What are Fiberartists?

in #fiberartists6 years ago (edited)

UPDATE: The Criteria to be included in the #Fiberartists curation can be found here

In my humble opinion a Fiberartist is someone who takes materials and transforms them into something. One lady, who takes lengths of rope and knots them into shapes asked if she would qualify. YES!! She certainly would.

Fiberarts are typically thought of as needle arts but I believe the label encompasses so much more. The very old, historical fiberarts such as spinning, carding, tatting, embroidery, weaving, crochet, knitting, sewing, bobbin lace, rug making, basketry, macrame, and I'm sure there are many I am missing but you get the idea. These art forms need to be revived and preserved. I'm so happy to see that people are starting to ressurect the beautiful forms of fiberart. Many are putting their own twists of creativity to them and many are purist who want to preserve the exact art.

My good friend gave me a book about Estonian lace and a wonderful soft ball of lace weight wool. It was white. She feels that it's important to preserve the old art of Estonian lace and it is typically knit with white wool. I do agree with her but..... I'm also a person who like to experiment.

With access to amazing "fibers" from all over the world, many old arts are coming back as new again. If what you are working with was once a plant, or the coat of an animal, you are probably a Fiberartist. If you are working with materials that mimic once being a plant, or the coat of an animal, you are probably a Fiberartist.

For example: The lady who ties interesting knots with rope uses polyester rope. Is she a Fiberartist? Yes! She is using an item that mimics its ancestor's natural fiber rope. Oh and yes! Paper is fiber.

With all of the new, interesting materials our technology has led us to produce, we are seeing more and more "New" fiberarts being built upon the foundations of their ancestors art.

So now that you know what a Fiberartist is I hope you will join along with me as I try to create a community for us to meet, share, support and enjoy each other's eye candy.

My first step to achieve this will be a curation of Fiberartists on Steem. If you'd like to accompany this curation trail add the tag "#fiberartists" to your post. I'm going to start with five of the best posts I find but will expand as I get the hang of curating.

My second step is setting up a place for us to meet on Discord. If you are new to Steem, Discord is software that allows you to chat, both text and voice, within many Steem communities. Come chat and meet other Fiberartists. Join in the Steemit Ramble. Scroll down the list on the left and click on "Fiber - General Chat"

GLSPXbz.jpg

Sort:  

I grew up knowing the basics of carding and spinning wool. I know the basic process for flax, although I've never done it beyond a hetchel and flax brake. I've sat at an old loom a few times and thrown the shuttle, but I can't really weave. I know a real weaver. My parents collect old textiles and the tools that make them. I don't know as much today--except my rope and knot work.... and crocheting rugs out of rags. I will try to remember you when someday I make a post about my rug work. I've planned a series of how-tos but I just always seem to have too much to do to get my brain around things... My to-do list is usually about two miles long.

Now my mother... she can spin. And she knits and felts and stuff. I have a hat she made me that includes some of her handspun wool from when we had sheep ourselves when I was a kid.

You are a wealth in information! Thanks for dropping by.....you may find me pestering you occasionally. GRIN I hope you get the time to share.

You're welcome to. I will TRY to remember to visit your channels on the Ramble server occasionally!

I have been lucky to meet wonderful fiberartists/scientists here @fiberartists... I write also scientists because you often need to know a lot about fiber behaviour and reactions when doing dyeing... pop over to @luthvarian to see what I mean...

Personally I am an experimenter. Over the years I tried many techniques (: macrame, felting, crocheting, knitting, sewing, machine knitting, spinning). This has helped me appreciate the heritage value of techniques and the importance of passing them on even at a complete amateur level (like mine)...

I have included your tag this week in my post because I support initiatives that promote the networking of people with similar interests and also that provide a platform those who seek advice.

Thanks for sharing! I actually found @luthvarian and am enjoying her posts very much. I look forward to getting to know you as well. I'm so excited!

You are right - it is excellent to see people bring back the fiber arts and even put their own spin on them! I’ll have to check you all out!

I sure I hope you will! Thanks for support.

Hello @fiberartists! It’s always great to meet another craft lover! The things you mentioned above are exactly the reason I wanted to start a crafting community. I wanted us to get together and share our work and inspire each other with patterns, tips, advice etc. At first I thought about just doing a crochet group since that’s what my specialty is but then I knew it would be even better having a variety of needlearts to come together and just share...thus #NeedleWorkMonday was born! We get together every Monday to share, mingle and support each other’s work. I know you are already aware of the tag because you used it for this post! 😉👍🏽

I looked further into what a fiber artist is to see how it differs from just needlework. From my understanding this can include anyone that manipulates material/fabric of any kind, meaning it doesn’t have to involve a needle. I think this will be another great addition to the crafting community and will allow even more types of crafters to get involved and share their skills.

So are you starting a curation trail where others give you their posting key and the posts you upvote they automatically upvote? Or are you just asking we add your fiberartists tag to our posts so that you can find us to curate our posts? I just want to be clear on that.

Also I noticed that you are new here to Steemit. If you don’t mind me suggesting, you would probably get more support and more Steemicans on board with you after you do an introductory post for verification purposes. It’s good for people to get a feel for who you are as a person especially if you are trying to start something new and take on a leadership role.

Thank you for introducing the idea to us and I’ll be seeing you around :)

Thanks for you support!! You do beautiful work.

I'm actually not as you new as it looks. My sister, @shadowspub has been "pushing" me for some time to get more involved so we created this @fiberartists account for curation. You will see a gap in my posting, I took a break during my husband's surgeries. But all is good now.

You make a good point about an introduction post. If you'd like to see more about me hop over to @artemisnorth. That's me too! I will however add an intro post for this account.

Yesterday I set up a curation trail called Fiberartists and am just creating the graphic to go with it so that we can support each other that way as well. There is so much to do!

Are you on Discord? We are setting up a discord channel on my sister's server as well. I hope to chat with you.

Thank you I really appreciate the compliment! Oh cool I do know who you are, I am following you! I remember seeing your knitted work back when I first joined and I started to follow you a little while after. It’s good to see you are back and I hope your husband is recovering well.

I love the passion that you have for the fiber arts and that would be great if we all supported each other. Yes I am on Discord so I will find time to get on there to chat with you! 😉

OH! I just discovered what my sister has been up this morning. She re-introduced me..LOL.

https://steemit.com/ians/@shadowspub/ians-welcoming-back-the-prodigal-sister-to-steemit

true enough sis... can't get much more verified than someone who has known you since you were born ... great work.

Awesome I’ll go and check it out! 👌🏽

Congratulations @fiberartists, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61008.54
ETH 2713.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44