Life, Death and in Between

in #family5 years ago (edited)

My best friend’s dad is dying.

oc0knwvfec.jpg

Ed

Not the cheeriest of Saturday morning posts...

Freshman year of high school I met my friend Ned. We started as friends. Then dated off and on from the end of high school through college. Eventually, we went back to friends... but the best of friends. He was in my wedding and I was in his. Our respective spouses are friends. I was there to meet both of his kids just hours after they were born.

Through our decades long friendship, his parents and sister have become my family too. I have eaten hundreds of dinners at Ned’s parents house. I definitely spent more time at their place through my teen years than I did at my own home.

And today Ned’s dad is definitely dying.

n0ltph8ayf.jpg

Ed and Ned

Ned’s dad is older than the rest of our parents. So while my parents just seem parent aged to me, Ed has seemed frail and grandfatherly for awhile. A year(ish) ago he had a stroke and had to move into an assisted living facility.

While days since then have been a mixed bag, Ed would still spend days at home for holidays and grandkid’s birthdays. He could come out to dinner sometimes. Dementia had been setting in, but conversations were possible and mostly lucid, even if they would drift.

gtvttcujjz.jpg

Ed and the grandkids last October.

Ned’s oldest daughter turns 8 tomorrow. So last night we went to their house for the “family” birthday celebration. Things had been thrown together last minute. In a text to me Ned had said, “things have been crazy this week.” I assumed crazy meant, work, shuffling kids around and the normal stuff of family life when your kids are little and everyone works.

It turns out Ned’s dad had another stroke Wednesday. A BIG stroke. He has lost his speech, his ability to swallow, the movement on his left hand side and is in a coma. He opens his eyes some and has done some hand squeezing (apparently comas aren’t like what TV makes them out to be). Mostly Ed seems agitated, confused and “not there”. He is on hospice/comfort care.

ny8lhuer12.jpg

Happier Days

Ned hasn’t told his kids yet. They are so young, just 8 and 5. Ned repeated a few times last night how afraid he is of losing his dad on his daughter’s birthday.

The circle of life... on the one hand there we were. Long time friends, family gathering to celebrate a wee girl with her whole life ahead of her. We ate a great meal, opened presents, played video games, laughed and gorged ourselves on cake. While at the same time experiencing the profound heartache of preparing to lose a parent.

Life is always so complex.

0a9gh4k3f2.jpg

Three generations.

There is so much going through my mind at the moment. Memories of dinners at Ned’s parent’s place. Ed would barbecue steaks with this delicious mushroom sauce I LOVED but his kids did not. Gypsy Kings would be playing on a record player. We would sit at their table talking about politics and history.

On Fourth of July we would always go to their house. Ned’s dad hosted a pine box derby race for the whole neighborhood. A few days before we would make cars for the race out of balsa wood in their garage.

At Christmas Ned’s parents always have a big open house. Ned’s dad loves scotch. So you would find him wandering around the house with a drink in hand and mischievous smile on his face. Their party is one of my favorite Christmas traditions.

e9iwaacfw1.jpg

Deep discussions at a recent Christmas gathering.

Other thoughts in my head... I am going out of the country soon. I need to go. It is to see my husband’s family who live on the other side of the world. However, I am worried and sad that I might not be here when Ed passes. I hate the thought of being so far away when my friends are going through this.

But that is the thing with life. It still rolls on... even when sh-t is hitting the fan around you.

6wrbqj2qim.jpg

Way back at my wedding. Ned’s parents heading the table with my dearest crew of high school friends.


I have really mixed thoughts about death. I was raised Catholic, but am not religious. I am not one who believes in heaven or hell. I also don’t believe in a great nothingness.

I guess I have an underlying sense of spirituality? I have seen someone who was deceased before, and it was obvious that the essence of that person was no longer in their body. Is that essence their soul or just their energy? My intuition tells me whatever it is, is beyond my understanding.

I do think death is as much a part of life as birth. People tend to look away from it, and don’t want to talk about it or think about it. Heck my husband has panic attacks just thinking about death and what comes after. I am not afraid of what comes after. I just hope the process of transition from life to death is peaceful.

Anyway... I am babbling. If you have read all the way to the bottom, thanks for reading my thoughts as I am processing the news. Last night when Ned told me I was sad, but didn’t feel like crying. It was weird. Maybe my mind was more focused on him, his mom, his sister, his wife and the kids?

Today though I feel dazed. I called my parents and another good friend from school to talk about it. I think in those moments the sense of sadness and loss finally hit me. Saying goodbye sucks.

lpulef4m4p.jpg

Partying with grandpa.

8k6f1rv6zv.jpg

Ed, his daughter and the poodles.

53agy556ar.jpg

💜💜💜

Sort:  

I don't get around to reading many these days .. but I'm glad I read this one.

I'm so sorry for this, my friend. Reminiscing on a life well lived and loved...

I felt like I could taste the mushroom sauce and see his mischievous smile.

Our beliefs and faith are very personal, aren't they... What brings one person peace brings another confusion or... Panic attacks!

But one thing we can be sure of..
Regardless of what we believe, a little bit of that person lives on when we share the joy and love and care that they brought to our lives.

That's what remains... Love.

Sending you a huge hug, and.im sorry you won't be there for when he passes- but your friend sounds like an amazing "brother" that will certainly understand.

Just plan a get together as soon as you return to share some good memories of his dad

❤️🤗

Oh dreemy. Thank you so much for your friendship and for this lovely note. I ended up making steaks last night with the mushroom sauce. 😌

Ned’s dad passed away this morning. I am not sure how fast or slow the plans for his celebration of life will fall into place. Today is sad. 😔 But I am glad to still be in town an will be seeing the family tomorrow.

Deep breaths.... 😪

So sorry to hear about Ed. Seemed like a really good fella. Death is a strange thing that I am not so much afraid of...but more confused of. I fear losing others than myself being lost. Interesting we both discussed this issue recently. My heart is with all of you. 💔

Posted using Partiko iOS

We are all doom and gloom! 🤗 I fear the losing others too. It sucks cause the older we get the more this stuff happens. Like did your parents every collect obituaries? I always thought... jeez this is weird and morbid, but maybe I get it more now.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Like you, I think death is all part of life. It looks to me that Ed has had a remarkable life and made some amazing memories.

The one thing that always plays on my mind is - it's not till you die, you realise how much you're loved

What I mean is, I always wondered who's come to my funeral. Ex-girlfriends? Ex-work colleagues?? Will the things I have done in my life made an impression in others?

When I go I want a massive party and shit loads of people there telling jokes and laughing at all the crazy stories they have of me. OR no one will turn up!! Who cares ill be dead. OK, now I'm babbling....

Give you mate a kiss from me and tell him it will all be ok

it's not till you die, you realise how much you're loved. - So true.

I anticipate your funeral will be FILLED with ex girlfriends. 😄

I want a headstone that is a marble bench. So people can come sit on it in the cemetery and take in a lovely view. But I also want it to be weight sensitive so when enough pressure is placed on the bench there will be recordings of me saying obnoxious things to the people who come visit. 😂🤣

Thanks for your kind words.

You have received 5x upvotes from the members of @steemexplorers from your free link submission in our discord server. Steemexplorers is an initiative bringing information on various Steemit services and communities in a central discord to save you time and help you grow. It's free, it's easy, and it's here to help you in so many ways. Come by our discord to learn more! Link to Discord: https://discord.gg/6QrMCFq. Our team also offers an additional upvoting service called @givememonsters where you can presently trade in 1 to 10 DEC from the Steem Monsters game for up to $0.03 upvotes on ANY steemit posts. The vote purchasing value here is some of the best returns on your investments that you can find anywhere so come by and visit this service today!

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to dfinney! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!
We have also recently added a new whitelist feature for those who would like to support CurationKiwi even more! If you would like to receive upvotes more than 2x greater than the normal upvote, all you need to do is delegate 50 SP to @CurationKiwi using this link.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @curationkiwi.

I am so sorry, sending prayers right now🙏🙏🙏
This is great tribute to the dear father of your friend 🌺🌺🌺
A wonderful man.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for your prayers and lovely words.

I'm so sorry for the things you are going through right now sweet Sister ❤️ and I understand it must be hard for you knowing you might not be there when he passes.
But it seems like you all have special Bonds and I bet he knows your love for him and his family, and that they understand.
He seems like such a wonderful family man and it brings my thought back to last month when my grandmother died.
I hate to loose People I love.... Even more hate to se People I love hurting.
Death is a part of life and something we all get visited by at Times when we loose someone we know.
I love to read your thoughts and I agree in so much.
Whatever happens you have your memories of him captured in your heart and that Will never fade. Much love to You ❤️💋🌹 and you know you never alone!

Thank you @saffisara. I know you understand the sadness with your grandmother’s passing being so close. It sucks cause you are sad for the person suffering and also sad to see the ache in the hearts of everyone left behind. 😪

Ned’s dad passed away this morning. I am not sure what the plans are next for his funeral and stuff. But today is very sad.

Sorry to hear what your friend Ned and his family are going through DFinn as well as you. If he happens to pass while you are away Ned will understand and know that you are there in spirit as support. I was also raised Catholic but am not religious either. I do believe in God but in a totally different way then he is portrayed. Either way my thoughts are with you DFinn. In the words of Billy Joel “Life is a series of hellos and goodbyes”. We all live it.

Thanks @silverd510. I have this whole history of people I know dying while I am in Australia. It is stupid and endlessly frustrating. It makes my personal grieving process always a little f’d up. 😔

Thanks for the words of support. I really appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45