November Entry -SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge

in #ecotrain6 years ago

November and winter has come early here in my home in the Boreal Region of Canada, still I continue to garden but indoors.
@simplymike is holding her 7th SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge for the month of November.

Outdoor Garden with 8 " of Snow. All Gardening Moved Indoors

snow covering middle garden combined with warm glow on indoor garden.JPG

I'm so happy I developed my indoor garden with winter coming early here.

Gardening for Food Security Continues

Gardening for food security plants under LED in Sunroom.JPG

Follow the development of the indoor garden project at:

Part 1 - https://steemit.com/gardening/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-new-project-beginning

Part 2 - https://steemit.com/gardening/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-new-project-beginning-part-2

Part 3 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-project-part-3-the-experiment-worked

Part 4 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/video-tour-gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-project-part-4

Part 5 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/why-i-brought-my-gardening-indoors-indoor-gardening-project-part-5

The roof is taken off the hoop house/covered garden for the winter to let the snow build up on the garden beds inside. Also so the weight of the snow doesn't collapse it.

Those were my plum trees that are all bent and laden with snow in front of the greenhouse.
I think this heavy snow will do some pruning around the yard. All the young trees were bent right to the ground.
Check out some of the photos at a post I did earlier at:
https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/look-what-i-woke-up-to-a-winter-wonderland
and
https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/more-of-my-winter-wonderland

Roof is off the Greenhouse to Let the Snow In

snow on coverd garden.JPG

I managed to dig out some of different plants from my outdoor garden and some plants that were in containers to move indoors. This gave me a jump on having fresh greens, etc. ready for eating.
I had Malabar Spinach, Lettuce, kale, parsley, celery, rhubarb chard, basil and green onions (I had grown them from food scraps and they keep on producing) that I bought in.

View of the Front of the Sun Room with the Indoor Garden

front of house with icicles on sunroom showing grow lights.JPG

As we harvested the lettuce and as it was getting older, we got some young seedlings started to replenish the first crop, dug out from the garden. We'll keep a rotation happening to ensure fresh greens.

Young Lettuce, Spinach, Arugula and Basil Seedlings

close up young seedlings with snowy scene behind.JPG

Seed catalogues are coming in and I'm doing lots of planning for next year while keeping warm by the fire!

All photos taken with my Canon PowerShot A495

Thanks for stopping by!
I love engaging with folks here so please feel free to leave any comments or questions,
if you found this post beneficial an Upvote is appreciated.

If you enjoyed this post,
Please don’t hesitate to follow me here on steemit at @porters

Sort:  

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and possibly a resteem too.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Congrats you won the daily Gogreenbuddy upvote worth roughly 50 cents! Keep writing like this and you will keep winning!

Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63365.67
ETH 3398.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44