Brisbane Thai Festival. My Sublime and Beautiful Sunday.

Brisbane Thai Festival.

I spent a large part of my Sunday enjoying the Brisbane Thai Festival held at the Roma Street Parklands and without a doubt, the highlight for me was the beautiful Thai dancers.

cpr4of0qy2.jpg

They moved with elegance and grace, dressed in traditional costumes and to the music of their country.

i3v2wyoh40.jpg

The sound system was incredible and I could almost feel the vibration from the music under my feet as I walked from one stall to another or as I paused to appreciate the performers on stage. These two comperes were doing a great job entertaining and informing the crowd as to what was happening with the day's activities.

eokmd5dgwm.jpg

I saw a mass of white and blue umbrellas with tables and chairs beneath them and white tents situated around the circumference of the grounds. People were milling about enjoying the atmosphere and the fine weather.

9qc96ua76h.jpg

y7tl9cfm3f.jpg

Many wise people brought their own picnic blankets to spread on the ground and they were able to shelter from the sun beneath large, leafy trees.

xajnmvg03p.jpg

The Brisbane Thai Festival is a much anticipated cultural and culinary yearly event and judging by the crowd, today's turnout would appear to be very successful indeed.

w2zqzm5s7y.jpg

pbpqwmlnjp.jpg

The various stalls cooked a variety of delicious traditional Thai food, some being prepared by well known Brisbane chef's and cool, refreshing Chang beer was available to compliment any dish chosen.

534oxgq902.jpg

Fresh fruit was served in its natural form or in tangy desserts.

e5bfwhumrq.jpg

w5pduku8zy.jpg

Craft tables were busy with girls both young and old learning how to make jewellery or create a beautiful strand of beads to take home.

k5oldgvb63.jpg

I did a complete tour around the entire area checking out the different menus on offer but kept getting drawn back to the main stage.

rmgc56rd2f.jpg

The female host was in her element, as she got the crowd invoved with answering questions about Thailand. She did a great job introducing the talented musicians, dancers and Thai boxers prior to their performances or demonstrations.

zmyx1m7899.jpg

Here are a few performers getting ready to go on stage.

tngn5vrbrv.jpg

Then leaving after dancing so beautifully for enraptured on lookers.

ud7eu7ve9x.jpg

300qlx5qu4.jpg

rcenicn1lx.jpg

One lady with cool, blonde dreadlocks made herself comfortable on the grass as she chilled to the music.

xc6m5ek6co.jpg

The entertainment had parents and children spellbound.

fgbvugmq8v.jpg

There weren't enough sun umbrellas to go around, so the next best thing was to drape a large, colourful shawl over your head (or heads as the case may be) to provide protection from the sun.

orze88nauk.jpg

Others brought their own sun protection......Thai style!

s77v627tit.jpg

I admired the lovely flowers this lady wore in her hair.

3cpsppwwbl.jpg

The kids were kept occupied with fun train rides.

a8xazoskuu.jpg

l7z0c6tsnq.jpg

cn959z6sbx.jpg

And climbing trees.

wajgcoj1zo.jpg

As I prepared to leave the premises. I noticed a model dressed in a colourful and extravagant costume.

7zurqgdk15.jpg

He loved the limelight and was more than happy for photos to be taken.

98vx8fioy0.jpg

So I took one shot after another.

y3s0t5mz37.jpg

Ok. So I got a little carried away. Check out those white stilettos!!!!!

fgxqdy8chz.jpg

I just had to include this close up. Pretty amazing wouldn't you agree?

wra6uztu6y.jpg

As I left this fabulous Festival, I took one last photo as another reminder of a day both Sublime and Beautiful..........and very memorable.

bywzdey3zi.jpg

This is my submission for the #beautifulsunday challenge, hosted by @ace108 and the #sublimesunday which is hosted by @c0ff33a

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

Posted using eSteem Surferk35z9aonf0.png

Sort:  

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Excellent post my friend giving me a bit of Thailand back from downunder how amazing like @ace108 said i think you would really love to see more of there culture over here in Thailand i am sure you would love it over here :)

Howdy @hangin I was hoping you'd get to see this post. I took a few videos of the music and dancing but haven't learnt how to edit them properly yet........I'm always seeking new challenges but I'm impatient to master a video making skills. And I have no doubt at all that I wold love Thailand from what I have seen and heard of it. Its on the top of my bucket list. Thanks very much for your support my Aussie/Thai freind.

I was really happy to see that you were enjoying that Thai culture in downunder and you will certainly not be disappointed if you ever made it here one day. What you see there i can see everyday here if i choose to and i never get bored with it they are just fabulous.

Video are the trend very interesting but time consuming i would love to be able to do it my self but not enough time in the day for me unfortunately.

Very true @hangin It all comes down to time and priorities. There are just not enough hours in the day for me. (lol)

Very true and you need to do what makes you happy life is to short and don't we know it...have a great evening my friend :)

Looks like a very interesting and colorful event! Great blog my friend!

It was both interesting and colourful Erika.....and very enjoyable. Thanks a lot for your welcome support.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Excellent. I was wondering if they would have Chang beer there and saw you mentioned it. I think you should go Thailand and experience the culture a bit more. 😎

Many thanks for your kind visit and appreciation @ace108 I would love to go to Thailand but at this stage it is out of reach for us financially........but you never know. One day it may be possible. I really enjoy Thai food and the people whom I have met from Thailand are very friendly.

You're welcome. At least they bring Thailand to you for now. :-)

That's true @ace108 I will have to be satisfied with that unitl I can get to Thailand myself one day. (:

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trudeehunter
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=brisbane-thai-festival-my-sublime-and-beautiful-sunday-4a4d6df8e5abest


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Love your photos and description. Now I start to miss Brissy and the Sunny Coast! :)

Thanks very much @itchyfeetdonica It might be time to let those itchy feet wander over the dry, parched soil of Australia.......so much of the country in experiemcing sever drought. But don't let that put you off as there are many pictureqsue places that haven't felt the effects as much. Which part of the world are you living in at the moment?

I'm now living in Belgium, and I used to live in the Sunny Coast. Maleny is my favorite place there. I miss the hinterland! And yes my itchy feet wandered to the dry soil of Australia as well in some road trips. :) I'm sorry to hear about the sever drought! Hope it's getting better soon.

I can truly undertsand why Maleny is your favourite place on the Sunshine Coast because it is mine too. I absolutely love it up there and would live there if it were possible. My husband and I go up there for days trips regularly.

Belgium must be a very interesting place @itchyfeetdonica Still so rain where it is desperately needed in Australia. I hope relief will come soon.

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Dear @trudeehunter,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Hello @archisteem,

Many thanks for introducing yourself to me and giving me the details above. I am honoured that you deem this post suitable for your '1001 Places to Remember' project and I am very happy for it to be included. Obviously it is too late to add your tag now that it is posted so will it still qualify?

I look forward to keeping in touch and getting familiar with your vision for steemit.

Thanks again.

Trudee.

You are most welcome @trudeehunter! We are happy to include your amazing story in our 1001 Places to Remember. For this story, you do not need to change any tag. In the future, you can add #archisteem tag so that you could also win a chance for our seasonal contest ;)

Looking forward to reading more of your stories.

Thanks once again @archisteem I will definitely remember to use your tag for future posts.

These photos are all amazingly gorgeous!!! I love the close up towards the end especially!

Thank you very much @namadicsoul for your welcome visit and support. Greatly appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53