Sort:  

Woo! Love your post - we've given you a wee upvote and hope it helps you continue to write such amazing posts. We've also resteemed it, because you rock! We'll also add you the curation list for next week.

If you're a supporter of all things natural healing, and haven't already got on board our collective, you might like to read our introductory post here. We'd also love to welcome you on Discord here!!

Much gratitude to @naturalmedicine - really enjoying your presence on steemit. :) Thank you.

Your post has been hand-picked and shared in our "Spreading the Love" weekly curation series because your content promotes our core values of life, freedom, truth, love, and happiness! You can check it out here.

Thank you for your conscious contribution to this platform! Steem on! ❤

Thank you @freedomtribe !! :) Much appreciated.

Very timely. I knew about gut health but I wasn't entirely up with it's linked to serotonin. I literally just walked out of the acupuncturists and he was talking about serotonin and gut health. A recommended probiotics about to be honest I thought I was getting quite of bit from eating kimchi and proper lacto fermented vegetables. I have been meaning to ferment my own again but have just not gotten around to it. I really must. This post has inspired me to do so. If only I could get the saucer and jar combination right thanks for this post it's very clear and inspiring.

Pleasure to be of service, young lady. So many kimchis etc are made from conventional pesticide grown vegetables and simply don't have high bacterial levels. They have enough acid to keep them from spoiling, but that's a whole other ball game to having probiotic diversity. Somehow the making it yourself intention matters to me, and primes-programs my body to receive it differently. Get the straight glass vase first (ikea or a homewares store) and measure the diameter - and then pillage your fav cheapie crockery outlet or market stall for the right sized saucer. :) Happy fermenting days.

Good idea via the glass vase. I usually get my kim chi from the chinese grocers - it's homemade and cheaper too. There's some really good brands in Australia at the moment as that movement has taken off. But I do make my own when I can. I'm waiting for my cabbage to come forth out of this freezing garden of mine!!

Kimchi mostly has plenty of garlic in it too, which inhibits the bacterial diversity.

Excellent post with lots of good points made.

I liked seeing the dated label! For me, this would be important, as I'd not remember when a batch was actually started.

For the batch pictured, do you know exactly what type of salt you used?

Thank you for your support! :) For the batch pictured, I used Himalayan salt. I run a natural products company here in Northern Thailand and have been moving AWAY from Himalayan as none of my suppliers can confirm that it is fairly traded. I have secured a new salt source from the southern most tip of the Himalayan Salt Basin (sits over North Thailand and Laos) and will be changing up in the next 2 weeks to use it in all my scrubs & masques. As I buy it in substantial volume, that's what we're now exclusively using in the kitchen. I will be doing a lab test shortly about the difference between the pink salt and my new local salt and be steeming about that! I just feel MUCH BETTER knowing that my salt is ethically harvested and people are not exploited in that process.

That is pretty cool, about the salt and salt sources! Your ferment looked so clear and yummy, that's why I asked.

Thank you for the resteem LOVE @riverflows, @naturalmedicine, @giovva, , @bitox, @birdsinparadise @thetreeoflife and @goldenoakfarm :) Appreciated.

Amazing! I really like the selection of veggies you are using :) The glass jar you selected for fermenting is pretty epic. Thanks for letting me know about garlic inhibiting bacterial growth.. that is new to me.

My selection of veggies changes ALL THE TIME, depending on whatever is out there, in season. So many people think kimchi is enough in terms of probiotics without realizing the garlic in it inhibits so many of the bacterial strains. We should team up to lacto-ferment some of the yummies from your garden bed! :) Looking forward to supporting your seed initiative. :)

Awesome post, thank you for the info! I've been making buch and jun for a while now and love the process of growing things in my own home. Krauts were next on my list and here I found your wonderful detailed instructions. It looks delicious. Thanks also for the tips on organic and garlic, the organic part I suspected already but had no idea garlic could have a similar effect. Can't wait to start fermenting some veggies. Peace friend!

Ps I am resteeming this. Thanks again.

Nice to enjoy a new connection and grateful for the support - following you from Chiang Mai here in Northern Thailand. Happy fermenting. :)

My first batch is done... Thanks for the amazing tutorial, they are delicious! 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59