Fiber Ramble #4

in #fiberartists6 years ago (edited)


** UPDATE: the video is online.

This week's Creatives' Coffee Hour was fun! Unfortunately, I couldn't upload the video that @shadowspub made of the session. Youtube called it "invalid"...I almost made a joke about that but in light of the horrific events that occurred there this week I will just offer "Hugs".

We talked about how we started in our various crafts, shared pictures and posts of our work and had a few laughs. Thanks to @zen-art, @ivan-g, @sgt-dan, @warpedpoetic and @apanamamama for joining us. And a special thanks to @shadowspub for her tech support. So please watch the post and enjoy with us.

This weekend I'm focusing on getting all the sweater pieces completed. That darn raglan decrease! Next Wednesday I'm going to a good friend's house to block it. While I'm there I'm going to take pictures of her needle collection and share her reviews of them. I'm not exaggerating when I say she has every good quality set out there, including a square set. Wait until you see them!


Onward to today’s rambling

How to Participate in Discord Voice Channels: A Step-by-Step Guide

@ethandsmith has written a detailed tutorial to help people to get onto Discord. While it's not fiber related it's helpful if you are encountering trouble, or don't know how to use Discord. While you are on his blog check out his series of Steem tutorials. I believe he is working towards compiling a Steem manual. Thanks for your hard work and your help @ethandsmith. We Plankton appreciate it. (Yes... I did re-steem it but I think it's a very important article) So no excuses, discover the Discord "multi-verse" and get involved.

Lamenting the cost of doing business, and who do you do business with? Happy #NeedleworkMonday!

@mtnmeadowmomma is at again, giving us food for thought when it comes to selling our creations. She has done her homework and the numbers are quite eye opening. Thanks @mtnmeadowmomma.

Puppet Making, Part 1: Forming Bean's Foam Body & Head (Mommy Monday)

@byn has started a series to show us how to make a monkey puppet. I can't wait for the next segment! I've never seen how those puppets at the shows are made. I may have to try my hand at one. Thanks @byn!

Crochet & Hand Sewing Project For Beginners!

@tonicraftshow has created a video showing beginners how to make teething rings from wooden rings (boiled) and either yarn or material. Check it out and see what you think. Thanks @tonicraftshow.

Filet crochet - tutorial

@ivan-g has taken his new found love of filet crochet and shared with us his knowledge of how to create our own patterns! Thanks @ivan-g. Give this guy some love.

Sometimes You Gotta Mend

@redbone has shared with us her thoughts about mending and some history to go with it. She's right. Mending is a must do. I personally had to bite the bullet and either learn to darn or watch my hand knit socks go to waste. What are your thoughts? Thanks @redbone

How to Put a Straps on a Crochet Bikini Without Sewing - Alodia's Crochet Quick Photo Tutorial

@xorexman, as usual, has shared another quality post. It's hard not to curate this woman. @xorexman has been working on some bikinis! In this post she shows to add the straps. hint if you want to see more about her bikinis look at her previous posts. Thanks again @xorexman. Let's show this busy lady some love.

Market Friday - Yarn Shopping

@icybc scored some deals at the thriftstore with exciting projects in mind. Her FIRST GRANDCHILD! She also shows us some of her beautiful creations. Congratulations @icybc. Let's show this lady some love. I look forward to seeing her new creations.


Join the Fiberartists Curation Trail

If you’d like to be part of supporting the posts that I curate, you can join my curation trail. What that means is if you are part of the trail, when I vote on a quality post, your votes will automatically follow me. The trail name is Fiberartists.

You’ll need to sign up at SteemAutoand I’d recommend you use SteemConnect when asked to give voting rights. That makes sure your keys are safe.

Once registered, the link to the curation trail is right here. You can set the percentage of vote you wish to use in the settings once you join the trail.

Nominate Your Favourite Post

With all the posts that I sift through each time I sit down to do the Fiber Ramble, I think it is time to give you, the Fiber Artists, an opportunity to nominate your favourite reads.

Just visit the Fiber Ramble Discord and post the link in the Nominate-A-Post Channel.

fiber ramble

Creatives Coffee Hour

Join in on the fun! Come to the Creatives Coffee Hour, Mondays @3pm edt on the Steemit Ramble Discord.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Don’t forget, Pimp Your Post Thursday takes place every Thursday at 11am and 7:00pm EST. Come and join the fun.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Until Next Time Friends.

Coffee Hour

.

.

.

Sort:  

panamamama and Apanamamama are two totally different accounts. Check it out. ;) I am APanamaMama. So confusing, but I had no idea butt-picturing panamamama even existed. Looking forward to the next voice chat. Maybe I can actually get on there and talk next time. Ha.

What a dork! I'm so sorry. Fixing it now......one of those days. I look forward to getting to chat with you! Thanks for letting me know about the mistake.

It's not the first time we've been confused. Ha! Someone actually thought I had changed the focus of my blog from family centered move to Panama to just posting pictures of girls' butts. Lol. Their blog is definitely...interesting....

There's a lot of extra chromosomes around here. LOL

OMG! I just went to the other account. HA HA HA!! I'm sooooo sorry.

LOL! Isn't it hilarious? I do not understand the user name at all... And is this hunter dude actually taking all these pics or is he scouring the internet (or friends' fb feeds) to get these pictures? Lol. I commented on his blog once that our names were pretty similar, but not our blogs.

Those are some good questions...

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 18 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 10 SBD worth and should receive 67 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #99 (4/9/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you! And thanks for all you do!

I will be paying close attention to that yarn shopping for sure, thank you for having me as on your monday show, it was really interesting and wonderful to meet you all.

Hey @crazybgadventure! HUGS. I'm sorry I didn't include you in the thank you's! It really was great to see you join us!

Thank you for the mention! Plus you featured some that I missed earlier this week, so thank you for putting this together! :)

Your very welcome!

Thank you so much for the mention!
I can do small projects, but sweater is one that I haven't attempt to do yet..There are so many links in your post that I will check out..

Your very welcome.

Thank you for the mention, really nice post, I'll check everyone out :)

You're very welcome. It was a great post.

It was a pleasure to be a part of this. Thank you for having me 💚

Thanks... it was a really fun talking...and sharing....well you shared more. GRIN. Cya Monday.

Thanks for the mention, but my actual steem nom de plume is @sgt-dan. @sargento is my original account, but I have not been able to access it for some time now. Thanks again though!

Have a great and safe weekend!

Marine_divider.png

Thanks Sarge. I fixed it. Hope to see you Monday!

Thank you for all the work you invest to find such interesting post. I have to intensly read @ethandsmith post about discord :-D Right now I have no microphone or camera, so only writing on discord for me.

I was there... yeah. But only 5 min before the fibre ramble was over, because my discord did not load. First time I had this probem. It told me it was updating, but did not start. Only after starting the computer anew several times it worked. So sorry I did not met you. Hopefully next monday :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44