recreation when traveling on Marina Island. If we find lodging in the tourist area, then I will cancel the intention to return to Aceh.

It's been a few days on the island of Marina we have not enjoyed a real vacation. I wish our visit to the Marina was worth it. Yusuf recommends lodging in District 2. I agree with Yusuf's proposal because the most important thing for me is to make happy children and wives.

While Habibah condition has gradually improved. Only Engku whose condition is still unconscious. I hope he will recover soon.

09:00 PM. The nurse has removed all the IV lines in Habibah's hands. I saw my daughter who looked cheerful. My wife was seen accompanying Habibah in the ER.

Yusuf decided to leaving immediately to District 2 that too night. While Engku's mother was still sitting with me in the waiting room. My son is already asleep in my lap. He may be tired and also tired of being in the hospital all day.

My eyes feel heavy. It is impossible to drive a car with this condition. I resigned though I really hope Yusuf does not linger in District 2.

"Uwi..wi ... wi ..." From the distance came the sound of car sirens. I assumed it was an ambulance that brought new patients. The siren then sounded closer. Red and blue light reflected through the glass door of the ER. A man in blue uniform opened the door. Behind him then two other men in casual shirts. They bowed their heads down. Then came the other five men behind two drunks. They also use blue uniforms. One of the drunken men glanced at me.

"Good night, please take care of them," said one of the blue-uniformed men to the guard at the hospital.

A man dressed in white nodded. He then pointed to the ER room. Five men in blue uniforms were seen guarding the two drunken gangsters into the room. Two of them then came out and stood in front of the ER door.

I lifted my son's head from his lap slowly. Then I begged Engku mother to take care of my son, "just for a moment, Mom, I want to see the policeman."

"Yes, leave it to me."

I got up from the waiting room chair and approached a policeman at the nurse's desk. "Good night, sir."

"Yes, good night. Oh, you were man at Marina Bay?"

"Yes sir, I just want to say hello to see you guys."

"Yes, let's sit down. I forgot you were going to the hospital. How are your daughters now?"

"My daughter is getting better, we will to go home, but waiting for her condition to be really fit."

"In that case, thank God."

Then I told him that Engku was also treated at the hospital. But the condition of Engku is still not stable, because of the puncture wounds of the robbers. I also told his about Engku family's wish to report the incident to the police station tomorrow.

"Yes, no problem, tomorrow we'll get that thing done The most important thing is to save the life of the victim, Oya, my name is Ricky, I'm in the criminal division."

Me and Captain Ricky talked a lot of issue in Marina. This hefty police officer also complained about the social conditions of the people in Marina. In fact, according to Ricky, Marina is currently being heavily-incessantly visited by foreign tourists.

Captain Ricky said social turmoil was most felt when the tourist spots in Marina were dominated by foreign investors. "Economic income in this region has no effect on the local population. This factor is what triggers the rampant criminal amidst the stretch of tourism. Our society is not ready to compete with migrants," Ricky said.

He also recounted the conditions of local residents who lost jobs simply because their culture is different from the wishes of investors. Moreover, the average local people used to work as fishermen.

"Many residents do not understand how to manage tourism assets properly. So many interesting tourist locations here changed hands to foreign parties. We also do not get capital support from the government. So, yes this is the case. Many local youths who do not have the skills and insight then vent their resentment by being drunks, robbers and some who become drugs couriers. Their target, the tourists of course."

Ricky says Engku is a local resident who became the first case of robbery. He suspected this robbery of Engku because the long-haired man's gang was so urgent. "I'm sure you're the main target, I'm sorry, I'm not scaring you're, but this fact," Ricky said.

Ricky said there had been no tourists who rented Marina Bay because of it. Moreover, according to Ricky, the port authority always recommends District 2 as a tourist area that is friendly to foreign tourists. "I do not know why you can get lost in Marina Bay."

I smiled at Captain Ricky's explanation. In my heart I admit the mistake of not hearing Yusuf's suggestion. In fact, Yusuf has long lived in this country even though he lives on the mainland. "I was forced to rent Marina Bay because the lodging in District 2 is full."

"Yes, maybe this summer so many tourists visiting here," Ricky said.

Ricky then asked my plan after a series of events that happened to us. I explained that I would look for a new lodging in District 2. "If the local government does not mind I want to visit District 2. That is, if this day problem did not get us kicked out of Marina."

"Hahaha ... Of course not, maybe they're unlucky to deal with tourists like you. I assure you, you can still spend time traveling at the Marina."

I smiled at Ricky's explanation. As a police officer, Ricky does look fast familiar with strangers like me. I then said goodbye to Ricky to return to waiting my daughter with my son.

9:30 PM. My daughter has been permits go back from the hospital. We all packed up and asked permission to Engku's mother. I promise this old lady will come back to looking Engku at the hospital.

"After getting the lodging in District 2, we will definitely come back here and now my wife and I have to go back to Marina Bay for packing," said me to Engku mother.

"Yes, be careful on the road, do not look for trouble, take good care of your child."

"Yes mom, give our regards to Engku's wife Please tell her we will come back to see Engku. Yusuf so will back to the hospital in a few moments."



"Deungoe hai aneuk meutuwah/Wasiet di ayah keu bijeh mata/Deungoe hai aneuk meutuwah/Wasiet di ayah keu bijeh mata//Kadang Aneuk tanyoe meupisah/Bek tuwo ayah lam doa gata/ Kadang Aneuk tanyoe meupisah/Bek tuwo ayah lam doa gata//Hudeep hai aneuk umpama leumpo/Maken siuroe ho to ngon jaga/Bek salah langkah hai aneuk/Tajak di Bumoe hai sayang/Meurana dudoe di Yaumil Masya..."

This Aceh song accompanied our journey on the way back to Marina Bay. I deliberately chose this song to calm my children in the car. This is a song belonging to Rafly Kande, who is now an Aceh senator for Jakarta.

The song is about advice to keep children always remembering the figure of a father. The lyrics of this Acehnese song also advise children not to choose the wrong step in achieving their desires. I deliberately brought along all the local Aceh songs to Marina for the family to feel comfortable. Especially for my childrens who travel far like this.

Our trip almost reached Marina Bay when my cell phone rang. I saw the phone screen with the name Yusuf. "Maybe he has a lodging location in District 2," said me to my wife.

"Aaminn..."

I sped up faster to get to the lodge. From a distance, the dim light of the inn's verandah was visible. I am relieved to have managed to drive well in conditions that are not prime.

"This we're. Hopefully tonight we'll be fine."

My wife got out of the car with our daughter. He hurried to open the door of the inn. While I make sure the machine dies, and holds my son.

"What is this? Astaghfirullah." I heard my wife's voice. I hurried to the inn door and was surprised to see the porch floor open. [] (to be continue...)



This story is just fiction. The similarity of names, places, institutions and stories is a mere coincidence. This is the first fiction I'm writing and immediately publish it in steemit. I hope the criticism and suggestions related to the storyline and editing of writing in this fiction, to be better in the next section. (Author: Boy Nashruddin/@boynashruddin)


Read more:



THANK YOU FOR READING MY POST


Sort:  

I lifted my son's head from his lap slowly. Then I begged Engku mother to take care of my son, "just for a moment, Mom, I want to see the policeman."

Thank you for reading my post

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69