De-Toxing with Moong Dahl: A Green Soup for Liver Chi

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

@eco-alex's community project this month is cooking for one of the 5 elements in Chinese medicine.

He writes:

This week we are cooking with the Wood Element, which is good for the liver and the gallbladder. The colour associated with the liver and gallbladder is Green and the taste associated with it is Sour. It is also associated with the emotion of Rage. The dishes we make will be good for the liver and gallbladder and will reflect the attributes of the Wood Element.

Last week I enjoyed a TCM yin yoga class focussed on the liver, and laughed that this was always the class people walked out of. It's hard to sit with your emotions when rage or anger or frustration simmers up in the body!

I love syncronicity. I was thinking of this challenge just when I needed it the most - on the weekend not only was I faced with the upcoming work week after a holiday and all the decisions I had to make and the organising I had to do, but was debilitated with a migraine - right behind both eyes and into my temples. I've also had a UTI this week, contracted in Bali, and I've been rather sensitive in that area, as if it's going to come back with a vengeance if I'm not careful. And because of it, I find myself simmering with annoyance - why me, after such a fabulous holiday? Why is my body letting me down? And why the fuck do I have to work for a living!

Hm. Time to calm down and nurture myself I think. Paying attention to my liver meridian can only do me some good. Get that liver chi flowing and me feeling better. Moong soup is perfect for this, both in Chinese and Ayurvedic medicine. It's a great de-tox soup I use when I'm feeling particularly sluggish and emotionally unstable!


image.png

The foods that I'll be using for my moong soup are perfect for the liver:

Turmeric

Turmeric is the liver’s favorite spice. Try adding some of this detoxifying goodness into your next lentil stew or veggie dish for an instant liver pick-me-up. Turmeric helps boost liver detoxification by assisting enzymes that actively flush out dietary toxins.[1]

Leafy Greens

Leafy greens are one of our most loved allies, and we've got an abundance of them in the garden, particularly dandelion leaves, silver beet, spinach and coriander. They're great to help detox the liver because they're high in chloroyphyll and soak up enviro toxins from our blood stream. They help increase the flow of bile which takes waste away from the blood. They've got the ability to neutralise heavy metals, chemicals and pesticides, so they're wonderful liver de-tox foods. In Bali I had my fill of green drinks, knowing they'd support me through the stress of travelling, and I'm a little fed up with cold drinks in this cold weather, so my greens will be in a soup.

Lemons

Mum's got lemons dripping off her tree, so I'll be adding lemon to the soup. It's high in Vitamin C of course, and thus anti-oxidants, so it's going to help out with my liver's cleansing ability. I've been drinking litres of water with lemon in it, but the sour element of lemon will also be good for my liver cleansing soup. I'm also a big fan of lemons for making flavour pop out in any dish. Thankfully, my lemon tree has survived the frost thus far this year, so hopefully next year it'll produce more. Lemon trees are all over the place in Australia, so its always easy to find someone with a tree that can spare me some. Most people don't use lemons as much as I do, but I totally love them and use them abundantly.

Coriander

Coriander grows in my garden really well at this time of the year - I shake seeds all over the garden and it springs up wild. It's traditionally used for all sorts of things from indigestion to - guess what!! UTI! It will also make my soup extra green, so yay for coriander. It's another liver supportive herb and great as an antioxidant.

Garlic

I realise the irony of this as I just wrote two posts about how garlic is no longer our ally in this house, but that's more Jamie's issue than mine, and he can't eat moong beans anyway unless sprouted, and besides, this is MY soup. Just a little bit of garlic can activate liver enzymes that help my body flush out toxins, and has allicin and selenium to help cleanse this vital organ.

Ghee and/or Coconut Oil

Ghee might be a bit controversial for vegans, but you can substitute coconut oil if you like. Ghee contains medium-chain fatty acids - the liver absorbs these well and burns straight away, making it a good source of energy. Plus, it gives the soup an extra creaminess.

image.png

2 cups of moong beans, soaked overnight in water and drained
2 tsps of turmeric
1 bunch of coriander
Stock to taste
Cummin seeds or cummin powder (about 1 tablespoon)
Honey to taste
Two tablespoons or more of ghee
2 cloves of garlic and 1 onion (optional - can substitue spring onions)
1 cinnamon stick
Green vegetables - 2 - 3 cups
Lemon

Saute the garlic, onions, turmeric, cummin seeds until fragrant. Add green vegetables, moong beans, cinnamon stick, stock and enough water to cover and cook until the moong beans are soft. Transfer to a blender (if you want a less creamy soup, transfer only half) and blend with the bunch of coriander. Return to the pot and heat gently with the remaining ghee. Sometimes I find this soup can taste a little bitter, so I add some honey to it to counter that which works a treat.

Serve with a liberal squeeze of lemon, cracked black pepper (which helps absorb the turmeric) and a lot of love.


image.png
Green enough for you?

In Ayurvedic medicine, moong soup is perfect for cleansing or de-toxing, and you can safely eat it for a good few days without any harm to the system. Since I've made such a big pot, I think I'll be eating it all week.

I'll end this post with a quick little yoga note on poses that strengthen and nurture the yin meridians, too. Yin yoga is so perfect for accessing this part of our bodies and I always feel good after it. I'd pose myself, but I'm too full of soup. For each pose, hold for about five minutes, trying to surrender into the pose rather than fight it. We can then work with what's there and observe the flow of energy or prana or chi in our bodies - a 'wit(h)nessing' of body processes. I love how yoga and food work together to support our bodies systems. We have everything we need, right here!


image.png
Source



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

My_Post_1.jpg

1wEUFtd.jpg
Want to find more quality posts? Consider the #tribesteemup trail, and adding them to your autovoting along with #ecotrain.. Please ask if you're unsure what this might mean for you.

image.png
You can read about the 8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp here

riverflows2.png

image.png

A community driven curation & mutual support group - request membership here

Sort:  

This is so interesting to me because I don’t know anything about the elements of the body and the foods associated with the elements. I find it intriguing.

I use lemon juice in pretty much every single thing I cook.

Coriander is my faaaaaaaaaavorite herb. I eat it in large quantities like it’s a vegetable.

This soup looks absolutely delicious and I may have to use this recipe.

I’m three days into a dry fast. Check out my account. Dry fasts heal ANYTHING and EVERYTHING. Maybe check out some of my posts for your UTI. It can heal that in a snap.

You have a post for Uti??? Amazing. Sorry to have lost track of you beautiful... sounds like I have some catching up to do. You are a woman after my own heart with the corianders and lemons!!!!

I have several videos about fasting that will cure ANYTHING. You could knock that the fuck out in 3 days.

Yeah, we kinda lost track of each other!!

Im so tired now but ill pop by tomorrow. Steemit is wierd like that. Xx no way of proper keeping track...

You’re right. I don’t feel like I’ve seen you in my feed for a long time. Maybe it’s the time difference. ‍♀️

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-18T01:00:24
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 175.40/200.00
Total Photos: 30
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This looks AMAZING. I guess my body is craving it too! We do very similar soups often, but I like your variation too. Jealous your Mum is laden with lemons 😍

Her tree is, not her haha - and mandarins and limes too!! Bless her. Moong dahl or soup has so many variations and they always taste so different and so good!!! It'd do your infection good too @mountainjewel, I'd reckon.. xx

Bless her (and her trees) indeed! 🍋🍋🍋🍋
Yessssss id reckon too. Will make a variant today as we aren’t lemon laden!!! 😘

At least you can put lots of garlic and onions in yours!

guess what im going to have for lunch today.. i usually make it thicker rather than soupy.. but i like this idea of an actual soup.. very nice..

and always good to read a little backstory and connections to life! Why the fuck do we need to work for a living indeed! <3

Oh oops, did I swear? Hahaha, yep, that's how I felt about work this week, although I'm in the swing of it now, and the soup is helping!! I like it as dahl too, but I don't always feel like rice, and soup is pure comfort food!

my dhal is soaking!

btw you forgot to tag it medicinal-cooking ;-)

Oh!!! I Will!

This soup looks so appetizing, the colours and ingredients are so perfect. Soup is my favourite comfort food and I can't wait to try your recipe.

I don't have moong beans and I will have to see if I can grow some. Having just looked them up they sound like a really important super food ingredient. I might cheat on my "no buy" rule and pick some up because I really do want to try this! :)

Mmm I love dahl! But yours looks particularly delicious and healthy. I would love to try it with the added coriander, lemon, and honey; sounds interesting, but quite yummy. I'll be saving this recipe for a rainy day (that's when I love to eat soup :) ) Such a great way to help your body heal.
And the yoga...it's always hard for me to get myself up and moving when I'm feeling sluggish or unhealthy, but, as I'm sure you know, that is one of the most important times to stick with a practice, as it is actually one of the fastest ways to kick start our immune systems and help us heal.
Thanks for sharing. It was a pleasure to read, as always
xx

You are welcome. Rainy days are perfect for soup. I could eat coriander in everything.. I love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66819.05
ETH 3320.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75