Eye Of The Beholder (Show What Art Is For You) - Entry To A Contest By @erodedthoughts

in #eyeofthebeholder6 years ago (edited)


@erodedthoughts is holding a contest to bring artists into the spotlight. What a wonderful idea is this? Art is controversial, where I see a photo of a broken cup, others can see the vanity of being perfect and the beauty behind one's flaws. Where I see just a painting of a child playing on the sand, others can see the brilliant use of shades and light and a masterful technique. See the difference? 

So, what this contest is all about?  "Find ten post that you consider good art, that are 2 or less days old and put them in your post." You can learn more about the contest here: Eye of the Beholder - 15 SBD

Isn't this a great opportunity for a shout-out to all those artists we're following and supporting? Isn't this a great way to promote their work and help it reach out to more eyes? Tell me what those artists have that you consider special. What do you see in their work?

Enough babbling, here are my top 10 picks ;)
*Note: To see the artists' work go through the link provided next to their username. I did not place their pictures here as I didn't know if they would oppose to me doing so.


1. @patschwork - Creature

A dark visual artist, with lots of "creepy" pieces of work that I simply love! It's one of my most recent discoveries. This one here is rather dark and luring at the same time, no?

2. @anibas - Protector of Dreams

A sketch by marvellous Sabina Nore. I love how she accompanies her work with quotes and excerpts. They all get you in the mood for some emotional rides. Her work is like getting lost in Fantasy Land! You can always check her official web page www.SabinaNore.com and consider giving her a follow here ;)

3. @romanie - Life Rose Up and Walked Away

Ok, this post is a little older than the contest instructions suggest, but that's the most recent work of hers. An amazing artist that used to work as a firefigther too (how wow is that?) has so many creative paintings to give us. Her work reminds me the colors of old religious paintings. It gives me the feeling of something from the past, fairytales and stories grandmothers used to tell their grandchildren, back then when times were still frugal, innocent, simpler... This painting speaks a whole story, don't you agree?

4. @leoplaw - What the?

This artist works a lot with the human body. Strong gestures, robust figures, nudity (warning for the ones of you who might find the naked body disturbing). This is his most recently finished painting. Can you feel the strength in his artwork? The intensity? As if it captures the move like a camera... You can always check Leo's official web page, LeoPlaw.com 

5. @donnadavisart - Don't be so Blue: My Dada Drawing conversation

Sketches, watercolor, digital painting. @donnadavisart has lots of amazing pictures to give us. This one has something melancholic and optimistic at the same time. An artist you can find in various social media platforms like Instagram, Facebook, Dada, Bescouted and Sola ;)

6. @skapaneas - Behind the Mystery Door

A fellow Greek steemian, @skapaneas has given us wonderful pieces. Sketches, acrylic, digital paintings. Don't you just love these abstract figures in his digital painting of this post? Check him out for more, guys!

7. @mariandavp - Charcoal Experiments by @mariandavp

This beautiful and talented girl from Greece loves painting with markers and I love looking at her work! This post has a few of her experimentations with charcoal. To be more fair with her, check her blog and see the rest of her paintings. Colors, patterns and... stories.

8. @jantomic - Something From Outer Space

Another one of my "recent" discoveries and a Steemit noob is @jantomic. His drawings are very creative, his colors vivid and I can tell he likes line patterns. In this post you can find a few of his drawings but for more you should visit his blog, because there is so much more in his work, trust me.

9. @gric - Monument IV - original painting

What can I say about this artist? The fine details? The conceptions? The feelings? @gric was one of the first artists I found here. This piece above has something that speaks of death and desertation, but somehow shows how man's vanity products (like huge and imposing buildings) always manage to outlive their creators.

10. @reinhard-schmid -  "Zoom in" - a closer look at the "Prima Ballerina"

Playful, crazy, witty and a lover of high heels ;) I love the details, the hard work and creativity. This post is just a tribute to the details of a painting he has shown us in the past. Follow him for more, Just watch the variety of frames Reinhard makes for his work and his technique on glass (hinterglass). His paintings, clever and full of life! BeScouted  and Sola are the places to look for him (other than Steemit of course).


Thanks @erodedthoughts for this contest! I wanted to have a shout-out for all my favorite and sometimes underestimated artists and you just gave me the perfect reason to do so!

The rest of you reading this post, please consider checking out some of those amazing people's work. They put so much effort and soul in it! Respect their time and grey matter they spent creating those drawings and give them a thumbs-up if you like their work :)


*Photo by @ruth-girl

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!

Sort:  

Always happy to inspire anyone getting lost in Fantasy land... :)
Thank you for your wonderful mention @ruth-girl!!

Thank you for the wonderful art! :D

This is an amazing contest and thank you for including me in your wondferful list!

I agree about what it means to experience art so differently from one another. That is part of its joy, each story is our own but amplified by what we view in art.

Oh! You deserve it! I just wish I could support those people even more, but hey, I try to do so. :)

You do a great job, and you contribute to making steemit a great place for artists :)

Thank you! I am trying with the resources I have at the time :)

Thank you so very much for including me in your extraordinary list and for your kind words about my work. Of course I know, you just want to distract me from my... ahm... mission ;-)

I could not leave you out of this list! ^_^

whistles indifferently and looks around 0_O

Thank you so much for this lovely feature.. there's only a "s" missing in my name :)

Oops! Sorry! I just fixed it!
Thank you for noticing :)

No problem :) thanks again, I'm glad you like my stuff!

I see a problem with this contest: we move in the same circles! Great motivation to roam farther to scout for new talent, but there are only so many hours in a day (and votes to go round).... So, these great picks are largely my picks too!

It's good to see that those beautiful people's work is recognised and appreciated :)

Interisting your post

Interisting your spam

Excellent choice .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49