You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Early Spring Homestead & Garden Update

in #ecotrain6 years ago

SOOO much to do already! And they're only just babies... Deer, wow! But fortunately no mice.... I'm sure there have to be, but they didn't discover your fava beans (I always forget how early you must sow broadbeans! Their squeaky, bright foliage always gives such a spring sense of abundant joy.) Surprised to see cumin working in those cooler climes! I struggle already with corriander. But then again, in a freak experiment, fenegreek worked once! You also remind me how important it is too prick out seedlings when really tiny (two proper leaves) to strengthen their roots and prevent weediness. That burning of the brambles was an inspired choice perhaps, despite the alternatives. An energetic cleanse all round?

I have heard you mention the lovely idyllwild before but I hadn't fully registered you are in a (working?) partnership on a regular (day-to-day?) basis. I am trying to piece together the story behind your newly acquired piece of land and project: is their a previous post revealing more you could point me to?

Sort:  

Thanks for the comment :)

We have a very nice cat here that keeps rodent population down. I haven't seen much gopher or mice activity yet... fingers crossed! I have never tried fenugreek. interesting! Would like to try it one day... i am trying new spices especially in the order I consume them :) The fire was definitely an energetic cleanse! and helped give more appeal to the task at hand :) I was inspired by a friend that did a similar burn but for slightly different reasons, to help cycle the carbon that was above soil faster and open up the space, reduce fuel... he wasn't so concerned to eradicate the blackberries in the place he was burning them. Thanks for asking about idyllwild :) Yes we are partners in the romantic/soul sense. I am planning on sharing more of the story of the homestead we are now caretaking.. thanks for inspiring me to get around to that :) I'll plan to write more about it in the near future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54414.30
ETH 2295.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30