That's Not Math Homework

in #family5 years ago (edited)

While I enjoy using Facebook to connect with family/friends, I have definitely dialed back my usage. I’m mostly sick of the divisiveness and real lack of conversation happening during these politically charged times here in America.

However, I always check when I have a memory from years past. My son (Kalel) is 12, my daughter is 16 and holy cow does time fly by! I want to have fun reminders that I may have otherwise forgotten about and these memories have become my favorite part of Facebook. On the flip side, I can see just how cringy my old posts were.

Today, two memories that came up involved my son and I love them so I’m going to share them with you guys!

The first is from 2016, on this day, when my son (10) was supposed to be doing his math homework. I looked over his shoulder as I was passing by and saw this gem on his scratch paper.

liger blaff.jpg
Lion + Tiger = Liger and Bulldog + Giraffe = Blaff

I don’t know if you guys know this, but Ligers are like a lion and a tiger mixed, bred for their skills in magic. I have never come across a Blaff before but I can only assume they are slobbery towers of awesomeness. I realize now that maybe I have made the kids watch Napoleon Dynamite too many times.

The next memory came from last year, 2017, when my son (11) got home from school. I was fortunate enough the last couple of years to work from home most days and have always made it a point to ask the kids how their school day went. Sometimes I really have to draw out answers from them but other times, they ramble on and say the best things. Here are two short pieces from our conversations a year ago today…

K: There's this weird kid on my bus.
Me: Is he nice though?
K: Yeah, he's really nice actually just super weird.
Me (knowing my son): Did you tell him he's weird?
K: Of course I did.

K: I got a job at school today.
Me: Oh yeah? Wha-
K: So basically I am a working man now.

That’s my kid. He funniest when he’s not trying and this year we’ve all noticed how his humor has definitely grown and he’ll give as good as he gets.

Kalel and I.jpg
Kalel and I in 2014

Kalel coffee.jpg
Kalel and I went to Atlantic City during his fall break. This was us getting a break at breakfast from the other family/friends that came along and was the first time Kalel ordered coffee. He claimed he was super tired from staying up with the other kids at the hotel. Party animal.

Kalel relaxing.jpg
While moving out of our old home earlier this year, Kalel needed a break. The kid knows how to unwind.

groucho.jpg
My daughter was told by Kalel to text me this pic a few years ago while they were at their dad’s house. I put this on the back of our family Christmas card that year.

Love,

Sharese

Sort:  

Best math work EVER! Buy him candy. Buy him cake! Buy him sharks that shot Lazers.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @reeseshara! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.
You made more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @reeseshara! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @reeseshara! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97