I Will Take A Radical Action and Save Seeds to Ensure My Freedom

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

Seeds are a revolution. Seeds in our hands is power in our hands. We cannot have freedom without seeds.

This is my unofficial response to the Freedom Challenge #5: What's the next action you will take to ensure your freedom? There is still one day left to enter this challenge!

seeds.jpg

As a gardener I am an amateur seed saver. This year I am exploring the option of growing seed as a business.

I contacted some local (and non-local) seed companies to see if they needed someone to grow out some seed in isolation from their main crops. Turns out that one of the companies I contacted is indeed in need of help growing seeds and offered to have me grow out some lettuce and tomato seeds, despite the fact that it is already so late in the season to get started.

This is an opportunity for me to build a relationship with a seed company and learn from them details about seed saving and more about the seed industry. I am very grateful to them for extending that opportunity.

I have a lot of crazy ideas about the permaculture seed business that I may start in the future, maybe even later this season. But in the meantime I am jumping at the opportunity to be learning from some pros in the field.

IMG_20170410_092617.jpg

Why am I even considering saving seed as a business in the first place?

Seeds represent great cultural value. The deeper I get into homesteading, gardening and farming the more appreciation I have for seeds.

My appreciation starts with the awe I have for nature's ability to pack genetics and life into such a small, unique beautiful package that is waiting to spring into its full potential. Watching seeds sprout and grow from cute little seedlings into an "adult" plant is unbelievable! As they say, seeing is believing.

Then my appreciation grows as I begin to understand the cultural value that seeds represent, both agriculturally and pre-agriculture.

IMG_20180317_161925.jpg

Seeds are Food

Seeds themselves are super foods. Like milk to infants seeds contain everything that is needed to get growing into a robust seedling. Those starches, minerals and vitamins contained in seed give our bodies nutrition we need to thrive.

Beans, peas, corn, quinoa, wheat, oats, rice, amaranth are all examples of seeds that we rely on for our nutrition and sustenance. The list goes on and on and you can add spices that we consume to that list like fennel, mustard, onion, poppy, cumin to name a few.

What about nuts like walnuts, pecans, hickory, chestnuts, hazelnuts? They are seeds too!

And then there are berries like blackberries, raspberries, strawberries, blueberries, currants... those all contain seeds!

What about fruit like oranges, apples, cherries, mangoes? They have seeds in them too!

IMG_20180312_170238.jpg

Seeds grow food

Of course we also know that seeds can eventually become plants which feed us, including many staples such as potatoes, spinach, onions, turnips, carrots, celery and so on.

IMG_20180412_132055.jpg

We owe our lives to seeds

Every human owes their lives to seeds. Our lives would not exist if we did not have seeds and plants which grew from seeds to consume. Even the meat that many of us eat depend on seeds.

Then we can look to our needs outside of food. Seeds give us shelters, fibers and energy so that we can have homes, clothing and heating for cooking and staying warm. Wood, cotton and hemp for example all start as a seed. Even in our modern world full of plastic we still rely on natural materials. In a post peak oil world we may be forced to again rely more and more on these natural materials. Why wait for that to happen?

seeds.png

We couldn't breathe without seeds.

If it weren't for trees and plants we would suffocate and die. They come from seeds. This fact alone motivates me to want to grow, collect and spread seeds.

I'll put it here on the blockchain as an intention: I want to grow, collect and spread seeds in a world that breathes.

And then of course there is the carbon sequestration that pulls carbon dioxide out of the atmosphere and puts it into the biomass that can be done by nature's very own trees which also come from seed.

trees.jpg

Seeds may offer spiritual connection

Collecting, saving, sharing and planting seeds can be spiritual actions to some. Every seed is a miracle. Its amazing that in some species one plant can produce hundreds or thousands of seeds. Each of which represent the potential for new life or ensuring the sustenance of a life.

elecampane.jpg

Seeds are Freedom

Seeds give us freedom. Without access to nutritious food we cannot be free. Without access to diverse, nutritious food we cannot be free. Without our health we cannot be free. Without nutrition we cannot be mentally astute. Without our minds' power we cannot ensure our freedom.

IMG_3647.JPG

Seeds are Power in Our Hands

There is a simple truth that I learned along the way as a gardener. If you are not a gardener then this may not have been apparent to you either, and so I'd like to share it.

If you are a cook or a family member likes cooking you may have some dried seeds in your pantry. Dried beans is a good example. You can take those beans that you bought in a store for food and plant it in a garden and you can get more beans from it.

That just blows my mind. Our food can give us more food! That is power in our hands.

For the preppers that has a month's worth of dried beans in the pantry, that means you actually have a lifetime of dried beans in your pantry if they are planted and saved every year.

The farmer/homesteader/gardener that has a years worth of beans for eating saved from last years' crop plus enough seeds saved for planting next year's crop is a rare occurrence in this day and age.

IMG_20180309_135910.jpg

Reliance on Industry

There is a caveat to being able to plant your bean because it depends on where you got your beans. Some of the seeds that are sold to big agriculture are bred so that they will not produce viable seeds that can be planted the next year. This keeps farmers reliant on buying their seeds from the big seed producers.

The seed monopolies are great for the profit of the shareholders but horrible to ensuring our food security. Seed monopolies are a central point of failure. Our world's food supply becomes less and less diverse as the large companies grow less and less varieties of seed in order to satisfy their hunger for profit.

cracks.jpg

Local Seed Growers are Heroes

The local, small business, heirloom, open pollinated, mom & pop seed growers are heroes because they are fighting to ensure our freedom.

These seed growers are well aware that we depend on seeds for our lives and they have dedicated their own lives' work to growing high quality, heirloom open pollinated seeds in order to ensure our freedom.

These farmers are aware that seeds need to be grown locally and decentralized so that they are adapted to bio regional climates and soil and so are more healthy and resilient.

Local seed growers are aware that the seeds that they save every year, by the nature of their very businesses, are in essence a local seed bank. Because they are local and because local is different to everywhere seed businesses are distributed and so every seed business represents a distributed seed bank.

These seed growers are fighting the good fight and there are not enough local seed growers out there. We need more and the only way that will happen is if there is more demand.

As cooks we can help increase the demand for local seed by buying local food from local sustainable farmers, most of which purchase high quality open pollinated heirloom seed. As gardeners we can seek out local seed companies to purchase seed for our gardens.

IMG_5871.JPG

Saving Seeds to Ensure My Freedom

As a passionate gardener who believes I have a right to my own freedom I am going to learn more about saving seeds and I am going to spend more time saving seed this year. I am going to plant more seeds to grow more food that give me sustenance. I am going to collect more seeds and share more seeds with others.

This is a radical action that will help ensure my freedom.

IMG_20180308_124026.jpg



Who is @sagescrub?

I am a ex-suburbanite turned permaculture homesteader. Follow my journey and I will share what I know and am learning along the way. You can learn more about me in my re-introducing @sagescrub post. Wishing you abundance in your life!

Know that I am likely NOT an expert on the subjects I present. Please do your own research and be your own expert!


Proudly Contributing To:

homesteaders-online.png
#homesteadersonline | Website | Discord Community

ecotrain.png
#ecotrain | What is ecoTran? | Discord Community

Sort:  

Hell yes. Tyfys.

I've been looking for someone that'll sell seeds for crypto :) lmk if that's something you'd be interested in at some point.

How coincidental! I have been thinking about selling seeds for crypto recently. I'm thinking of starting it small later this season with some wildcrafted seeds and some veggies/herbs. If/when it happens I will definitely notify you! In the meantime, is there something specific you're looking for or just in general?

Not yet. I think I'm in over my head for seeds already this season. Wondering how and where I'm gonna plant the rest. I think I'll do that this weekend.

Something I think would be awesome is for someone to put together a mix of things that'll grow well together that can just be spread over an area for something cool and random. Not sure if it's feasible, but it sounds neat and easy.

@sagescrub, I feel like a moron for not knowing I could plant dried beans. Some of the seeds in my pantry I have noticed will sprout, but often times they have a low germination rate. Maybe they were dried on a hot oven tray.

What other pantry spices have viable seeds? Recently I learned I could grow goji berry from dried fruits. Will a raisin grow into a plant? I know about pineapple, potatoes, onions, and celery that can be regrown if put back into soil. Are there many more?

Would you be willing to expand, and post with more of your knowledge on what veggies and fruits can be grown from grocery store items?

Glad you found a new business enterprise you have the skill, resources, and passion to succeed at.

Will a raisin grow into a plant? -No, raisins are usually made from seedless grapes. And they're more often than not heat treated so even if a seed is in there, it won't germinate.

It's a shame about raisins....

Please, you are certainly not a moron! :)

I wouldn't count on all seeds in the pantry sprouting but I am sure many of them would, especially if they are organic. It wouldn't hurt to try, especially if it helps you save some money when you are putting $ into other seeds!

I would guess that most whole seeds as spices would sprout if they are not too old.

I have planted store bought onion ends, leek ends, green onion ends, garlic, potatoes, ginger, turmeric, lemongrass and had success with all of them! I thin you can plant a lettuce end if there is enough roots portion. I'm sure there are more possibilities out there.

That´s a very liberating action indeed!

Thank you! Oh shoot I don't have much bandwidth here.. on satellite... I'll have to try to download it when I get a good connection at the library.. this looks good :)

One hundred thousand votes to you from me!
Just watched an episode of Gardener's world with another seed enthusiast (tropical plants- grown in UK!). The passion is infectious!


We MUST start seed banks all over the world. It's the only future left to us!
Seeds are my favorite part of the garden! Packets of cosmic fire.
Wonderful piece of pure freedom!

Sounds awesome! Unfortunately I can't watch the video, apparently it is blocked in my country for copyright reasons. Anyway thanks for the comment and sharing your joy for seeds! I am glad to know that there are many people doing good work with seed.. and you're right we need more seed people and more seed banks!

Oh you got this so right @sagescrub, we have no freedom without seeds, so many people rely on others for food the most basic of our needs, what an excellent post you my friend our so on the road to freedom. Love it

Seeds are Freedom

so many people rely on others for food the most basic of our needs

Yes!! It is difficult to wake up to this fact.

Nice article! And I really like the look of your greenhouse, too!

Really smart! Yes, I think growing and cultivating our own food is the ultimate liberator. Here in Austin, Texas, people are planting food forests, just as street artists are putting up murals and paintings. Growing food is an art, a science, a gift... As @creativetruth says, I've also learned that dried goji berries contain all of the nourishing elements to produce a goji berry plant.

That's so amazing that food forests are becoming a trend in your community! I'd love to see that love and excitement become contagious and keep spreading!

This is a good post, it definitely gives me something to think about. I can see how saving seeds could be a valuable part of a prepping lifestyle.

Totally! Gardening is great for getting self sufficient in food staples and beyond and saving seeds is another level up in self sufficiency in that department :)

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Brilliant! I am also fascinated by seeds. The fact that they hold everything they need to sprout is mind blowing. I am also always in awe of the fact that they grow in two directions and know which way is up. Seeds are a lot smart than they're given credit for.

Matt is very passionate about creating diversity on our property and wanting to push the boundaries with some plants. We are looking at growing a few items that are just a borderline in terms of zone because how amazing would it be to push those boundaries? To encourage a plant to become even more resilient and perfectly adapted to a specific area?

The connection to plants and their importance seems to be growing distant for so many people. The more I learn about plants and their abilities, the more I want to know and learn. - Aimee

Pushing the edges and zones is important work. That's so great that you are both committed to growing more food and trees! Good work you two!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57742.49
ETH 3102.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39