๐Ÿ˜ What do you need to be happy? ๐Ÿ˜ @ecotrain QOTW ๐Ÿ’›

in #ecotrain โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

currency of happiness.jpg

Ah, the elusive happiness!! It seems we are all chasing it in one way or another, even though we don't quite realise it. In thinking about @ecotrain's question of the week, I have to ask myself whether I'm happy. Thankfully, on the whole I generally am. I see a lot of joy in my life and a lot of things to be grateful for, so I guess that's happiness. So whatever I need to be happy, I guess I got me some of that. How blessed am I!

Here's a few of the things that make me genuinely happy:

  • I have a loving relationship with my family and a few close friends who love me unconditionally
  • I am married to my best friend
  • I have a stable income and a roof over my head
  • I live in a safe and stable country with a good health care system
  • I feel I've made changes in my life to alter the stresses that caused the majority of my anxiety and depression
  • I have a beautiful house and 5 acres of land to grown my own food and garden
  • I live in nature and close to my beloved ocean
  • I am fit and healthy
  • I have the means to travel and do things that temporarily 'boost' my happiness.

Now that's probably the key to this happiness malarky - the knowledge of impermanence. Nothing lasts, ever. Any of those things can change at any moment, god forbid. My father's been ill and I know I might lose this man that's been the central force in my life forever. I know I too might get ill, or suffer an accident. Or Jamie. Being in bed for the last two days with an illness has been challenging to say the least.

Buddhism teaches us that things change, moment to moment. This is both on a cellular level and at a level we percieve more clearly. We only have to look at the natural world for that - the seed is planted, the tree grows, and dies, and returns to the earth. Us humans fool ourselves by thinking we are outside nature, but it's probably wise to understand that we too are subjects to impermance and change. It's the only constant.

So maybe a little bit of this insight has provided me with some happy?

I loved @holisticmom's answer to this question, and she expresses it well as she talks about one of her solutions to the crisis of unhappiness that the world seems to be experiencing:

Shake off the materialism, live simply. Consumerism is the cancer of this planet. When we learn to escape the need for material things and learn to be comfortable with less can really help us to feel happier. When we buy things that are purely serving our wants rather than our needs, we are superficially creating happiness. When we have everything we want, we want more and more and the cycle continues. We often get into debt trying to create this outside world fueled by ego. This world makes us rely on others to validate our happiness because we are showing people 'look what I have'. Social acceptance is considered much easier when we have things in common. So if you like makeup or high fashion, you become part of this club where everyone validates each others' happiness. But we are never really and truly happy within. We are just seeking approval from others. When we discard the fancy clothing, makeup, house decorated to keep up with the Jones's, and find people to connect with that really couldn't give two hoots if you have holes in your sweater or the type of car you drive or even if you hair is a mess. People that care about connection and community. People who care about others. People who are about making this thing called HUMAN EXPERIENCE enjoyable and fun. That is where the happiness is.

She also included this amazing video, which totallly sums up what most of us do without really realising it. As much as I hate to steal from you @holisticmom, I can't believe how well this cartoon sums up what we get sucked into and I absolutely HAVE to share it!

So, basically what we're doing is pinning all our dreams and happiness on things that don't last - that are superficial, and often sold to us like snake oil.

When I sat my Vipassana, the teacher Goenke-ji would say that we're always 'wanting, wanting' and made jokes about this - we are never happy with what we have. This has becoming a running joke with my Dad whenever we lust after something - 'wanting, wanting' we say to each other, reminding ourselves that perhaps this need is driven by a desire for happiness, and reminding each other that we don't need this shit to be happy.

This doesn't mean we detach or remove enjoyment from life completely - we can still love, and feel joy, and delight.

I was watching a video on you tube the other day about a girl who had quit her ten day vippassana retreat because she didn't feel that controlling her mind and her actions in that way was 'enlightening' at all and felt it was important to sing, dance, create, love. I think she missed the point somewhat - such teachings aren't tellings us that we can't do those things at all.

We can dance and sing and laugh and love but we also must do so with the understanding that things don't last.

However, as I'd like to argue with that (and I'm really wanting to say young, arrogant and naive girl but I won't) that's pretty freeing, isn't it? Because if joy doesn't last, then nor does suffering. Suffering just isn't as fun to live through, and seems to last longer. I know this because two days in bed with an infection on holiday feelings like an unhappy eternity. But, like the famous Sufi understanding, 'this too shall pass' - nothing lasts forever. This goes for the happiness we feel on buying the coveted new television or the holiday in Bali. Nothing lasts, but that's okay, because that's the nature of life. It's only when we think it's going to last that we suffer.

That's why Buddhist and some other traditions have these great tricks to help us 'get' this idea of impermance by concentrating on the physical body:



One of the tricks meditators use (and in fact, pretty much every religion in the entire world teaches this idea in one way or another) is the idea of equanimity. An equanimous mind experiences things moment to moment with neither clinging nor aversion, desire nor running away. As Thich Nat Hanh says, 'you climb the mountain to be able to look over the whole situation, not bound by one side or the other'. How they achieve this equanimity is not the aim of this post, and I'm sure most of you reading this understand meditative techniques that allow this to happen as a habit of mind.

Habits of mind are thus also a key to happiness. If we're always focussing on the negative, that's what our life will be, and vice verse. Neuroscience also tells us this. So if we're practicing insight meditations, we're far more likely to be happy because we know that just like happiness, suffering doesn't last, and vice verse. We can also find great joy in these moment to moment experiences.


buddha-life-quotes-inspiration-best-happiness-ideas-on-by-gautam-budd.jpg
Think of a time in your past that you were desperately unhappy. Did it last?


And so happiness in these moments means different things to different people. I find great, divine, incredibly moments of joy in places that might not resonate for others. I'm glad that I don't need a lot of money for the things that make me feel this joy - being completely aware of my body and mind and breathe during yoga, for example, brings me great joy, as does helping others, or watching a sunset next to a volcano (I did try to keep the volcano out of this post, but she's got a way of weaving herself in).

And between those times, maybe life sucks, or maybe it doesn't, but none of it lasts, and that makes me happy.

Of course it's different strokes for different folks. I know it was a lot harder for me when I was in the midst of depression. But I do think this understanding stopped me sinking further and it also gave me a way out.

I also worry about J. too as we don't have a solid community here and he misses his family in the UK. We know that community is important for mental health and thus this feeels like a bit of a barrier to complete happiness. However, we're working on doing something about that, or just accepting it as a kind of hermitage.

I don't pretend to have any answers to the key to happiness. What I do know is that it's not ever going to come from outside the self - it's only by finding happiness within that we'll find happiness outside ourselves.

This is becoming more pertinent to me as I get older too. I've never really been that accepting of my external appearance, and this hasn't change a lot since I hit 40. But then meditation on aging and death is the key to my happiness too - this is part of the law of impermanence and the miracle of life. No decay and death means no life to begin with - there's the paradox of duality again. We're all on this mortal coil to learn these lessons and maybe in the next lifestime that lesson will arrive sooner, if you believe in that kind of thing.

I guess if I died tomorrow, I'd want to die happy. So when I really, really ask myself, am I happy? I'd say yeah, yeah I am. Life is pretty darn good and I'm totally blessed to be here.

May you all find what you need to be happy, good folk of the Steemiverse. xx



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif




ecotrain.png

Want to find more quality posts about helping the Earth and humanity and generally making the world a better place? Check out the #ecotrain and #tribesteemup trails, and consider adding them to your autovoting. Please ask if you're unsure what this might mean for you.

image.png
You can read about the 8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp here

riverflows2.png

Sort: ย 

You just have to choose a sad day or happy day

If it could be so simple!! ๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’›

Very beautiful tribesteemup post Thank you so much My Dear friend

You are welcome, and thanks ๐Ÿ’›

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

There is nothing constant except the change itself. The sooner we realize this sooner we can start enjoying each and every moment. Your post was very inspirational to read and has a lovely message of love and positivity. This world needs more texts like this one. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and making our lives a bit brighter with your wisdom ๐Ÿ’š

Thabks so much for your beautiful comment. Im sure many wise souls say it far better than me.. i bow down to their wisdoms that helped me immeasurably. ๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’›

A lovely, gentle, reflective piece. I think we need nothing to be happy other than the willingness to be be happy. Because as you say, everything passes and changes. When we can FEEL that and FEEL our eternal self in the eternal now, happiness is the only sane option. :)

"Nothing lasts, but that's okay, because that's the nature of life. It's only when we think it's going to last that we suffer."

You are so right. Everything is temporary and in a constant state of change.
I'm really touched that you included my thoughts into this. <3 I'm so pleased that you are happy deep down. I really enjoyed your article and I'm so pleased you decided to write on this topic xxx <3

I loved your solutions to happiness so much and this video was perfect perfect. Why say again what someone else has said so well? Thanks again. Yes, deep down i'm happy - i know my upsets are superficial, on the surface whirlpools of no consequence. xx

I quit a Vippassana halfway through once. I quit because I was having anxiety attacks and had insomnia and a UTI, and thought somehow that leaving would help these things. Or help me 'get away' from the sleep and panic issue. Instead, when I left, I kept dealing with these things in 'the real world' for weeks, which was even harder. It would have helped if I had stuck it through because I feel slightly traumatized by what my body was doing with no resolve. I know intellectually that the idea is that 'suffering' is temporary and only a sensation that comes and goes and you can choose to attach to it, or to let it flow. I studied Philosophy and Religion in college, and focused a lot of my work on Indic Studies, so again, I get it from the brain, but not from the heart. My partner has done over 10 Vippassanas, and explains some of these concepts to me at times when I'm having trouble- like lately with sleeping.

Thanks for all these thoughts. It again is reminding me of things I need to remember. I'll try to finish a Vippassana again someday.

Oh darling I didn't mean to imply those who quite the course were 'less than', it was just she was waxing lyrical about how she thought this ancient practice was terrible because she didn't believe in sitting around and NOT DANCING OR SINGING, and discredited the whole thing in a very young white girl kinda way, even going so far as to say that no one could prove enlightenment even happened so what was the point of meditating in that way. Pretty heavy criticisms for someone who didn't even sit out a course.

That must have been awful - Im just getting over a UTI right now and THERE IS NO WAY I could have sat and meditated for that long with one. I was in agony because of my SI joints - real agonising pain and Iremember crying to the teacher and she was saying that these things came up in the course and I was getting angry because I was like - you aren't listening to me, it's really painful!!! But lo and behold, she was right - on Day 10 it miraculously disappearedd!!!

However in your case it seems that it was a pretty awful thing happening and when you're suffering so it's really hard to have teh mental strength to finish.

I had studied Buddhism and other religions at college too, and knew about the whole concept of impermanence and etc, but it really was experience that made me go - oh wow - this is what it is!!! Nothing like experiential understanding. Wow - your partner has done ten? That's cool. My best friend is a senior meditator /teacher of 20 years who travels to the centres with her husband and holds the courses. She'd be one of hte teachers we'd complain too haha and is up there on the podium. I've only ever done one as finding time is hard.I"m going to do one in Dec though as hubby is going to the UK and it seems perfect timing, I'm quite excited about it. I think we can put away our singing and dancing for ten days for some insight haha. I'm a bit scared but also - bring it on!!! xxx I hope you get to do one one day and have a better time of it. I know that each one can be different so, like childbirth, I've recovered and am ready to go again! x @ofsedgeandsalt

I'll try again one day. When the time is right. I think when I do, I certainly will go in knowing how hard it will be, but how worth it it is to stick it through.
Interesting about pain disapearing. My partner who has done Vipassana a lot says this about his pains. He broke his back a long time ago and this meditation has helped his unravel the 'knots' he ties around that injury.

Yoga teachers will often say the 'issues are in the tissues' - it's a fascinating science that there's much research into that are confirming what meditators and yogis have known all along. The body stores its shit. xxx

I'm going in December, I may have said, but I'm both terrified and excited. Pain - ugh!! I just released some stuff about my breath I'd been carrying, so even me, who's fit and healthy and seemingly okay is gonna struggle with physical pain. Let go, let go, let go.

How delcious there's a practice that enables us to do that.

issues are in the tissues. how we carry things we don't realize, in our physical bodies. I've gotten more used to to the idea that suffering is just another state of being, just like all the rest. What would it really be like to accept that idea on a tangible level, right here in this body?

I've been reading this book called yoga and the subtle body by Tias Little and a few other texts that explore how our emotions and experiences affect everything in the body... blood flow, lymph, nerves, tissue damage, the works. Its fascinating. I'm so intrigued with this metaphorical mapping of the body in Vedic/indian/daoist and other understandings and the intersection of this with science. Endlessly fascinating.

Funny, my partner who has been really into Vipassana the past decade has been reading that book this past year too. I've had such major issues with anxiety- and depression usually from anxiety that seems crippling- something that has been worse since traveling more and feeling like I don't have a home base. I tell myself it's an 'illusion' of sorts, and try to trick myself out of feeling 'homeless' and that 'home is everywhere' but its hard on an intellectual level which is where my brain tends to go with things. I talk to my partner about it- I'm like : 'just give me instructions as to 'how to change' the anxiety." it's not that simple.

Thats a weird coincidence that yiur partner has been reading that too!!!!

I know that anxiety...its familiar. Its awful. I have a home base now but STILL get anxious .. and I dont like everything being the same amd plunge into ideas like.. lets rent the house and travel the world in a truck! Or .. lets sell up and move onto a narrowboat in the UK.. and i know we will do something but fuck it makes me anxious at the same time. Work is a nightmare... i am okay until exam time or assessments and then i get really bad. Ive learnt ALOT of it is my diet and adrenal glands that DO NOT handle stress at all... so i have to quit coffee, sugar, eat well.. drink damiana!!!!!! ... etc.. and do Lots of meditation and yoga .. kinda as habitual as brushing my teeth. And i wonder why everyone else seems so chill. But im not sure they all are..

Its all process, baby....

Beautifully written, and thank you.
Changes are not permanent. Though change is.
That said, In the hustle and bustle of perpetual change, it can be very reassuring to know that we self-aware bundles of conscious energy are also quite permanent. You have always been, you always will be. So I say "be happy!"
-Logan

Thankyou Logan!!!! I love your positive and happy vibe ๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’›

This is an amazing write up. Our mindsets have a great role to play with our happiness. Positive thinking boost our happiness and I like concept of mental calmness. It's very important to be mentally calm, to meditate and dream for they are keys to happiness

Thanks so much ๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’› I struggle to be mentally calm, so meditation is a great tool for me x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89