How To: Sowing Seeds In Flats For An Early Start In The Greenhouse

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

It's planting time for us!

Its zone 7 here and guided by a handy schedule from a local seed breeder we got organized on what to start early in the greenhouse. Coming from zone 6 where the ground was still covered with snow we find ourselves stepping into gear!

Actually we are slightly behind earliest suggested planting schedule, but not too far behind, considering daylight length last month is still relatively short - so feeling good about the timing.

IMG_20180308_124026.jpg

We tamped down the soil in the wooden flats using a short block of wood so that it was a flat and even surface to work with.

IMG_20180308_120216.jpg

We got out the seeds we had organized for planting into our wooden flats.

We laid the seeds out in groups on flats and started moving them around until we were happy with what was going to live in each flat.

IMG_20180308_121521.jpg

We pretty much took two approaches to seeding the flats:

1. Rows

Like garden rows but miniaturized, the little rows allowed us to seed multiple varieties or species in one flat. We mostly used this approach for larger seeds where it is easier to control placement.

IMG_20180308_131946.jpg

We're trying to be considerate to our future selves and not sow too many tomato seeds in each row because we know that if we end up with more plants than we're realistically willing to pot up in the next month or so it might be emotionally difficult to thin out the tomato seedlings.

But regardless of how we feel about anything at that point, we will have options:

  • We can thin out the tomatoes in one flat as they grow larger and let them grow to transplant height.
  • Or we can keep more of them, pot them up into more flats or 4" pots and let them spread them out so they have room to get larger.

IMG_20180308_132020.jpg

We took a similar approach with eggplants and peppers. And we have one heating mat which we put under the flat of peppers for now.

2. Broadcast

For some of the smaller seeds like onions we broadcast them by pinching and sprinkling from above to the density we want to achieve.

Broadcast is helpful because it is easier to get uniform spacing with small seeds this way. And it's also helpful for something we want a lot of, like onions.

You could broadcast a whole flat with one type of seed but for the amount we wanted to end up with we ended up sectioning out a flat into 3rds or 4ths and broadcasting one type of seed in each area.

In some cases we did sprinkle smaller seeds into a row when we wanted only a few and wanted to make most of the flat. We could have used 6 packs alternatively but have enough flats that we didn't need to.

Covering the Seeds

After sowing and labeling we covered the seeds. A general rule of thumb is to cover 2-3 times the seed's width. That's not very much soil for most of what we seeded.

For the bigger seeds in rows we just pinched the sides of each row together over the seeds and then tamped it down.

For the smaller seeds whether broadcast or in rows @idyllwild showed me how to sift some soil over the top of the seeds in a colander to get a fine dusting to just the right thinness of layer to cover the seeds. This is an incredibly brilliant pro technique!

IMG_20180308_123709.jpg

IMG_20180308_123726.jpg

IMG_20180308_123904.jpg

And then we watered them all in so that the soil is nice and saturated. It didn't take much because the soil was already moist to begin with.

A mist or light sprinkling is ideal so that the smaller water droplets don't disturb the soil. And then we will check daily and rewet the top of the flats as needed so that they don't dry out too much.

IMG_20180308_150727.jpg

Labeling

The name of the veggie was labeled on the stakes where the seeds were sowed. In our notebook we took down additional notes of date of seeding, the veggie type & variety, where the seed came from and what year the seed was harvested so that we can refer back later in one place for basic info that might matter later.

We sowed 5 flats of veggies and herbs for now:

  1. Basil, Thai Basil, Eggplant
  2. Ground Cherries, Tomatillos, Tomatoes
  3. Leeks, Radish, Pak Choi, Onions
  4. Peppers - Sweet & Hot
  5. Yarrow, Chamomile, Hopi Tobacco, Elecampane

@idyllwild sowed several flats of flowers and you'll have to ask her about those ;)

IMG_20180308_151254.jpg

Next up is seeding the garden with early / cool weather crops!

Happy gardening!

Sort:  

Nice post. I esp. like the tip about sifting the soil on top of the seeds! Resteemed.

Was a good read, I plan to make a post showing people step by step how to build raised beds similar to yours, feel free to stop by my blog and check it out my most recent articles are on cloning, composting and seed saving you may find something you enjoy

You left a random visit Upvote on my post this morning and I am super happy that you did :) Primarily cos I have found your fantastic blog.

You seem like a man with a plan (+ a woman who can) who knows what he/she is doing.

Soon we are moving to get down and dirty with soil between our toes!

These city slickers can learn much from you.

Hoorah.

Cheers. Upvoted/Followed.

xox

Hey @ldacey-laforge! Thanks for leaving such a nice comment. I am also from the city (& suburbs) until about 2 years ago. I've been volunteering on different farms to get experience. My motivation for starting this steemit blog is sharing what I've learned and my approach to homesteading which is informed but I am also relatively fresh to rural homesteading life.. I want to inspire others that they can do it too :) I'm glad some of my posts are useful to you!

Wow, I am happy meeting you @sagescrub! One more passionate gardener in our community%) thanks for visiting #ecoTrain Discord so I was able to find you! And the very best of luck with planting this wonderful seeds and may it grow into abundant harvest!

Image Source

Thank you @sashagenji! I am glad to join you in the #ecoTrain! Beautiful painting that you shared... it says it all! Love, peace & abundance :)

Yes, sometimes art speaks without words%)) I am glad to share my ride with you and to be honest still over-thinking a post of matriarchy you wrote - deep and wise - I still need to have your ideas sink in. It made me think that is a gift I value most!!

Image Source

Thank you for the pepper plant and all the nice things you just said :)

I love how you incorporated your greenhouse against your home. I also enjoyed seeing how someone else seeds there trays. I wish it would stop snowing so I can put my seedlings into my greenhouse. It is in the teens still here in NY and it would cost a fortune to heat the house right now. I still have mine under lights in my garage. Send some sun and warm weather our way please.

Thank you! I can't take credit for the greenhouse because I am renting this home and I didn't build it. But I sure do like the greenhouse! Sounds like you are doing the right thing for your climate with the seedlings under lights. I will definitely send some vibes for a beautiful spring... I am wishing you abundance and joy in your garden this year :)

Thank you so much for the bright blessings coming my way. Happy gardening to you.

very interesting your post, greetings!

A general rule of thumb is to cover 2-3 times the seed's width.
So cool! Love that visual and I've never heard it described that way. Thank you, I will never forget that! Also, your greenhouse is pretty neat. We built a lean-to for storing wood, but made the roof with the clear corrugated plastic just like you have there. We're planning on enclosing it now that the wood has been used over the winter and making it a mini-greenhouse for starting seeds! Looking forward to more tutorials. Thanks!

Glad that tip helps you like it helps me! Wow nice going with your storage shed/greenhouse! sounds like it will be good investment of time that would pay off for years to come :)

You have received an upvote from @livesustainably. I promote and curate content that encourages and educates others in living sustainably. You can support the live sustainably cause on Steemit by upvoting, resteeming and creating content under the tag #livesustainably.

You can also benefit and support the cause by using the upvote bot @greengrowth.

Minimum bids from 0.01 SBD! The early adopters of this new bot have been receiving 100% upvotes! Wow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54414.30
ETH 2295.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30