Criteria for Being Included in the #Fiberartists Curation

in #fiberartists6 years ago (edited)

I've been surfing around Steem for many hours and am just now, slowly realizing what an endeavor I've undertaken.

It's quite hard to find recent, quality posts to share with you. Either the post is all pictures with few words or the words don't really say much and/or no pictures.

One post in particular was so disappointing. The person was in India, photographing fiber artists embroidering sarri's. Beautiful, bright colors and stitches. All photos and few words. This person was right there.... I wanted to know more. What did you smell? Were you near a market where you could smell spices and such? What did you hear? Any good stories or information from the locals? I wanted to share the author's experience.

There is a lot of older, good quality posts but the purpose of the curation is to find the best, current posts and help promote them. A "Thank You for your Effort" kind of thing. So I'm torn.

As a person who is addicted to online patterns and technique tutorials, I just can't ignore that this treasure exists. So I won't! When I find good quality, older posts I will share them in the hopes we can all just enjoy them. I haven't decided exactly how yet but it's in the works.

=== Criteria to be included in the #Fiberartists Curation: ===

#1 A nice balance between pictures or graphics and words.

I love to see but I also like to know what your senses are experiencing. Share the whole picture. Was the material soft or scratchy? Warm or Cold? Were you frustrated or inspired? How long do you think you worked on your project or pondered your dilemma? What do you think of your efforts?

The pictures or graphics need to be your own! If they aren't, please credit the creator. If I find content that I know is not yours and it's been stolen I will report it to @steemcleaners.

#2 Is it easy to read?

Spelling and grammar are important. Run on sentences and overly long paragraphs are distracting. We all make mistakes but sometimes there are just too many to overlook.

Simply because my sister, @shadowspub, states it perfectly, with her permission, I've borrowed her words:

Content

Having pulled me past the headline into the post there are several factors which will keep me there or lead me to click on to the next in line.

Formatting

The goal is to make the post a pleasant experience for your reader. You don’t want them to be so irritated at navigating your sloppy formatting they just give up when you may have had some really good content.

Reading is for pleasure, don’t torture your reader in any manner. As a curator, I’m one of your readers.

Text Alignment

In most cases, your text should be left-aligned. There are times that you’ll want to center text. Like for example, formatting poetry or lyrics. If you present me with paragraphs of centered text, I’ll move on. It’s irritating trying to read centered text.

Paragraphs

What I was taught in school was to use a paragraph to present a related argument. In the days of reading only on paper, that would work. The eyes reading on a screen are not so comfortable with large paragraphs of text.

For reading on a screen, you should adopt what the newspapers tend to do. Short paragraphs that draw the reader through the article. Don’t do a paragraph per sentence, that just gets annoying

Long blocks of text is annoying to read on the screen. The writing has to be extraordinary to hold my attention. Most posts with long blocks of texts aka long paragraphs, rarely, if ever hold my attention.

White Space

White space on the screen is your friend. If you’ve already conquered the concept of left aligned text and short relevant paragraphs, make sure you put a blank line between those paragraphs. The momentary break from text actually is easier on the eyes.

I know that for some of you English is your second language. I will take that into consideration.

#3 Is it Fiberarts related?

In my last post, What are Fiberartists? I defined what I include as Fiberarts. There's more involved in quality posting than just our projects. Sometimes I may share a #fiberarts related photography post or a "how-to" for anything else related to the tools of the our trade.

Thanks in advance for sharing your adventures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61008.54
ETH 2713.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44