Ecotrain’s QOTW: A Perfect Day In An Imperfect World

in #ecotrain5 years ago

For me, the ecovillage of tomorrow can only happen once the global population has decreased to less than 2.5 Billion people. Anywhere above that, I believe that organic waste from humans combined with the already existing pollution is in itself too taxing for the planet. Let alone the extra pollution from goods and services on top of that.

37135E3399DD43A9BE638FAC3F3B6F74.jpeg

Transcending the eco-fantasy

We live in a world that likes to fantasize about off-grid communities, stating that it is better to show the way than to do nothing at all. If the global population went down under 2.5 billion, I would be willing to look at communities being more environmental than others but until then, humans are still going to be competing with other species with the unfair advantage of over-population.

Needless to say my ecovillage of the future is set in such a world. It comprises of 235 residents, 180 of which are specialized, 15 are floaters tasked to help with what is needed and the rest are children.

Life is extremely hard, and only a fragment of past technologies for medicine has survived to this day. Child mortality is back up, although to a lesser extent than for the early 19th century. With our understanding of hygiene, 2 children out of 3 pass the age of 5. We are busy ignoring children not to get attached but again, to a lesser extent than say 1822.

10002E9014424F1E84599552A94948E6.jpeg

Outcast with a Purpose

I am not too well liked in my community because my days are considered erratic with a flexible routine. I make up for it with my clairvoyance skills, functioning as a shaman in an increasingly structured spiritual paradigms. Despite my urging my compatriots to steer clear of the dogmas of organized religion, such a structure is slowly taking shape and I have to play to it as a spiritual leader to avoid exile.

I spend 2 hours a day, 5 days a week farming and 2 hours a week shovelling human shit which earns me enough credit to spend 10 hours a day sleeping. That and my readings as a clairvoyant which indeed comes from my time in my beloved Morpheus’ arms.

There is no perfect day here, not any more than there are for me writing this from yet another existence. However, my life is pretty damn awesome.

My job is to help the population heal from the horrors of 100 years ago when the grid went dark and all the nuclear centrals started melting down. Fortunately, here on the North American East Coast (current Maine), many centrals have avoided this by dedicating entire societies to cooling the Behemoths in the area. Still, it is common to catch game with a malignant tumours which we burn but we eat all sorts of animals with deformities.

46E80CD6C327402AB80FE6D95AD0264F.jpeg

Post-Apocaliptic

I help with a collective healing process using a spiritual approach and a passion for books which helps me create guidelines to steer clear of the errors of the past. I know that it is useless to do so, that we are bound to repeat those mistakes but I also know that hope is and has always been the number one currency when it comes to society. Hope and fear but I don’t have to worry about that one as Nature is back in it’s rightful place, creating all the fear necessary to keep people in line.

Sometimes I do feel bad about the information I choose to withhold from books. I am one of four scholars and we often debate about what those should be.

Things might look quite grim from where you are standing but it is really not so bad, not for me at least. Hierarchy has been instrumental in mending the psyche traumatized by the fall of the grid. I never knew cell phones in my lifetime but you should have seen the withdrawal symptoms of the previous generation. Hell, I feel like I have some of them too!

029366745DE54FD8ACACB923E5A841C8.jpeg

The Shaman

I know that knowledge is power but I don’t spend too much time convincing everybody else. All the citizens are valued in their own way and we try to foster as much liberty and free will as possible while surviving the forests populated by wilder beasts and slippery trails. Fall injuries can be utterly catastrophic and are a lot more common that animal attacks.

My favourite day in the year comes with Indian summer when the weather gets warm again in fall. That is when we hold the day of children where children take leadership of the village. I tend to serve as an advisor to them and hold no knowledge back so long as the information doesn’t get convoluted. If they do well on children day, the can keep ruling for all of 3 weeks, making sure we are well prepared for winter. If the cold bites too fast, they are taken out of that position even if they were doing a good job.

It is my favourite time of the year even though I have to do all sorts of tasks which I am not used to as I loose my shaman status for the most part.

5678328AD18C44B0962D482359AF52CD.jpeg

To imagine a perfect day in a fictitious world begs the famous question: what is happiness. In this case, I picked a day where my routine was replaced by something stimulating, governed by the hopes and dreams of the children in my society. It involves a fair bit of role play.

Other things that make a perfect day in any world include:

  • Laughter
  • Exceptional sex
  • A highly stimulating philosophical conversation
  • Making art
  • A day of signing mantras in sanscrit
  • An exceptional meal
  • Experiencing an altered state of consciousness

I am very grateful to Ecotrain’s question of the week which you can find here:
https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@ecotrain/what-does-your-perfect-day-look-like-in-the-ecovillage-of-tomorrow

It has allowed me to have fun while expressing views that I typically hold back for fear of hurting others and confronting them with themes that make them uncomfortable.

I found this #QOTD from @stortebeker, you can find his beautiful take on it here:
https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@stortebeker/a-typical-day-at-the-ecovillage-of-my-dreams-ecotrain-s-question-of-the-week

I took the photos during my trip in Montreal over the summer

Sort:  

Not sure how I missed this! An enjoyable read and I like the creative storylike approach.

Sometimes I do feel bad about the information I choose to withhold from books. I am one of four scholars and we often debate about what those should be.

Not sure how I feel about this sentence. Aren't we in the position we are today, because those who are in power think they know better and we don't get full disclosure? I would go for full disclosure with discussion on the consequences of certain actions.

Posted using Partiko Android

What ensured success yesterday might be our downfall tomorrow. History in and of itself is a massive simplification of events. What to disclose and what to hide is paramount in a post-apocalyptic society. People can form their own opinion, is the kind of idioms societies say with a full belly.

Thank you for you powerful encouragements, they touch my heart and I see where you are coming from.

Every fact can have different conclusions drawn about it from different people. If only a few people's conclusions are being allowed to count, because the information is being withheld from everyone else, then what if that is the wrong conclusion?

For example, data was collected on average sleep patterns and lifespan. Those that died younger had an average of over 8 hours sleep a night, while those who lived longer had an average of 8 hours or less. The conclusion drawn by some was that those who sleep longer at night, die younger. Another group realised that people who are sick sleep more in order for their bodies to try and heal. So the shorter life span may have had more to do with sickness than sleeping, but the symptom of the sickness was an average increase in sleeping hours.

Posted using Partiko Android

If you can see an advantage in withholding a particular piece of information (say you believe that a scientific study is correct because it was done over a long time on a large group of people), then it all becomes about if you will put society first or your self instead. And then is the personal gain worth the sacrifice of the common good.

Oh wow.. you really took me someqhere with this story! I dream of living in a post apocalyptic world sometimes but I don't wish it (yet).

The lack of danger is really something I feel we are missing in the west. It does keep you on your toes.

Excellent post. Main.... not too far from our little Hudson Valley.

What an outstanding response! I'm not supposed to give 100% votes and @eco-alex may slap my wrist for it LOL but you nailed this question on so many levels.

Kudos.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

I do hope you won’t get into trouble on my account. These little successes on Steemit are what I live for, let’s keep caring together.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.


Congratulations @edouard!
You raised your level and are now a Dolphin!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!


Congratulations @edouard!
You raised your level and are now a Dolphin!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63841.10
ETH 3299.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92