Make Happiness Your Best Friend (Day 2 of 30 of the Happiness Challenge)

in #ecotrain5 years ago (edited)

happiness2frog.jpg

Let’s think here, what does it mean to be really committed to something?

Day 2: Commit to Happiness

Simply it means you set a goal and you decide that you will do all that you can to reach that goal.

We hear the word commitment when people talk of relationships and careers and even hobbies, but your own personal happiness is one of the most important things you could ever choose to commit yourself to, as it opens many doors in so many areas in your life.

So if we allow happiness to become our best friend, we open the doors to committing to allowing it in our lives and cultivating it.

Yesterday, I said that happiness is a choice and I shared my goal of writing daily posts for the next 30 days to help everyone (including me as we all need a good reminder now and then) to make a conscious decision to be happier in ourselves and to create habits that last a lifetime.

We’ll become experts in spotting silver linings.

silverlining.jpg

The First Step

So the first step to in order to make this happen, is to make a commitment to this challenge and to happiness.

This is what you have to do to achieve any goal or habit that you want to cultivate and ingrain as part of your being. You have to take the step to commit to it.

Then you need to do it daily until the new behavior or action becomes a habit, without you having to physically think about it, it becomes an automatic action. Wouldn’t it be great to let happiness be that habit?

I don’t think there is anyone I have ever met who doesn’t want to be happy, even if it is buried a little deeper in some cases.

So let’s commit to a journey towards happiness. I’m not saying it's going to be as easy as saying “I am going to be happy from now on”, while that is great to say, think and feel that, it means little without daily actions to reinforce it.

What Does Happiness Mean to You

Actually, there is something we need to do before we commit to happiness and that is defining what happiness actually means to you.

It is likely that your very own definition of happiness is different to mine, after all, you don’t have the same people in my life as I do and vice versa and that is just a small factor.

So your challenge for today is to think about what makes you happy AND what doesn’t make you happy. It is time to dig deep.

Maybe you like to curl up on the sofa with a good book and when you think deeper about that the reason that you like to do that is to escape from your own life. What is it in your own life that you are trying to hide from? What can you do about that?

If getting up for work at the crack of dawn makes you sad and there is nothing that you can do to change that situation right now, start to think about the positive things about getting up at that time - you see the sunrise, you get back home at a decent hour which lets you spend time with your partner and kids. It could be that implementing a nice relaxing bedtime routine and going to bed a little earlier improves your whole outlook on those early mornings and gets rid of the blues.

In the following days, we will dig deeper into what exactly makes us happy and how we can cultivate happiness in whatever life decides to throw in our direction.

But for now, start to think about what your own personal definition of happiness is and come up with a list of at least 10 different things or people that make you happy or smile when you think about them.

Leading by Example...

My definition of happiness:

I live to help others as that is my greatest joy and I always want to be able to do more. Though I do need to learn to do this not at the expense of myself. That is my never-ending quest that brings me joy although occasionally I make the wrong decision or experience a little heartache, but its still worth it, as it comes from the right place.

At the moment, the best I can do to help people is through words and support and I’d like to be able to do more. So I am busy creating and defining a lifestyle that will enable me to do just that and I intend to enjoy every step of the journey.

Here are my 10 (or more) things or people that make me happy:

  • My daughters
  • My mum and dad
  • My awesome friends on and off Discord
  • Supporting my friends
  • EasyDex, Ecotrain, TribeSteemUp, SMG and more
  • Listening (working on the talking)
  • Feeding the ducks
  • Hugging trees
  • Helping and encouraging
  • Reading a good book
  • Being arty-crafty
  • Writing, especially poetry and stuff that helps people

I’d love for you to share as much as you’d like to about what makes you happy in the comments too <3

Now you are thinking about what actually makes you happy, let’s commit to using the coming days to become happy as par for the course.

You won’t regret it.

With <3 @hopehuggs

Previous Days:

How Happiness is a Choice You Can Make Daily - Day 1 of 30 of the Happiness Challenge

ecotrain.png

tribe-steemup-member-banner2.jpg

Sort:  

Hey, this challenge is gorgeous and article is awesome: thanks for sharing it! 🙏🏻 (resteemed)

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's very apt, the definition of happiness will be different for all based on what priorities one have. I wish you a joyful time ahead and success in achieving what you have set for yourself 💖

My family and coffee. :)

What makes me happy(some of the things):

My children.
My father.
My Writing.
My friends, both local and online friends.
My bookshelf(its a mini library).
Good food!
Braai meat!
Biltong!
Coke a Cola!
Hanging out at the beach with my kids and digging holes... and so much more!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85