Charcoal Experiments by @mariandavp

in #art6 years ago

Happy Full Moon everyone!

Well to be absolutely honest, as much I enjoy to watch them, I hate to experience them. Full moons have a serious and unpleasant effect on me; I get headaches, nervousness and a couple of other irritating feelings and emotions that I have to handle every now and then.

Luckily I don't turn into a dog or smth so I can still paint and release some of this energy!

Today, I decided to try something new instead of my standard acrylics or inc; charcoal.

Most people start with charcoal, for me it was the first attempt to create solely with this medium. In the past I have tried once or twice to use charcoal along other mediums but its contribution was minimal and only to outline a subject on the canvas before I paint it.

Below are the results of my first effort. Let me know what you think! (I obviously got to do more practice of course...)

20180331_214408-02.jpeg

20180331_223550-01-01.jpeg

20180331_223513-01-01.jpeg

20180331_202114-01.jpeg

Sort:  

beautiful sketches ! particularly liked the second one :)

This is great, keep practicing! Your very talented. :)

Thanks very much @gre3n!

I am having a hard time interpreting the emotion in the expression of the face of the girl in the third piece. Not because it is not a good rendition. It is very good. But I think that she may be expressing an emotion I have never felt!

To me at least, it seems to blend together aspects of both innocence and wisdom. That has not been possible for me in an admittedly sub-optimal trajectory through this life. I have always experienced a need to lose innocence in order to gain wisdom. I would be interested to know if you think that there is an alternative?

I am not sure if wisdom is contradicting innocence... nor do I believe that older people are wiser than younger necessarily. I think it depends on our experiences. Deep and important events in life could potentially provide you with specific knowledge and make you wiser, but it would only be about one aspect of life.

Maybe I am just jealous - because I see wisdom without experience in the girl's face. Doesn't seem fair :-)

είσαι απίστευτη!ό,τι και να πω είναι λίγο

Σ ευχαριστω πολυ Μαριουλη μου!

For your first steps those are pretty amazing! :)

Welcome back! :)
If this is the result of a first try... I cannot imagine what to expect from tour future charcoal tries!

Thank you so much my friend!

Jeez, I was completely tired and thought about taking a break from drawing for a couple of days and then you've uploaded a new one...
It's a different level compared to my awful results, I'm nowhere near!(
I have to practise more!!))

Great job, I've missed your paintings :d

Well, I haven't been drawin with charcoal before but I have been drawing since I was 3 (so that is 34 years already!). Don't despair and don't overpractice. Just have a plan on your mind about what you want to draw and how you intend to draw it.

and then just do it!

PS. I missed your comments too.

Yes master, I'll do as you say!)

Remarkably beautiful my friend. I appreciate the care and detail you put on the eye. Also third picture offers a beauty of its own and innocence yet the Xscape. Thanks again @mariandavp

Thank you very much @enjoywithtroy!!

Full moons for me mean something different since I like to photograph the Milky Way. A full moon in the sky means I cant get a good shot of the night sky because the moon will reflect to much light. Nice drawing and creative skill.

I understand what you mean... nothing like a starry night 😊
Thank you @azfix!

That’s wonderful! Great content! Check out my page when you have the chance! :D
I love the charcoal because the drawings can be very expressive! 😍

You’re welcome 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64186.90
ETH 2759.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66