Planting Garlic - Late is Better than Never!

in #homesteading7 years ago

@idyllwild and I just moved into our new off grid rental home a little over a week ago. Last week our first priority was getting unpacked and settling in. Tied for first priority was get the garlic in the ground ASAP!!!

We are already late to the garlic planting game since it's better to do it in the fall before the ground freezes over, especially for hardnecks. Being in the ground all winter allows the garlic cloves to start slowly developing strong root systems throughout the winter.

We're rule breakers so we say, no matter! We're not going to let missing out on a fall planting hold us back from planting this spring. Maybe our garlic won't be as big, or maybe the harvest will come later in the season. Either way it's not enough reason for us to give up on garlic.

A few days into our unpacking I pulled out the garlic and we started popping the cloves!

IMG_20180228_154150.jpg

I have a lot of gratitude for our garlic. It was all gifted to us by two farms that we worked with. Green Waves farm gifted us garlic seconds last year for helping them plant their garlic crops. Green Mantis farm who we work traded for a home to live in also shared their seconds with as well. We had plenty of garlic to eat through the winter and came out with quite a bit more... perfect for planting!

Since it is almost spring, some of the garlic has gotten soft and some cloves have mold growing on them. So we were careful to sort out garlic that was moldy or looked like it wasn't going to make it, as well as some for our own fresh eating.

The interesting thing about sorting garlic at the end of winter is that you can see what keeps the best. This gives me an idea about breeding garlic. I am wary about planting only cloves because you are essentially planting clones of clones of clones every year. The genetics do not have a chance to evolve. I would like to breed my own garlic on a two year breeding cycle. Two years because the first year a clove is bread to go to seed. The second year the seeds are planted to grow cloves. Some cloves are planted immediately that fall and some are saved for eating and some saved for planting seed the next year.

If garlic planted in the late winter/early spring don't produce huge cloves it may still be a useful endeavor because you can grow the best keeping cloves out for seed that year. If it doesn't produce huge heads that year who cares because you are growing it for seed.

In any case I am hoping for decent sized heads!

We are blessed with access to garden with amazing soil. There are some beds with soil that has already been worked previous seasons and a lot of the garden is still in grass. We'll likely be digging up grass and prepping new beds. In either case under the grass and in the existing beds the soil is beautiful. It is clay, but dark rich with organic matter. Very different than the clay I was dealing with in my first and second gardens.

IMG_20180227_161459.jpg

The soil is super wet right now so we don't want to do a lot of digging. We picked one of the bigger beds that wasn't too soggy, weeded it, planted the garlic and walked away.

IMG_20180228_165337.jpg

We found it easiest to lay out the garlic cloves in the spacing that we wanted and then go back over it and plant them.

IMG_20180228_165306.jpg

IMG_20180228_165322.jpg

Once all the garlic was planted we used lawn clippings to mulch the bed.

IMG_20180305_175857.jpg

I will keep you posted on the garlic progress and harvest throughout the year! In the meantime we are doing a bunch of prep work for getting seeds started. I will be sharing that with you shortly!

Sort:  

Is that a horiHori I spy in the third to last photo? They are such handy tools arent they!?

Yes it is.. good eye! I love using hori horis, especially for planting. This one was a gift from a homesteader I worked with last year. After planting garlic and last season of using it, I realized it needed to be sharpened and put a new edge on it :)

Looks like a Horihori to me also, the Japanese make the best garden tools with no exceptions!

I call it the gardener's tactical shovel ;)

Very nice post!! There can never be enough garlic in the world!! Lucky for us in Thailand it grows like a weed all year round. Your detailed pics are really helpful and informative.

Wow that is very lucky! Not to mention bamboo, ginger, galangal, papaya and so many others ;)

An off-grid rental sounds amazing! I havent heard of anything like that happening in Australia yet unfortunately :( but hopefully it takes off here too.
Garlic can be a tricky one to grow where I live as the cold season is very short, I always get a small harvest but still worthwhile doing!
Happy gardening!

It is amazing so far! I don't think off grid rentals are typical, actually I think it was a pretty rare find for us. So I am really glad to be here :) I'll have to share more in another post. I wish you good luck with your garden and harvest this year!

Awesome I will be keen to read more about it. Hopefully the concept takes off :-)

Garlic is what I keep forgetting about until it's too late. So, since we've got 3 feet of snow over our garden right now, I wonder what I should do. I will google it, but also curious what you would recommend, since you spent some time in this snowy NW climate. Thanks!

Well if you are really tenacious you could dig under the snow and see if there are any spots in your garden that the soil is not frozen! Especially if you mulch your beds it could be a possibility. If you find any un frozen spots then you are in luck and you can plant! Or if you are really driven you could pick-axe up some of the frozen ground and plant under.

The other thing that just occurred to me is starting garlic indoors and then transplanting out when the ground is thawed. I've never done this but a quick google and it turns out it is quite doable! Read here and here about transplanting garlic.

Maybe try both if you have enough time/interest!

If your ground is frozen, you could also try planting cloves when it is thawed. From what I have heard, softneck is more forgiving in this approach than hardneck. But starting them indoors in pots is probably a safer bet because the roots and leaves will have more time to develop which is a plus in your climate :)

Garlic is very useful vegetables... And its planting is very simple...
Thank you @sagescrub for sharing this.

Yeah! I love how easy it is to plant and care for :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54295.07
ETH 2287.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31