Doubts and Conjectures

in #esteem5 years ago

Greetings to everyone, the following story was inspired by the digital art of @xpilar, I invite you to visit his blog. The picture that motivated this story is the following.



Fuente

Doubts and Conjectures

-Alberto, I have serious doubts about this, I think we're not on the right track, -said Oliver, while sipping his coffee. Alberto and he had met after their return on a bench, in front of the canal that separates the northern and southern halves of Polaris, at a distance you could see the beginning of the forest, where the city ended.

-What are you talking about, director? -Alberto asked, arcing his eyebrows while also sipping his coffee - we almost have the guy, we just have to wait for him to slip up, at any moment he's going to try something and we're going to catch him.

-What do you know about Bruno Lombard's military file? -Oliver asked, placing the cup on the bench and starting to open the tray of sandwiches that he had bought in one of the food stalls in the city centre -. Do you want one? -They are crab, they remind me of those who prepared in Perseus, that's why I buy them every time I can -he said, offering the tray to Alberto.

-No thanks, I'm allergic to seafood; a native of Cerberus, there almost everyone is afraid of seafood, - replied Alberto, making a negative gesture with his hand -I don't understand what you mean by Lombard's military record, as far as we know he was never in the army, he's from Perseus like you, there's no military service, right?

-That's right I mean, although it could have been assimilated in some other world, but the fact is that there is no record that it belonged to the army, I already verified it in Prometheus, -he said, taking a sandwich out of the tray.

-And what does that have to do with the case, what does the army have to do with all this, -asked Alberto.

-That our killer must have experience in the army and is using military equipment to commit the crimes.

-What do you mean? -Albert said impatiently.

-The absence of any trace, is due to the use of a combat suit used by the special forces, its purpose is to avoid detection by almost all types of sensors, from thermal and movement, to chemical and biological traces, that together with an active optical camouflage, can make a soldier completely undetectable.

-And how come you have that in your possession, I don't think they sell it in military antique stores.

-That's precisely why I'm sure it's military and it should have belonged to the special forces- explained Oliver - the only way to have one and be able to use it is to own it, those things are synchronized with the owner's genetic code, and only in the army workshops can it be reprogrammed, those who use it while on duty and then return it for disengagement or reassignment.

-I understand, but that still doesn't answer the question of how our killer has him in his power, unless Lombard is some kind of covert military and he's still on duty, how does he have one of those things- asked Alberto.

-Several of those suits were lost during the Cepheus conflict, there are at least a thousand two hundred lost, it could be fallen soldiers whose bodies were not recovered, deserters, or some who took it as a souvenir when they retired, in the middle of the administrative complications that the conflict provoked, the control of inventories was almost ignored - explained Oliver.

-I understand, so what do we do about Lombard, he fit perfectly in the profile and there's the ATV, don't you think it's strange that it's gone? -Alfredo asked.

-I don't think we're far away, it seems to me that Lombard has some kind of relationship with this, but I don't even know what it is, I think by following it we can get to our killer.

-And what about the apparent artistic intentionality that exists in the scenes?- continued Alfredo-. That is something that also led us to think of Lombard.

-Yes, I know and that's why I still believe that something has to do with Lombard, I just don't know what yet-. Oliver took a bite out of the sandwich he had in his hand -. There's also the TDTH thing, I think I have something about that, but I have to wait for them to send me new information from Prometheus.

Text of @amart29 Barcelona, Venezuela, September 2019

Other stories from the series The Age of Perseus

I can only thank @xpilar for allowing me to use his digital art in my publication and for motivating my creation. Thank you very much @xpilar

Thank you all for visiting my publication, I hope your comments and I appreciate your support, until next time




Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73