What the?

in #art6 years ago (edited)


I can finally present to you the finished artwork. I introduced you to the start of this work last week, but it took a little longer to complete than I had anticipated. I hope he's been worth the wait.

But there's no rest for the wicked, I am continuing immediately with his partner. The two of them haven't met yet, but they will in the subsequent painting.

As a paint nerd, what I found interesting working on this one was the cooler shadows on the body, verses the warm light. I did originally have the background more open and lighter, but the painting worked better with a dark back ground, emphasising the play of light on the figure.

What the story of this painting is, I'll leave up to you. The title is a starting point.


"What The?", Leo Plaw, 30 x 24cm, oil on canvas

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

Wow, this really turned out amazing! The use of light is so well done.

Yes, sometimes that deep dark 'dutch school' black background does magical things to the light and sparkle of the foreground. You say this will be part of a larger piece, with the female figure? Will it be a diptych or maybe you have another piece as well, a triptych?

Really great job and I love the use of cool and warm tones in the skin.

Thank you Donna! When I say combined, I mean I will paint the figures again, but together in the same painting. So this current one and the next will just be small studies for the larger work.

I figured as much. I, too, usually do studies before a larger more involved work, but still consider the pieces, done art , as I am sure you do too, and you should do, this is an amazing piece.

I normally don't do finished studies like this for larger works, but I figured, why not, and squeeze as much as I can out of theme. I'm also curious to see if it helps me with the final work after having a couple of practice runs.
How many rounds of studies do you usually do Donna?

I do a pencil sketch, then an ink with watercolour, and then sometimes a pastel and finally a digital oil as the final piece for some :) I've also found, as a Steemit artist, it is nice to have these various stages, as why not earn a bit for each step, right? And I think it helps us to build the layers better as artists and also helps other up and coming to see how are layers work. :)

he he, milk it for all its worth. ;-)

I look at it as the new way that artists can earn from their work. :)

Same here. It boggles the brain to think that you can be paid to promote your artwork. Compared to FB where you have to pay to promote your artwork AND your target audience still might not see your work. I know which social network I prefer. It's a no-brainer.

you say studies - if I do that, it is out of my system. Then I'd have a hard time doing it again. I created tons of studies in figure drawing at the University, but of all, I used only one in a painting, and then I had to massively change it so as not to get bored with the work - because when I get bored, I can't work.

I do find it a somewhat tedious. But that's the point, is to repeat it, practice and learn. I've usually moved from one new thing to the next. Now I'm attempting to apply some discipline. I want to be able to do these things without thinking and as quick as possible.

I am as undisciplined as you could possibly imagine, lol the only way I could get through those figure drawing classes at the U was that at that time we were allowed to smoke and drink in class - the prof was quite a lush herself, so the wine just flowed copiously. 3 hours later, we were comfortably numb, and nobody was even able to think! The best work actually happened in the last 20 minutes in class - and that got judged when we were sober again!

Sounds like my sort of art class! =)

that was then - but now it is dull - and if you check what is coming out of art classes these days .........

I have; at best it is depressing otherwise aggravating. That's why I don't look any more.

The light, the lnes, the posture! It's so alive! Great work! :)

Thank you Ruth!

At last! I am hugely impressed by the finished product. What the...or When the blazes am I going to meet my partner?!

Thank you @minnaloushe! He'll get his partner when I get away from the computer and Steemit. =)

I would describe this picture as follows: a man saw an angel come down from heaven, as his face is ecstatic and surprised. This picture is just for Easter. It's very beautiful, thanks for sharing.

Thank you Magnata! Happy Easter. =)

Nice play with light!!!

Oh, love how you paint his midriff, so delicate but so expressive * ___ * his body language is very nice also, and i love how you do the lighting... with almost geometric forms of light and darkness <3

Beaaaaaaaaaaauuutiful~

upvotes and resteems

Thanking you most kindly @veryspider! =)
I was concentrating on seeing the most basic forms to achieve more of a sense of realism.

Agree with you, dark background fits it better @leoplaw. Like how you managed shadows on the body, favorite part lower back under his left hand.
And if I may about title..
''What the..f* is Elon Musk launching now??''
:))))

Ha ha! You're right Dunja, what next will Elon launch into space?

Sorry, it just pop into my mind when you made title :) And I love Elon must say :)
Maybe we should suggest him to make some rocket for all the governments in the world, to launch them in outer space :))))

Maybe that's why he wants to get to Mars; then we can dump all of the sociopaths there. =)

Got you, admit you are working for him :) Think Mars is far enough for that bunch?

I just watched an interview with Elon tonight. He stated he wants to bring the rockets back. So, just make it a one way trip, drop them off and leave them there.

Working for Elon? I hear he's monster of a boss to work for. He just hasn't discovered my "genius" yet. =)

god-assholes.jpg

Hahaha, I am sure he will spot your talent soon @leoplaw :)

.... and just a pinch of assholes ..... I remember that very well, but it was not God, but the Time Bandits who did it!

I knew someone was to blame!

You have a wonderful art. I really liked it. Good luck!

Applause ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71