You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Openly homeschooling my son through Steemit

in #education7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the wonderful world of home schooling. I am ending my journey this coming up school year as my youngest graduates. Best tip I can give anyone who is at the beginning of their journey, remain fluid in your approach, meaning if one way isn't working, look at other ways to teach.

We did/do structured core and we unschool our electives. It has worked out very well for us. My daughters learned in traditional ways my son who has Asperger's learns best through a virtual curriculum so his core classes are done on an online site called time4learning.

I think it is a wonderful thing you are doing for your children. And for those naysayers that say your kids can't do what the other kids get to do they are wrong.
My children that have gradated walked across the stage, many home school groups offer a real graduation ceremony when it is time. My oldest daughter is turns 21 years old next month and bought her first house at 19 free and clear. My daughter who just graduated last month is headed off to Purdue on nearly a full ride, she plans to do portraits to earn $2000 a year she will need to come up with that isn't covered. She also is a talented artist and has done a few commission pieces already and bought her first car by replacing 3 roofs for local landlords.
My son is entering his senior year and has recently started writing here. He is @ultrawing . I don't know what his future holds for him, but I do know this. He would not be where he is today if I didn't home school him. Public schools are not set up to educate people like my son, not in a way for them to reach their fullest potential. My son is above grade level and taking dual credit courses. I know a few kids on the spectrum and the ones that go to public school are just regressing, the ones pulled are blossoming.

Sorry for the book but I have upliked, resteemed and followed. Good luck in your journey and remember when things get tough. YOU CAN DO THIS.

Sort:  

Thanks so much for sharing honestly your own personal experiences here. I really appreciate that. And your support is invaluable to me! So, many thanks again and hope our paths cross again soon :)

And it sounds like you have done a great job. Am going to check out time4learning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57962.42
ETH 3050.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25