You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What are Fiberartists?

in #fiberartists6 years ago

I grew up knowing the basics of carding and spinning wool. I know the basic process for flax, although I've never done it beyond a hetchel and flax brake. I've sat at an old loom a few times and thrown the shuttle, but I can't really weave. I know a real weaver. My parents collect old textiles and the tools that make them. I don't know as much today--except my rope and knot work.... and crocheting rugs out of rags. I will try to remember you when someday I make a post about my rug work. I've planned a series of how-tos but I just always seem to have too much to do to get my brain around things... My to-do list is usually about two miles long.

Now my mother... she can spin. And she knits and felts and stuff. I have a hat she made me that includes some of her handspun wool from when we had sheep ourselves when I was a kid.

Sort:  

You are a wealth in information! Thanks for dropping by.....you may find me pestering you occasionally. GRIN I hope you get the time to share.

You're welcome to. I will TRY to remember to visit your channels on the Ramble server occasionally!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60871.89
ETH 2724.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43