Farming: Luffa Squash and It Benefits

in #esteem6 years ago

c0axfsnxov.jpg


Crisis will never wait for preparation, it happens no matter that you are ready or not. The global economic crisis is started to affect in Indonesia, especially in Aceh for the recent year. Only a few people know where the money goes. Base on what I have seen lately, the people are complaining about the price of basic needs and the market are getting less of costumers day by day. People don’t have things to bargain and the trading rate is decreasing in both modern and traditional markets. Luckily, for most people in Aceh, they still have things to sell or at least to eat.

As I aware of this crisis, I have tried to do my best as I the farmer. The best choice right now is growing things and let myself free from relaying basic need from others. At least, by doing it I get sufficient food supply. That is the first priority at the moment, of course it will be good when I can trade my things with others to get something I need such as milk for my kiddoes. We are not a rich family, living in the remote village, and we accept it as the fact besides trying our best to do what need to be done. But, I do realize that we are luckier than our friend in Venezuela or in some other part of the world. No big deal when milk is not affordable, we still have rice and veggies to eat.

Talking about veggies, recently I am growing papaya, cayenne pepper and luffa squash/sponge and in this article I will share you my method of planting it step by step. From preparation the land until it produce as I have recorded in the photograph. Cleaning the land is always a big part of the work, especially for the first time after years, weeds, poles, and bushes are creeping everywhere. But, land clearing is something needed to be done at very first step. Thank God, I have cleaned the land for planting papayas.

The benefit of Luffa Sponge Squash

x5pafdyqq5.jpg

3ioe6op77p.jpg

Luffa squash is kind of veggies that has delicious taste, I love to make soup or saute it with garlic and onion or even cook it in coconut milk is one of my favorite. It calls sponge, because it has the fiber inside it, where the seeds attached, but it needs to be ripe enough. The sponge can be used to clean the kitchen set or cutlery, and sometimes that is used to brush the cloth as well or in the bathroom.

This kind of luffa squash/sponge also have many special efficacies to cure some of well-known illness that I had experienced once long ago. I was gotten by typhus and the elder suggesting me to eat this kind of seed. But, the taste of it was extremely bitter. The taste remain in my throat in 3 days, any time I belched the taste came out as it was the first time I chewed it. But, it gave me a significant result. Beside of typhus these seeds are able to cure the diabetes mellitus and reduce bad cholesterol in my blood

Preparing the rack

w0kofkx9w4.jpg

The luffa squashes need something to climb up and to creep on the pole, because squash cannot be on the ground to avoid the insect and bacteria. The rack itself made from the wood and tie by plastic rope/ribbon. The rack is prepared for the squash when it climbs up while it tendrils grows. My rack that I made is 4 x 5 meters to accommodate 20 holes of luffa squashes/sponges.

Preparing the hole

zr844x8as3.jpg
It shows how well the soil need to be plowed, before planting the seeds. this two luffa sprouts had been 6 days.

Cultivating the soil and making the holes were the first thing I did. The holes must be made in accordance with the rack to ensure the pole for the squashes when it grows. The holes were filled by compos (organic fertilizer) and left it for a week before putting the seeds. Soil for planting the seed needs to be well plowed to accelerate the growth of the seeds. I did not buy the seed, but preserved it from the last season as I can show you in the picture below:

z4j2s4cjgc.jpg
The ripe luffa can be preserved for years as long as it does not get wet. Behind the brown skin is the sponge that can used for cleaning the cutlery and clothes

Planting

ef68uqwo2x.jpg

The seed of this luffa squash/sponge has similar shape and size to the pumpkin but it has black. I took 2 seeds and put it on the plowed hole, but it does not need to be covered by the soil. Within 3-4 days the sprout would come out from the seeds. I only need to ensure the water, and I watered it once a day when there is no rain at all. It is necessary to keep the soil wet for better growing rate and for the shoots to break up the hard shell.

Putting the pole

ooxogptg6f.jpg

5ot5nnkaio.jpg

It is importance to ensure the small shoot to be able to climb up onto the rack by giving the stick, but I use rope to connect between the rack and the sprouts. It only needs to tie a single rope from the rack to the marking stick and the shoots will climb up through the rope up to the rack.

hftc9r561d.jpg

9r9zq617yv.jpg

Okay, that is my method to grow this kind of squash/sponge. One thing you need to remember is to take care the plants when it grows, at least I weed the wild unwanted weeds to make sure there is no place for insect to hide. Taking care of the plants when it grows will give me better result, and I will be able to recognize the attack of the bugs. The infected one needs to be removed immediately to avoid it from spreading to other healthy one.

7at0g2ri6n.jpg

wuoqjgitd7.jpg

Those are not healthy luffa and need to be taken off from the trees and thrown away.

Thank you for reading my blog

With my best regard

@el-nailul

Hope for the best and prepare for the worst

5whcwh2cf5.pngPlease joint us on discord channel at https://discord.gg/RZkxq5


Mari bergabung dengan kami di discord channel : https://discord.gg/chBPxM

SB_new.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @el-nailul! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 comments. Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Luffa, this reminds me of someone very dear to me.
Who has passed...

/FF

Sorry to hear that my friend @friendly-fenix, you find your luffa in the other way, it is only about the time, and it does not mean that you must forget her/him. but only to let the pain goes for your freedom. Sorry for your lost buddy

@el-nailul
Im going to plant some luffa, a good memorial... Thanks for the reply...

/FF

I wish you have the best result out of it my friend

Very unfortunate to hear of the economic crisis in Indonesia, I know its becoming bad across the world. I am glad you have the basic know how to feed yourself though! That is extremely important, and something I need to learn more of.

I did some brief digging on the seeds and how they help diabetes and found some interesting results. The seeds are really high in magnesium, which is important for metabolizing glucose, this in turn helps the body do what it needs to do to regulate blood sugar levels.

Very cool!

Yes they are, but our elders just knew it by trying and error until they got some conclusions about that, it also can be use to heal malaria, but I never try it myself. For cholesterol it surely is the wise choice as well. thank you for this additional information about magnesium @alchemage

This is awesome. It's so good to hear about medicines in your part of hte world, and even better that it's something you ordinarily grow. Those trellis are really cool, I've always been inspired by them as my melons always get eaten by ants!! Thanks for sharing.

You should make trellis for your Melon @riverflows, but it does not need to make that way, you can make like a wall or fence. But, if you make this way, you need to ensure that you are able to walk beneath it for picking the melon. I love melon and water melon as well. wish you all the best with your melons

Thank you for sharing all these information with us. May your plants grow and yield a lot of harvest!

thank you very much for you support and lifting words to me my friend

You're most welcome friend!

This was a really interesting read, gives such insight into another part of the world. It's sad to hear of the situation there, but great to see people like you sharing such knowledge to help others! Keep shining!

Thank you very much for your great support and kind words, and it is only simple thing I could share to another part of the world. Have a best day my friend

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

You are most welcome @esteem, I hope I can help little more than only posting good quality post through this incredible application.

Hi el-nailul,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you very much @curie, really appreciate your hard work.

Very neat and educational. Thank you for sharing!

You are welcome my friend @sigilmancy, I am happy if you can have something from this post

Interesting everything you say, the crisis always eats us slowly and you have to look for alternatives, complaining is not a cure. Producing is a very good work, I sincerely do not see much salvation in this world, as long as there are things like plastic, I do not think the world will improve, now the best if everyone seeks to sustain their vitality...

this luffa has very special sponge to use and able to substitute the plastic use, and some other squashes can be use for tea mug or so. It has been widely available in the market, especially in the city (I guess so). thank you for stopping by my blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66263.69
ETH 3419.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63