Thankful Still...

in #esteem6 years ago

Let's talk about the elephant in the room and get that out of the way right away...

Have you seen the crypto prices? It's pretty funny that as we approach the holiday season we are seeing so much red. Many are posting about it, many are freaking out. I admit, I have had my periods of concern the past couple of days.

I have found myself at a place where I need to reconsider future fiat investments into STEEM. It's sad because I still believe in Steem and I still believe in the people that make up Steemit and the various dapps that are built on Steem.

We keep hearing that things are going to turn around, the market it cyclical and things like this have happened before. For those of us that haven't been around that long though, you find yourself questioning where the bottom is, if all of this awesome stuff is going on, why is it still going down?

I don't have the answers, people much smarter than me don't have the answers. What I do know is I won't be quitting. I may not invest more until the price reaches a predetermined ammount I have decided upon, but that doesn't mean I will stop creating content (though I have been struggling to find topics lately).

And through it all, I will be thankful.

Isn't it kind of funny that a season of thankfulness comes before a holiday that has been largely built around greed. If you were raised like I was then you know that there is a greater reason for the season and whether you believe the same things I do or not, you have to at least appreciate that holidays are a good time to take a break and gather with friends and family to celebrate and be thankful.

I almost feel like Thanksgiving should come after Christmas. It just makes more sense to me logically.

I hope you are following along with me here(even if you don't celebrate those holidays), this post is rambling much more than I had planned. The fact is I have lot to be thankful for.

This time last year as I have posted about before, I was just starting my fight with cancer.

I am thankful that is behind me for now.

The price of crypto is low, but I am thankful I have a full time job and I can pay my bills.

Communities are being destroyed by fire and flooding, but I am thankful I have a house to call home and family and friends to gather with during the holidays.

I thought about doing a week long Thankfulness challenge where every day you have to write about a different thing. Quite honestly though, I don't expect I will be on Steemit much Thursday and Friday this week. I have turkey to eat and football(American) to watch.

Let's do this then:

Leave a comment and tell me something you are thankful for this year. I'd love to celebrate with you. We are sort of a family anyway right?

As we enter this holiday season, I wish everyone on Steemit all of the fellowship and prosperity their lives can handle this year.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Well, I'm still thankful that I've discovered Steemit in the first place. Prices aren't everything, they do not take away from the awesome people I've met here.

In real life, I'm also thankful that I can share my life with my amazing partner.

Great answers! I am also thankful for those I have met on Steemit. This past year has been very eye opening for sure!

I'm here to stay!
The reason, I'm truly thankful for the friends I've met here on Steemit, some really awesome people! I'm thankful that I can blog about food as I love cooking and baking and have met kindred spirits.
I'm thankful that I'm able to run my little bnb post retirement, always been my dream and it happened and it's been a success, meeting wonderful people from all over right here in my home!
Mostly I'm thankful for my amazing husband who encourages me on my steemit journey, even those weird sandwiches I make at times! I'm thankful for my two sons, for dear and crazy friends, blessed to have my 87 yr old mom still. I can go on and on but will stop right there, I guess if most people start writing down what they're thankful for, they'd take another look at life!

Thanks for the comment. It sounds like you have plenty to be thankful for! Have a great holiday season!

Golly. It seems I did hear something about the crypto prices :)

I'm going to make a confession here. I get a small payment from my mother's estate every year about this time and had planned to build a hobby grade currency miner. Not much, budget of $750, and lots of material for posts as I "learn by doing".

Not happening. For several reasons, price driven for the most part, it just isn't even remotely viable. DOA. I didn't harbor any illusions of making real money but I did/do have the illusion of 'break even'.

I'll probably post about this whole deal in the very near future, but right now I am leaning towards putting that money into BTC to hold.

I don't know that the price IS going to rise. Nobody does. Right now, the etherum block reduction is having an effect on the prices. Miners (big miners) are scrambling to find a coin that will pay their electric bills and are just flooding the landscape.

So. Am I thankful? You damn betcha. I have a place where I can write and be appreciated for it (if not exactly paid :) ). I have people that I like that I can exchange ideas and commiserate with.

And for the record: Thanksgiving started as President Lincoln's call for a day of prayer following a catastrophic battle in the Civil War. It's grown into what we have now.

Yeah, I am pretty happy about the connections and relationships I have made here. Quite honestly it was all really a by-product. While I am very interested in cryptos and blockchain, I don't try to hide the fact that I was drawn to it by the idea of making some money. I got in way to late, with way too little money to ever change my life with it though. My bet was always on some kind of lottery type boom that would suddenly give me a windfall. Now that I understand it more, I just don't see that happening. It's more of a long term thing than I had anticipated. I don't think mining is very profitable on many levels anymore. Thanks for the comment! :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 317 (11/20/18)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @bozz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 comments. Your next target is to reach 5500 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.503 which ranks you at #6352 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 7 places in the last three days (old rank 6359).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 242 contributions, your post is ranked at #138.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58020.27
ETH 2464.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37