You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Will Take A Radical Action and Save Seeds to Ensure My Freedom

in #ecotrain6 years ago

@sagescrub, I feel like a moron for not knowing I could plant dried beans. Some of the seeds in my pantry I have noticed will sprout, but often times they have a low germination rate. Maybe they were dried on a hot oven tray.

What other pantry spices have viable seeds? Recently I learned I could grow goji berry from dried fruits. Will a raisin grow into a plant? I know about pineapple, potatoes, onions, and celery that can be regrown if put back into soil. Are there many more?

Would you be willing to expand, and post with more of your knowledge on what veggies and fruits can be grown from grocery store items?

Glad you found a new business enterprise you have the skill, resources, and passion to succeed at.

Sort:  

Will a raisin grow into a plant? -No, raisins are usually made from seedless grapes. And they're more often than not heat treated so even if a seed is in there, it won't germinate.

It's a shame about raisins....

Please, you are certainly not a moron! :)

I wouldn't count on all seeds in the pantry sprouting but I am sure many of them would, especially if they are organic. It wouldn't hurt to try, especially if it helps you save some money when you are putting $ into other seeds!

I would guess that most whole seeds as spices would sprout if they are not too old.

I have planted store bought onion ends, leek ends, green onion ends, garlic, potatoes, ginger, turmeric, lemongrass and had success with all of them! I thin you can plant a lettuce end if there is enough roots portion. I'm sure there are more possibilities out there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50