Market Friday. 'A Taste of Thai.'

in #esteem6 years ago

'A Taste of Thai.'

I visited the fabulous Brisbane Thai Festival last Sunday but left the 'Food' part of the blog for this Market Friday post. So it is my pleasure to submit it for the weekly #marketfriday challenge organised by my friend, @dswigle

If you missed my Brisbane Thai Festival check it out

here

This was the colourful scene that greeted us when we arrived at the Roma Street Parklands. White peaked tents and bi-coloured sun umbrellas for visitors to take advantage of as they sampled the delicious Thai meals provided all around the perimeter of the grounds.

Throughout the year, guided tours are available to view the picturesque Parklands. It is a great place to have a picnic and many office workers in the nearby buildings head for this area to recharge their batteries and have a bite to eat before going back into the grind. But today the gardens were dedicated to the Thai Festival and a huge crowd gathered to listed to live music, dancing and of course.......enjoy the variety of Thai flavours available.

n76sbrgx3a.jpg

My mouth is watering as I see this sign for N.Z. Fried Mussels. Having grown up in New Zealand, I have had my fair share of fried mussles cooked in thin, cripsy batter and in an instant I remembered the wonderful flavour of these seafood delicacies.

jsbkb9t1f9.jpg

Amongst the other tempting dishes from this stall below, were Thai Pumpkin Custard (sounds interesting) and Pad Thai Chicken.

o22w6wu8i3.jpg

Everyone should try Deep Fried Icecream at least once don't you think?

gkhzawepga.jpg

Now, you'll have excuse my ignorance but can anyone tell me what Thai Wi-Rat tastes like? I saw the word 'Rat' and decided I'd skip this one and move on. But now that I am putting this post together my curiosoty is getting the better of me.

After a quick search I see that the Thai Wi-Rat is a very popular restaurant situated in Fortitide Valley, Brisbane. They are apparently well known for serving more traditional, Thai peasant street food. Their menu looks wonderful but I am still in the dark as to the meaning of the name. Perhaps my friend @hangin (an Aussie expat living in Thailand) will be able to enlighten me.

lynh6vrbqk.jpg

ocvr5xijfl.jpg

Between meals, drinks and entertainment, people took the time to wander through the gardens to add to their experience of the day.

9k7mis4ncg.jpg

The Roma Street Parkland provide facilities such as free barbeques, playgrounds and a variety of places to sit and relax......or to take photos as I always do especially as the vistas change with each season and flowers are always being pulled up and replaced with new, seasonal ones.

rcenicn1lx.jpg

Feel like some Pork Belly with Sticky Rice or some Pork Rolls? Or what about some tasty Fish Cakes?

azdlrfljau.jpg

One of my favourite places in the Parkalnds is the mini rainforest.......a sheltered oasis featuring large mature trees, ferns rockeries rushing creeks and waterfalls.

as2t8nvhut.jpg

And some of those mature trees have the most magnificent above ground root systems which is always a happy haven for adventurous kids.

psnlc4sh8e.jpg

The Parkland Expolorer was kept busy throughout the day taking passengers around the park.

m6zcip34r2.jpg

ckuvszjgco.jpg h1qrdsrgkt.jpg

Of course I couldn't go home without taking a few pictures of the flora.
These red grevillea flowers were in full bloom.


On my way out, I took a look behind me for one last glimpse of the Festival. I wish I could have stayed until it got dark for some night shots as the festival didn't close until 7pm.

qnxpg3yy7a.jpg

But I satisfied myself with this beautiful garden scene which completed my day perfectly.

6atnqbdumr.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

Posted using eSteem Surfer

k35z9aonf0.png

Sort:  


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Dear @trudeehunter,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

My pleasure @archisteem I'm glad to be introduced to your great project. Enjoy your weekend.

Most welcome @trudeehunter! Have a great weekend too.

Beautiful post! Love this place and love Thai food Thai hot! Loved the kids sitting in the tree. We have a tree sort of like that in the Philippines called Banyan. Thanks for the tour!

I'm so glad you enjoyed this blog @mhm-philippines Many thanks for sharing your appreciation. I love Thai food too and I'm fairly certain we call those trees banyan trees also. Enjoy your weekend.

Cool! You also!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Sounds like a day well spent, @trudeehunter! 😀 Thanks for sharing!

Lovely post @trudeehunter! The pumpkin custard sounds amazing. I am starting to get in that Autumn mood for all things pumpkin :)

Thanks so much @denisechips Lovely to catch up with you again. I love pumpkin too but not sweetened in any way. I make a Thai pumpkin soup which has a bit of kick to it and we eat it as a vegetable often........so it's an all year around food for us. Good source of zinc too.

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Many thanks for your wonderful support and kind encouragment @travelfeed. It means a lot.

Hello @trudeehunter, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

That's very exciting to hear @creativecrypto Thank you very much for your encouraging comments and welcome support. It is greatly appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16