The Traditional Role of Women and Men in Society Compared with TodaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #feminism8 years ago

How it got this way and why it matters.


What’s equal isn’t always fair and what’s fair isn’t always right and vice versa. Sometimes we need to decide which path is best for which situation.

I have no problems with equal rights for everybody. I support them to the fullest because I do believe it’s good for society as whole if everyone has the same opportunities as each other.

Depending on the issue I may want to do what is fair or I may want something that’s equal.

Recently the topic of feminism has been tossed around in comments I’ve read and participated in. The topic was about the lack of discussion on Steemit.

So I am going to pour my guts out and share my opinion. I am not asking you to agree with my opinion but please give me some credit for sharing on this topic.

Women’s rights are a good thing for society. Without a doubt women deserve the same chances as men in all aspects of life. Being told you “you can’t do that you’re a woman” must be a pretty shitty thing to hear.

In respect men also hear similar things like “that’s for girls”. Both ways it isn’t fair but often if a man breaks the norm it’s passed off as funny or in jest often. Seeing the first male nurses or flight attendants would probably garner a chuckle rather than a “wth”. Whereas if a woman were to show up ready to mine coal in the depths of earth men are like “are you sure you know what you’re doing?” Not Fair. Good thing it’s much better today.

I want to go way back though to the “traditional” family unit. For the sake of it same sex can apply but in the traditional sense I am about to outline. And I will say man and woman but again, doesn’t matter.

A long time ago well pre-industrialization. As we all know women were expected to raise children and keep the homestead in order. She was to cook, clean, tidy up, farm, collect eggs, hem clothes etc the list goes on and varies depending on where they are and social status.

Back then without a doubt was quite tough on women’s freedom. Yet at the same time both males and females acknowledge an inherent difference between the sexes that modern man and woman seem to be misguided about.

Now due to technological advances, more civility and justice in society life today is literally safer for women to walk around then it was then. Regardless of what you see in the news today, it’s still safer.

Back in the day women, whether it was right or wrong, needed to stay at home more, it was safer from other men. Husbands also ventured out further and for longer periods of time than they do today as a necessity rather an option.

This led to women becoming absolutely amazing at building a home, a family. She could cook, clean, raise kids, make clothes and everything. Back then if she didn’t do it would take away time from hunting and gathering food as they would have more duties. Shops were sparse or nonexistent, expensive. She also had time to focus on her appearance more and pass that knowledge on to her daughter. Without her doing these things surely life would be hard or impossible for a man. The better she was at these things the more likely she could find a better man. Many women will say something like “fashion sense”.

Let’s not toss men aside as selfish and needy. His wife needed him to get the food, the materials, money whatever it was. You can say it’s not fair why a woman couldn’t go out hunting while he stays home. If I was a living back then and my wife asked to go do the hunt and I stay home I would say “let’s arm wrestle for it”. If she wins ok, go hunting its cold, heavy dirty work. She really wants that? If it was today I’d wish her luck.

So back then men and women had different roles than they do today because of physical characteristics that modern technology has mostly nullified.

Back then I say couples complimented each other. They wouldstrive to make each other’s lives possible and when possible, better. By doing what the other didn't do rather than say what the other couldn't do.

Today, due to modern technology and a safer society woman no longer need the constant safety of being home. Women have the chance to be CEO’s and run for politics, farm or go overseas and shoot other countries freedom fighters. They do as good in those things and piss me off just as much as any man, I promise.

Feminism and women’s right s in some cases, too many some may say, shame women that want to make a home and do “feminine things. Men shame men that want to make a home and do “feminine things”. The relationships between people that compliment the couple are being shamed. What was so natural is now being shunned. We still haven’t grasped how to go about doing what needs to be done. Maybe in part we are not sure, why should we be, it’s a big deal and it’s never been done before.

Why should a woman stay at home when she can make her own money and how dare her husband become a homemaker? Now couples are forced to compete with each other so they can buy all the useless shit that makes a family happy while destroying the earth and the environment we need to flourish. Anybody in a serious long term relationship that says money is not an issue is either incredibly lucky or lying to themselves. I expect the second in most cases.

Now, I’m not saying someone should stay home while the other works. Since WW2 we have been obligated to be a dual income family for survival rather than to simply get ahead. I don’t shun a man that stays home and raises the family as long as it works for the family. And more and more men are doing just that while their wife has a kick ass job posting on Steemit. Just kidding she’s probably successful because she loves her job; she has the job she wants.

There are many families today that have found the balance. So they can both work and both be home as needed but it’s not common like “I think” it should be.

In short my point on this particular topic on feminism is simply today’s relationships are based on competition for survival and getting ahead rather than complimenting each other for survival. It’s not such a bad thing today we just need to get use to it.

This is my opinion of the path to where we are. This is a deep topic with so many branches, I’ve only plucked a leaf. I think this is part of the foundation for all the other topics about feminism.

Please share your thoughts on the topic. I will write about my experience with women’s rights in China in another post. I just wanted to test the waters if people are interested. I also lived with a Swedish girlfriend in Canada. So I got opinions. I have discussed it in China with all types of people.

Please leave comments, arguments. I always reply.

If you do a post on this topic in the future please link it in the comments of this post so I/we can find it easily. ^^



任何时候来投票都行 我所有的票数是100% 倡导可持续发展的未来

Please see other posts of my Life in China 请参阅我在中国生活的其他邮件
https://steemit.com/life/@solarguy/dalian-china-summer-s-end-canadian-style-bbq-bbq
https://steemit.com/cn/@solarguy/go-topless-and-support-international-women-s-rights-day
https://steemit.com/cn/@solarguy/spirulina-the-super-food-of-the-future
https://steemit.com/history/@solarguy/south-china-sea-why-it-matters-and-why-it-s-the-way-it-is

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

As I clicked Post yesterday I had a feeling i would regret this article.

It's not easy for men to talk about this stuff and I now see it doesn't matter so why should we.

I don't regret many but if I could un-write any post it would be this one.

Not even the people in the thread that wanted it discussed bothered.
https://steemit.com/feminism/@whatsup/debate-discussion-feminism-i-am-a-strong-and-independent-woman

I hope i don't stumble upon this topic again.

Except Michelle. lol. why? lol

Well done on opening this can of worms lol.

Women did go down the mines. My husband was a miner and there was one woman, Kim. She was an electrical apprentice and I wouldn't have wanted the job, thank you. Our daughter applied for a job, but as the factory she worked at offered her a mechanical apprenticeship, she took that instead of going for the electrical apprenticeship at the coal mine.

I've done a few jobs that are still deemed 'men only' - maybe that's where she got her 'get up and go for it' attitude? :)

Just for the record, if a man opens a door for me and allows me to go first, I'll smile and say 'Thank You.' It's not my 'right' as a woman, it's just common courtesy :)

Really? You went down a mine? I don't think I could that actually, not as job, maybe a tour. lol

I've visited a mine. It is a museum with historical reference as you travel through. I never worked in one!

https://www.ncm.org.uk/

technology is the great equalizer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59374.25
ETH 2544.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47