The Eclipse - For Real This Time

in #eclipse7 years ago

Okay. So trying to post pictures to Steem with my phone didn't work out so well for me. Anyone who can help me with that lesson, please let me know!

20170821_132937.jpg

But I am home now, photos are backed up and able to be dragged into Steemit! There was a learning curve with getting the photos with a camera phone. And the quality isn't the greatest. But here are some images of the Eclipse as seen from Madison, TN - Just outside of Nashville where we hit Totality at 1:27pm for 2 minutes and 15 seconds.

It was pretty amazing, and I will have more to say about it later for sure!

Enjoy. If you like the images please upvote and resteem. Thanks!!!

20170821_124817.jpg
One of the first pictures I took, no filter. You can't see the eclipse or any real definition of the sun, but some cloud cover or water vapor is giving me a good reflection of the event on the right side of the image.

20170821_125643.jpg
Filtered Image, We're just seeing the top right corner of the sun being blocked out. Still learning to use the filter here.

20170821_125923.jpg

Now We're getting the hang of things!

20170821_130625.jpg

20170821_130653.jpg

Here we go, the last sliver.
20170821_132554.jpg

And Totality!!!
20170821_132817.jpg

20170821_132937.jpg

Sort:  

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

Your images came out better than mine, @mikepm74!

I really should have used a filter. Please comment on my eclipse post with a link back to yours. Want to aggregate the images.

I'm just 20 minutes north of you in White House, TN so it is interesting to see the different perspective.

Thanks for sharing!

That's a good video @tunnelrat. All I did was take a pair of the eclipse glasses and hold them over my phone camera lens.

I am sure we will see much better photos out there, but these are mine.

Everyone make sure to check out @tunnelrat linked post above for a great run down of the whole experience of seeing this thing from TN.

Thanks for commenting. My brother got a decent video he sent today that showed a little dot in the middle of the sun when he zoomed in 8x. Guess I'll attempt that one next time too. Makes sense the glasses would filter the lens too.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

awesome pictures! Yours are better than mine. I haven't edited mine yet. I just posted my (unedited) photos here. I am Charleston, SC. Where were you in the path of totality?

Hey hparler! I'm in Nashville, TN. I haven't edited these either. Letting them exist as they are. I'm not much of a photographer, but it was interesting trying to get some shots.

I got some as well imma post later

Look forward to seeing them nightshift!

I had the same issues with my photos on my phone! Finally i found imgur and downloaded it from the google app store, then you can just upload them in that app quick and then it will give you a url to post. Good luck!

Yeah I need to sign up for an account on imgur I guess. I didn't want to take the time to do that while the moment was happening.

Thanks for the tip!!

It was such a cool site to see. Since I am in asia I went on the NASA site and watched there. These are definitely some priceless moments. Some good pics, but your camera does not do it justice to how spectacular it was.

You are right, they don't at all. It was so cool to experience first person. And not having to travel to enjoy it was a blessing. Traffic was so rough getting in and out of Nashville the last 24 hours.

Thanks for stopping by!!

Wow! How did you get such great pictures? We were not far from you in McMinnville, TN and experience totality - just posted pics & videos of our experience. But I couldn't get such detailed photos like you - I was just using a camera phone.

Hey @fivepoints! Do share a link to your pics here so anyone can go check them out. I'd love to see them!

I wouldn't call these great considering some of the work done by real photographers. But for me, the trick was finding the right focal length for the filter.

We started out with one of the eclipse glasses frames taped to the phone. But the lens was working to hard at just focusing on the lens right in front of it. So that didn't work.

I think we figured out that holding the lens an inch or two away from the filter was working by accident. Probably my ten year olds doing. But once we figured that out, it was just a matter of dialing in the right focal length to get the best images.

Thanks for the kind words about my amateur photography. Haha I'll be looking for your post to check out!

Ha! I love that it was probably your kid who figured it out...they're so much better at tech 😏

Thanks and here's my post, I hope you like it!
https://steemit.com/life/@fivepoints/our-total-eclipse-experience-pictures-and-videos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99