Openly homeschooling my son through SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #education7 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2017-07-09 at 16.39.53.png

Esteban is 2 years old and I have been designing his education since the day he was conceived.

Having personally experienced the effects of a so called 'top' education in the UK I can contest that it has been of little value to me. And I have had to spend the last five years re-educating myself to better understand the world and it's many illusions & deceptions.

It is my intention to post my syllabus here on Steemit in order that it may be discussed and improved upon.

Naturally I want to create the best possible education I can for him and his sister Luna.

IMG_0723.jpg

“Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school”
--- Albert Einstein

The Modern Education

It would be normal to consider that you were helping your children by sending them to a school.

But the truth is that the modern education has not been changed much since its conception and is in desperate need of a shake-up.

DQmX3JuFJhrmW5D7W737HQLt5uCK4wht5V2PMGE3eaCB7fb.gif

Some of the current problems

  • It remains to be exam-orientated encouraging blind memorisation of information

  • It does not support children in discovering what they enjoy or what they are good at, but rather forces them into limited categories

  • It stifles creativity through its rigid perception of that which is considered to be creative

  • It seeks to motivate through competition, encouraging the idea of winners & losers

  • It does not encourage the student to question the teacher or the source of the information they are being presented

  • It is financed by those who seek to control us


Luna's placenta.jpg

"Education is not preparation for life; education is life itself"
--- John Dewey

The Homeschooling Template

With the help of Steemit I can create a template for others to follow and adapt to their own taste.

I am very excited to present my thoughts on this huge subject and work together with those of you who are interested to create something sustainable for others.

And a brighter future for all!

You don't need to be rich to give your child a great education :)

Latest version - needs tweaking.jpg

Sort:  

World schooling and living life, congrats bro 🙂

Thanks bro. And sharing the love as I go ;)

This is really cool and interesting initiative.

I'm curious, are there any laws/regulations that you must follow to prove that your children are learning at an equivalent level to where they are supposed to be at in school?

Like you, I think back to all of the schooling that I've had(including college/university) and I realize, for the profession that I've made my career, I MAYBE had to leverage about 5% of what I learned in my many years of schooling.

It's kind of sad when you think about it...

Again, thanks for sharing and good luck!

-JackThaR1ppir

Many thanks for your thoughts here. Yes, it can feel a bit sad, but we the people must learn these lessons in order to implement change. And step one is the recognition of this problem.

Regarding laws, I understand that it is slightly different depending on which country you are in. For me I have no fear of the UK gov catching up with me. I have been off-grid long enough.

Great post mate!
The education system is actually one of the worst things that is happening too humanity and it is disguised as a solution.
In truth it was designed to create work forces. Because people were indoctrinated to be work forces they work all the time, thus parents don't have time to homeschool because they are working all the time and the cycle repeats it self.
The only time school can be good is with REALLY bad parents. Otherwise just looking around the internet all day is going to give a much more useful and real education than school.
Its great to see people openly embracing and communicating about homeschooling here on Steemit. The more the better!
Lets show people how happy and successful a close and interment family can be!

What a cute child! Cutie Esteban 😚

He certainly is. And hopefully he will be a part of the next exciting generation to challenge the current system!

Many thanks for your great words here. I am so pleased I am not alone in the way that I think about this subject.

You are not, in fact I encourage and support you to share as much about such things as possible. It is of great importance to humanity.
I am starting to write about how misguided the parent/child relationship has become and how diabolical the education system is. Its at the core foundation of who everyone is.

Please send me a private message in steemit.chat when u post further articles on this subject. I would like to read and support you with an up & resteem :)

ok I wil TRY and keep that in mind!
I truly appreciate the interest and support regardless!
Have you seen any of the posts I have made about it so far?

I can link a couple instead if u want, just wondering if u had seen any.

I haven't. It really hard to follow so many people!

hahahahaha oh I know!
I use every bit of extra time I have to try and read all the open tabs of steemit articles I was interested in......HAHAHAHHAA

Yes, it can quickly get overwhelming here.

Having looked at your account I remember you from a few months back. Love your work brother! You are going on my autovoter for now while I have limited time :)

This is a great post, an issue that really needs addressing. I remember in one of my Psychology lectures being told that the average 7 year old at the moment has the same level of stress as middle-aged adults did in the 60's, and those adults would be taking prescribed medication for those levels. That was a truly eye opening but not entirely surprising thing to learn.

You are utterly correct with your observations about the faults of the current system. It doesn't just apply to children, it's all the way through the system. I selected parapsychology as one of my core modules for my second and third years of my degree, and went on to write my dissertation in that subject also. I have so many new theories and ideas in this area, I discussed some of them in one of my essays as the question leant itself to the topic. I failed that assignment. The tutor actually called me in about it and said although what I had written was extremely interesting and valid, it was my own original thoughts (even though they fitted in with current theories), when what I was meant to do was reference other peoples work to answer the question.

I frequently challenged her during lectures too, mainly with the hopes of planting a seed in other people's minds. By the time the third year arrived, she refused to mentor me through my dissertation, the only parapsychology lecturer in the university. I subsequently gained the support of the psychology of philosophy lecturer and completed my research which challenged certain key concepts. I presented it, got a 1st for it, and never got it back from the University.

I think your absolutely doing the correct thing by taking matters into your own hands and I absolutely wish you the best with it. :)

Wow! Thanks so much for sharing your story with me. How interesting to learn this!

I really appreciate your support here and look forward to crossing paths again :)

It's an interesting approach. I can totally understand your decision, school systems in most countries are - let's say - "suboptimal"
I live in Finland now for two years, a country that is known for one of the best education systems in the world (e.g. the no homework rule). I don't have kids myself, but if I would have kids, I would want them to go to school in Finland rather than anywhere else

I agree no homework sounds better but the whole education system is a mess across the world. Few schools teach the kids how to best look after our planet, which seems pretty important to me. Many thanks for sharing your experience with Finland :)

Welcome to the wonderful world of home schooling. I am ending my journey this coming up school year as my youngest graduates. Best tip I can give anyone who is at the beginning of their journey, remain fluid in your approach, meaning if one way isn't working, look at other ways to teach.

We did/do structured core and we unschool our electives. It has worked out very well for us. My daughters learned in traditional ways my son who has Asperger's learns best through a virtual curriculum so his core classes are done on an online site called time4learning.

I think it is a wonderful thing you are doing for your children. And for those naysayers that say your kids can't do what the other kids get to do they are wrong.
My children that have gradated walked across the stage, many home school groups offer a real graduation ceremony when it is time. My oldest daughter is turns 21 years old next month and bought her first house at 19 free and clear. My daughter who just graduated last month is headed off to Purdue on nearly a full ride, she plans to do portraits to earn $2000 a year she will need to come up with that isn't covered. She also is a talented artist and has done a few commission pieces already and bought her first car by replacing 3 roofs for local landlords.
My son is entering his senior year and has recently started writing here. He is @ultrawing . I don't know what his future holds for him, but I do know this. He would not be where he is today if I didn't home school him. Public schools are not set up to educate people like my son, not in a way for them to reach their fullest potential. My son is above grade level and taking dual credit courses. I know a few kids on the spectrum and the ones that go to public school are just regressing, the ones pulled are blossoming.

Sorry for the book but I have upliked, resteemed and followed. Good luck in your journey and remember when things get tough. YOU CAN DO THIS.

Thanks so much for sharing honestly your own personal experiences here. I really appreciate that. And your support is invaluable to me! So, many thanks again and hope our paths cross again soon :)

And it sounds like you have done a great job. Am going to check out time4learning.

Great work and best of luck on your journey. He will strive and be much wealthier than other students along the way.

Many thanks for your comment. Much appreciated

Love this! Such deliberative parenting. I hope to see more posts about homeschooling, education here on Steemit - this is such a great forum for meaningful conversation about these topics. I'll add you to my homeschool roll call over @beriberi and following you!

Many thanks for your lovely words. I also hope to see more on this topic here on Steemit :)

Tx for the follow!

I respect and admire your decision to take your children's education into your own hands. In my country I've watched the decline of our education system and have seen many parents take the steps you have. I will be following your progress with great interest.

Many thanks friend. I really appreciate your comment. Yes, it is a worldwide problem. But just as the money machine is decentralising right now, so too is the education system as more and more of us take the solution into our own hands.

Amazing, I could not agree more with this post. Our system of "parrot learning" as I call it, is useless. It does not cater for anyone who is not the average. I struggled through school as a dyslexic back in the 80's and 90's I was just a problem kid and sacked off. In fact they told my parent I would never get my G.C.S.E's last week I got a 2:1 in occupational therapy.

I plan to home school but there are added complications to it. All the very best and I look forward to reading you posts :)

Thanks very much for your thoughtful words. I appreciate your comment and follow :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50