You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Traditional Role of Women and Men in Society Compared with Today

in #feminism8 years ago

Well done on opening this can of worms lol.

Women did go down the mines. My husband was a miner and there was one woman, Kim. She was an electrical apprentice and I wouldn't have wanted the job, thank you. Our daughter applied for a job, but as the factory she worked at offered her a mechanical apprenticeship, she took that instead of going for the electrical apprenticeship at the coal mine.

I've done a few jobs that are still deemed 'men only' - maybe that's where she got her 'get up and go for it' attitude? :)

Just for the record, if a man opens a door for me and allows me to go first, I'll smile and say 'Thank You.' It's not my 'right' as a woman, it's just common courtesy :)

Sort:  

Really? You went down a mine? I don't think I could that actually, not as job, maybe a tour. lol

I've visited a mine. It is a museum with historical reference as you travel through. I never worked in one!

https://www.ncm.org.uk/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59027.47
ETH 2528.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47