The Human Connection Part 2 (Day 8 of 30 of the Happiness Challenge)

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

happiness8part2.jpg

After getting The Human Connection written and put out late last night, I woke up thinking I left it half finished…

I should have included a section on how to make human connections. I know for some (myself included in this) that is hard.

I was in a relationship where it ended up being just me and him against the world and so when that ended, it was like starting all over again, as I’d lost contact most of my friends years before.

One of the most important things you can do is get out of the house. I went to lots of self-help groups on mindfulness, self-esteem, and confidence building, which were so enlightening and got me out of the house once a week.

Here were many other people going through the same emotions, but different circumstances and it definitely helped me on my own journey of making new connections and feeling part way ‘normal’ again.

I have also met some colorful people on Steemit, some I wouldn’t recommend being in those 5 people who you spend the most time with, as I managed to attract some people who weren’t so unlike my ex-husband, who just liked to use people.

But now, I am in a place where mostly I am surrounded by positive people, who care about the communities that they are in and it’s great to have a feeling of belonging. I have met people, who I have the motivation to move mountains to go and meet one day.

At the same time though, one should remember, to make meaningful connections outside of the online world. I have very few in this respect still…

I see friends I made on the self improvement courses, almost weekly, my father and stepmom every month or so and now I have also re-signed up to this Facebook group that arranges local meetups in cafes and one of those is coming up next week, which I’m going to try to muster up courage to go to (but may clash with seeing established friend).

When I was a kid, I moved house 6 times before I was 16 and I never seemed to have any issues finding new friends every time we moved, but now it seems really difficult to break into already formed cliques and it’s easy to stop trying and give up.

Sometimes they are not worth pursuing, especially when gossip and backstabbing seem to be the name of the day, which seems to be quite common hushed talk in the playground, waiting for the children to be released from school.

So not only are cliques difficult to get into but sometimes when you do manage to get a foot in the door, you might want to quickly retreat!

It’s really important to concentrate on finding the right kinds of people to surround yourself with because the right people can help you flourish, but the wrong ones will drown you with toxicity.

Don’t settle for any less and as you wander around, be a beacon for the type of people you’d like to meet. Smile, be open, honest and pay compliments, as you might just make someone’s day, or meet someone that radiates the same warmth back - fellow brothers and sisters.

Even, in the internet marketing side of my business, this month I have come across the most extraordinary crowd of sincere people who actually care about helping and don’t shovel shiny objects in your face all the time. It pays to be open, honest AND kind. Lots of valuable lessons have been learned.

But even humans connections that are fleeting can be satisfying too. Simple gestures - a smile, a compliment, sharing what you have with a stranger can make a world of difference.

One of the comments that I read on one of these happiness posts really touched me and made my day. It was a thoughtful reply that seriously made my day, I’ve been smiling all day and even meeting my ex-husband today so he could see kids went really well.

Even if he did introduce them to the 2 pence slot machines at the amusement arcade and turned them (and me, like I need much encouragement lol) into little gamblers for a couple of hours.

If you sometimes you feel lost and lonely, you can be sure you are not the only one and you know yourself, even a smile would go a long way to help them and indeed that smile also helps you.

Make it your daily mantra to find ways to Spread Love and Connect to everyone you meet during the day. ~Tejal Patel of Astitva Seekers

What advice would you give about forming human connections?

(Pictures from pexels.com)

happinesssep1.png

Previous Days

Day 1 of 30 of the Happiness Challenge: How Happiness Is A Choice You Can Make Daily
Day 2 of 30 of the Happiness Challenge: Make Happiness Your Best Friend
Day 3 of 30 of the Happiness Challenge: Start Your Day With Gratefulness
Day 4 of 30 of the Happiness Challenge: Start Your Day With Gratefulness
Day 5 of 30 of the Happiness Challenge: Time to Get Busy...
Day 6 of 30 of the Happiness Challenge: Know Your Onions About Dealing With Stress
Day 7 of 30 of the Happiness Challenge: The Connection Between Happiness and Exercise
Day 8 of 30 of the Happiness Challenge: The Human Connection

happinesssep1.png

ecotrain.png

tribe-steemup-member-banner2.jpg

Sort:  

The type of people we connect with to an extent also frames up our own personality. It is best to be with joyful, easy go lucky type of people. I am so glad you have the right set of people around you right now in your life. You are a very cheerful person and I am sure people around you do enjoy your company. Do keep sharing your happiness challenge views and experiences, it is wonderful to read a post with so much positivity and good vibes.

Congratulations @hopehuggs! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 40000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 45000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88