You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Openly homeschooling my son through Steemit

in #education7 years ago (edited)

This is a great post, an issue that really needs addressing. I remember in one of my Psychology lectures being told that the average 7 year old at the moment has the same level of stress as middle-aged adults did in the 60's, and those adults would be taking prescribed medication for those levels. That was a truly eye opening but not entirely surprising thing to learn.

You are utterly correct with your observations about the faults of the current system. It doesn't just apply to children, it's all the way through the system. I selected parapsychology as one of my core modules for my second and third years of my degree, and went on to write my dissertation in that subject also. I have so many new theories and ideas in this area, I discussed some of them in one of my essays as the question leant itself to the topic. I failed that assignment. The tutor actually called me in about it and said although what I had written was extremely interesting and valid, it was my own original thoughts (even though they fitted in with current theories), when what I was meant to do was reference other peoples work to answer the question.

I frequently challenged her during lectures too, mainly with the hopes of planting a seed in other people's minds. By the time the third year arrived, she refused to mentor me through my dissertation, the only parapsychology lecturer in the university. I subsequently gained the support of the psychology of philosophy lecturer and completed my research which challenged certain key concepts. I presented it, got a 1st for it, and never got it back from the University.

I think your absolutely doing the correct thing by taking matters into your own hands and I absolutely wish you the best with it. :)

Sort:  

Wow! Thanks so much for sharing your story with me. How interesting to learn this!

I really appreciate your support here and look forward to crossing paths again :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58269.26
ETH 3067.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25