Total Solar Eclipse 2017 Recorded From White House, TNsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #eclipse7 years ago (edited)

Total Solar Eclipse, Start to Finish

The Total Solar Eclipse at my location (around White House, TN) took place (1) from 1:28PM CDT to 1:29PM CDT (roughly 2 minutes 40 seconds). Recording covers entirety of the total eclipse and snapshots of different phases.

Synopsis of the Solar Event

In preparation of the Solar Eclipse, I took numerous still photos of the sun during partial phases and the sun projections. To capture the projections, I just punctured a small hole in a sheet of paper with a pen and held that up to the sun. The result was a representation of the partial eclipse on the handrail. During the totality phase, I recorded the video with a digital SLR camera with no filters.

In hindsight, I should have done two things: 1. Bought solar glasses for myself. 2. Bought a solar lens filter for my camera.

The solar filter for the camera would have provided much better details of the actual eclipse, versus the indiscernible orange ball seen in the recording. The solar glasses would have enabled me to look directly at the sun during the partial eclipse phases.

2017EclipseIntro1024.png

Experiencing The Eclipse Effect of the Moon’s Shadow

As the moon progressed across the sun, the shadow crossed the surface of the Earth at between 1,400 and 2,200 miles per hour! (2) The sky gradually darkened and street lights began to come on. The temperature dropped by roughly 10 degrees and stars became slightly visible.

During the total eclipse, it was dark, but not completely. I would liken it to dusk or sunset. Looking into the ring was spectacular! A ring of light from the sun encircled the moon, which was at this point just a dark black circle.

After a short few minutes, the sky brightened dramatically as the sun’s rays burst out from behind the cover of the moon. The warmth of that initial diamond burst could be felt on the skin. No longer would it be safe to look at the sun without solar glasses. Dusk turned back to day, the street lights began to dim and go out. The event was over just as suddenly as it began.

Share Your Eclipse Experience

Traveling to the store minutes after the Total Solar Eclipse revealed dozens of people observing the event from their yards and public gatherings. Many groups had at least one high-tech camera with solar filters to capture the event.

Did you get video or photos? See some posted online somewhere? Post the links or images here in the comments so others can find them. If images are not yours, just credit the photo with a link.

Best Solar Eclipse ImageImage Source (3)


References:

(1) https://eclipse2017.nasa.gov
(2) https://sunearthday.nasa.gov/2006/faq.php
(3) http://www.zam.fme.vutbr.cz/~druck/Eclipse/Ecl2008m/Tse2008_200_mo1/0-info.htm


Enjoy my articles? Vote for me in the “Six of the Best” MAP13 contest by @accelerator.
Follow me for updates, re-steem, vote, share if you enjoyed this post.

Sort:  

I was right in the path of totality in Charleston, SC. The clouds cleared right as totality hit. I was skeptical about the whole eclipse thing, but after seeing it was amazed!

Awesome @hparler! The camera really doesn't do it justice. Filter or not.

Glad you got to experience it for yourself. :)

Good stuff, my man! This kind of thing is so awesome, that for me it doesn't matter that you didn't have a filter. Sure it would've made for better video, but what matters is the experience you had, and that'll stay with you 'till the day you die. And who knows, maybe you'll get to see another one ;)

Thanks @sebi99p. I agree that the experience is what matters. I'm blessed to have experienced it.

Just really hoped to get some more details on the video. Another one is coming through in about 7 years, so I can get some better footage then. :)

Aaaa, then you're in luck :)
In my country, the next total solar eclipse will take place in 2081, so ... I most likely won't be alive by then.

I know you read my article on that, so, try the glass thing if no filter is available.

Ouch, that's a long wait for an eclipse.

I'll definitely try the glasses thing next time, apparently it worked for a few people. Also try to zoom a bit to get the dot in the center.

Yeah it is a long wait. But, maybe I'll get to see it someplace else, depending how the stars, or should I say moon and start, align :p

Definitely try them, they do wonders. But when the moon fully covers the sun, remember you're supposed to take them off. Not for the camera though I guess.

Thanks for sharing - it's cool you live right along the path! Wasn't it otherworldly? I've been enjoying reading others' experiences, here's mine (even though I had no filter either): https://steemit.com/eclipse/@therovingreader/eclipsed-fulfilling-my-dream-of-totality-story-video

That is probably the most well-articulated eclipse experience I have seen on Steemit, @therovingreader.

I enjoyed the choreography of both the video and the immersion in the story. Your eclipse picture came out stunning as well. It was an intense experience that is hard to do justice through a lens.

Thank you! That's such a high compliment. And, yes, I haven't seen any photos/video that accurately captures being there in person. :)

You're welcome. It is a rare sight.

@tunnlerat, tough break. Live an learn. At least there will be another one on 2024. So pack your bags and head for PA.

Looking forward to the one in 2024 too, @nikethemutt.

The partial 95% will cover my house then as well. Only a couple hour drive to Paducah, KY for the path of totality. Definitely bringing some solar glasses this time.

There is an interactive map up for the next one already.

nice video @tunnelrat! It was certainly a unique experience for all of us!

As requested, here is the link to the photos I took: https://steemit.com/eclipse/@mikepm74/the-eclipse-for-real-this-time#@moderndayhippie/re-mikepm74-the-eclipse-for-real-this-time-20170821t233716714z

I used some of the Adventure Science Center Eclipse Glasses, took one pair and just held it in front of my camera lens. The photo of totality is naked lens at 8x focal zoom.

I apologize for not being able to upvote your post. I have spent my first week on Steem upvoting everything and was told today I need to allow my voting power to recharge or my votes are meaningless to me and you both. hahaha

Thanks for sharing!!

Thanks for sharing the link and your experience, @mikepm74.

I probably could have picked up a pair of those solar glasses in town here, just didn't want to go to Nashville with all the traffic this weekend. In hindsight I should have just picked up a pair last week.

The pics you took came out great.

This is a great post even if your video of the event itself didn't turn out the way you wanted. I appreciate that you not only give some facts about the eclipse you cite your sources :) I know you already found my eclipse post but will paste it here in the comments for other eyes:

https://steemit.com/life/@carlgnash/we-survived-the-great-solar-eclipse-camping-trip-of-2017-eclipse-video-at-end-of-post

I appreciate it. Love to have other experiences aggregated in the feed here. I know it can be hard to find them all. Thanks for sharing the link to yours.

Love your video! We were south of you in McMinnville, TN. Just posted about our experience here.

I watched your video and loved the story, @fivepoints.

Tennesseans love our Moon Pies. :D

I have found that out!! 😁

Everyone was amazed that I've never had a Moon Pie, but I'm from Texas and we're Little Debbie country! 🍩

i really enjoy this video..thanks to sharing

Glad you enjoyed it, @ujjaval. Thanks for taking a look.

yes i really enjoy... i hope in future you post more amazing post...again thanks

Great post THX for sharing! I was in the Lincoln, Nebraska area but the clouds prevented us from seeing it during totality, that was a bit disappointing. We did have good views before & after totality & had it occurred just an hour or so later, the clouds cleared out by then.

This post has received a 3.14 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @tunnelrat. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35